Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Monday Movies: Hulk, Priest and Unknown

In the last 2 weeks, I got a chance to see 3 movies. I know it’s not many but that’s all I can see in my busy hours. I was planning to see 4 movies but one of the DVDS is not working properly. It was a movie by Keanu Reeves (Henry’s Crime), I have to return that DVD soon.

First of all, we, Indonesian movie lovers, are still feeling terribly sad because there are still no new movies in the cinema. All the Harry Potter fans are furious (fortunately I don’t follow that movie anymore)…but I am afraid this matter will be unsolved for a long time. My only concern now is unable to see Tintin and Now (or I’m Mortal or its new title I have forgotten), tho Now is only going to be watched to see Cillian’s face in the big screen. Yes, I can see those movies in DVD but it won’t be the same as watching it in the big screen 😦

Enough with the sadness…now, let’s talk about the movies 🙂

I watched Incredible Hulk in TV and Priest and Unknown in DVD.

Incredible Hulk (2008)

Director: Louis Leterrier
Starring: Edward Norton (Bruce Banner), Liv Tyler (Elizabeth Ross), Tim Roth (Emil Blonsky), and William Hurt (Thaddeus Ross)

Story: It took place after the first Hulk Movie. Bruce was working in Soda Bottling factory in Brazil. He was consulting through the net with Mr. Blue. He was still looking for the cure or the way to get rid of the green monster inside him. Because of a small drop of blood in the bottle, the army could track down where Bruce had been hiding. He decided to come back to US and met both Betty and Mr. Blue. His enemy, apart from Betty’s father, was a creature called abomination. My Thought:

I like this one better than the first one, despite the fact that Bana is better looking than Norton. I have only seen the first one once and every time the TV reruns it I always change the channel. The first one had better story and better cinematography but Bana was so not Bruce Banner!! His image was all wrong. And what bother me the most was The Giant Hulk…I liked watching the series and it totally annoyed  me to see Hulk turned into that giant, it’s just doesn’t feel right. Norton has better charisma as Bruce and somehow we can see the loneliness and the pain through his face and the way he walked. For short, He is a much better Bruce than Bana.

The hulk had also reduced to his original size…good for him and I can tolerate this hulk. However, I prefer seeing Jennifer as Betty rather than Liv, I like both actresses …but Betty was supposed to be a smart character and I can see how smart she was through Jennifer. Liv can only portrayed miserable little daddy’s girl. No smartness seemed to radiate from her face. Sorry Liv.

For the story…yeah, you know…typical superheroes story. What else can I expect? But I can picture myself seeing the movie again and again, of course in TV.

Rating:

PRIEST (2011)

 Director: Scott Steward
Starring: Paul Bettany (Warrior Priest), Karl Urban (Black Hat), Cam Gigandet (Hicks), Maggie Q (Warrir Priestess) ,  Lilly Collins (Lucy Pace)

Story: It was based on Korean comic book by Min-Woo Hyung. It was about a world where there was always be Humans and Vampires. Vampires was blessed with great power and  human was blessed with the sun. However,the vampires seemed to show better fight against human.

The Church created super elite warrior called Priest to fight the vampires. They won the war and built a guarded city. All the priests were disbanded. No one knew that one of the ex-priest had turned into human-vampire that can walk under the sun. He kidnapped Paul Bettany’s character’s niece and killed his brother and sister-in-law.

He went to save the girl with the girl’s boyfriend. His act had abandoned the church order.

My Thought:

Hehehe…as I have already said before in my post about Actors I will Always Watch No Matter How Crappy The Movie, I will always watch movies with Paul Bettany in it…that’s why I watch this movie 🙂

Paul Bettany was looking very hot in this movie…as he always did in any movie where he had to play as a tough hero. Love seeing him in it. However, the story itself was nothing special (at least way better than Legion, where he also played as tough angel-hero). It was quite cliché, we can predict what was going on in the story without having to see the whole movie. The way the enemy died was also very quick and not interesting.

What I like about the movie was the fighting scene…what can I say, I love action…especially with good looking actor doing great martial art.

Rating: (mostly because of Paul)

Unknown (2011)

Director: Jaume Collet-Serra
Starring: Liam Neeson (Dr. Martin Harris), Diane Kruger (Gina), January Jones (Liz Harris), Aidan Quinn (Martin Harris), Bruno Ganz (Herr Jürgen), and Frank Langella (Professor Rodney Cole).

Story: Dr. Martin Harris came to Berlin to attend a seminar but he got more than that.

When he went back  to the airport to take his forgotten suitcase, he was caught in an accident that made him lie down in coma for four days. He woke up with an amnesia. he remembered bits of information about him but not the whole thing. It was a shock when he finally met his wife who claimed he was not her husband.

He tried to unsolved the mystery and found out who he really is.

My Thought:

I like the action but there”s nothing special about it. Nothing that can make me feel awed by it. I still enjoy looking at this handsome old Irishman but that”sjust how much I like the movie.

When I was writing this post, I read (and see the trailer) of Long Kiss Goodnight by Joel Burman. The trailer looks similar with what had happened to Liam Neeson.  So…I guess the movie is not original after all. Long Kiss Goodnight looks much better than Unknown.

Rating:

Good News :

I have just received Mononoke  Hime by Marc of Go, See, Talk. Looking forward to seeing it and writing my review (I have seen it before but seeing it again never hurt)…in one post alone as I never shared Ghibli with other movies. どうもありがとうございました Marc 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

15 comments on “Monday Movies: Hulk, Priest and Unknown

  1. Joel Burman
    July 18, 2011

    I haven’t seen Unknown and It might be a similar theme like Long Kiss Goodnight but I think the audience POV is different. In Long Kiss we know as much as Geena Davis character while it seem like the audience know everything about Neesons character from the start.

    • Novroz
      July 18, 2011

      No one knows anything about Liam’s character…it was actually a good twist. I sould have warn people when they try to click your blog link because it will show them spoiler.

      Liam’s truth was never revealed till the last 20 (or is it 30) minutes before the movie ended.

      Even thought it has good twist but I am too excited about it…I don’t know why, maybe because the action was less the I expected

      • Joel Burmanan
        July 18, 2011

        Ah cool I thought it was the other way around. Yes the Long Kiss Goodnight trailer is a little spoily.

        I also like the 2nd Hulk better.

        • Novroz
          July 19, 2011

          Maybe you should watch Unknown and tell me the comparison, Joel 🙂

          hahaha…The normal Hulk defeats the popularity of the giant hulk 😉

  2. kelly
    July 18, 2011

    You know, I never understood the giant Hulk either…lol What were they thinking?
    Paul Bettany…sooooo pretty. I thought Priest would be really scary, but if it’s comparable to Legion I’ll watch it. Great post Nov 😀

    • Novroz
      July 19, 2011

      Maybe they want to exagerate things a little…maybe giant hulk is more interesting than normal hulk…maybe…I don’t know what they were thinking lol

      Do watch Priest, Kel…Paul Bettany is soooo delicious. He looks like he was in Legion but with much better story. I don’t like Legion, too weird.

  3. DEZMOND
    July 18, 2011

    the combination of PAul Betanny and Karl Urban is the one to cause a heartattack 🙂

    • Novroz
      July 19, 2011

      Hehehe…you know, I first realized that that black hat is Karl Urban…I saw him before but never knew his name.

  4. Caroline
    July 20, 2011

    I’m not sure any of those movies would really be my thing but I guess I would pick the one with Paul Bettany… Hmmm… Why? 🙂

    • Novroz
      July 20, 2011

      Eh? why? I am very curious…do tell me 😉

  5. hemp
    July 21, 2011

    …………….The unintentionally hilarious trailer for Priest has gone online. I challenge you not to giggle at the deadly-serious tone the crappy-CGI vampires or lazy scares. While Im a huge Paul Bettany fan the dude needs a hit. The only positive in the trailer is it looks like Karl Urban is having way too much fun. I want this flick to be better than the wretched Legion Bettanys last collaboration with director Scott Charles Stewart but this trailer doesnt give me a lot of hope..Hit the jump to check out the trailer. Priest also stars Maggie Q Cam Gigandet Stephen Moyer and Christopher Plummer. It opens in 3D in spring 2011…Trailer via .. He is joined on his crusade by his nieces boyfriend a trigger-fingered young wasteland sheriff and a former Warrior Priestess who possesses otherworldly fighting skills. Directed by Scott Charles Stewart and written by Cory Goodman along with Min-Woo Hyung from the graphic novel series Priest PRIEST stars Paul Bettany Karl Urban Cam Gigandet Maggie Q Lily Collins Brad Dourif Stephen Moyer and Christopher Plummer….

  6. scarletsp1der
    July 27, 2011

    Surprised that Unknown received a lower score than Incredible Hulk and Priest. haha, Neeson was a lot better than Bettany! IMO.

    haha, glad you watched a superhero movie though, I know that you don’t care for them.

    • Novroz
      July 27, 2011

      I think Bettany is as good as Liam…and I like them both, however rating is for the movie not the actor, T 😉
      I didn’t see anything special about Unknown, the only main actraction is Liam.

      Well T…I watch almost anything in TV. Beside that, I don’t see Hulk as superhero, he has no tight suit.

      • rtm
        July 28, 2011

        Hmmm, so you don’t like Unknown, huh? I’m still curious to see it because Taken was quite a pleasant surprise. Not crazy about January Jones though, she probably derailed the movie, am I right? 🙂

        Zero interest to see Priest but I quite like Incredible Hulk because of Norton. I like Bana but you’re right, this version is a lot better/more enjoyable.

        • Novroz
          July 28, 2011

          Well…I wouldn’t say that I don’t like it, I think it was okay but nothing special about it. I like Taken better than this one, Taken shows determintation of a father and I like that a lot.
          As for January, she didn’t derail it but she is lack of emotion IMO.

          I also like Bana, more handsome than Norton for sure, but the second Hulk is more similar to the series and that’s why I like it better than the 1st.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2011 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads