Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Actor/actress I Always Watch, No Matter How Crappy The Movie

Lately, many movie bloggers have been doing an interesting meme which consist of 15 questions. I first saw the meme in Joel Burman I commented right away because we share the same dislike on certain actor 😉

However, I am not here to talk about actors/actresses that I hate or avoid…I want to talk about point number 5 in the meme: Actor/actress you always watch, no matter how crappy the movie.

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

This will be my top-5 post of the month.  This top-5 is a bit special because I add 2 more and make it top-7 because I couldn’t narrow them down to 5 and the list is also not based on order of likeness, they are all the same…I want to watch (at least try to watch) ALL MOVIES BY THESE 6 ACTORS AND 1 ACTRESS…That is as long as they don’t play in a movie that mock my religion 😉

Let’s begin! (Alphabetically)

#1 Benedict Cumberbatch

I have only seen him once and it seemed that once is far from being enough!!

I saw him in Sherlock for the first time and I immediately fell in love with his talent, he is the best Sherlock Holmes I have ever seen. He is PERFECT!! He is how I imagine Sherlock to be. From that miniseries, I want to watch ALL his movies/miniseries. Even movies that I don’t usually watch, such as Atonement, is now in my movie list to find…simply because he was in it. Unfortunately, it is very hard to find his works here 😦

I like the photo I have found, he is not as cute as that photo in Sherlock 😉

#2 Cillian Murphy

Do I need to say something about this actor? Hehehe I have already turned into Cillianiac…so, no doubt I will watch everything he had done. He was (and I believe will always be) brilliant  in every movie he had done. I have to endure the painful boredom of seeing The Girl With a Pearl Earring just because he was in that terribly boring movie. I patiently watched such weird movie as The Edge of Love. And early this year, I dragged my feet to the cinema only to see his 2 minutes performance in Tron: Legacy. Fortunately the movie is quite fun.

I could proudly say that he has never been in crappy movies 🙂

#3 Keanu Reeves

Hehehe…I know that compare to the other 6 actors, he is the one with less acting talent and has so many crappy movies. But…I couldn’t escape his charm. Until I spotted Cillian Murphy, he was my number one most handsome man in the planet.

Yes, I will always watch his movies not because of his acting talent but because I want to wash my eyes with his handsome face 🙂

I have watched the horrid Johnny Mnemonic, the boring Sweet November, and even the ‘please-turn-the-DVDplayer-offThumbsucker where he played as a dentist (or a doctor) that only appears for several minutes.

#4 Paul Bettany

Paul has the same history as Benedict. I saw him for the first time as Silas in The DaVinci Code, he was perfect as Silas…just the way I imagine him to be. Silas was my favorite characters in the book and he portrayed it really well (he would most definitely make it into my top-5 book characters turned to movies). His awesomeness as Silas had made me fell in love with him from the first sight. And I should mention that he is the only blonde actor I have ever like.

For him, I endure the ‘please-stop-me-from-throwing-the-TV-with-my-shoesLegion. Legion was the kind of movies I avoid to watch. A super ridiculous movie about Angels and God. Glad  to see that Paul was hot in that movie 😉

#5 Sandra Bullock

There is only 1 actress that I always want to watch no matter how ridiculous the movie (I am excluding my Japanese actress here), she is the beautiful Sandra Bullock.

I have no particular reason for loving her…I just simply adore her as an actress. So talented,  so beautiful and  so down to earth. I don’t care what people say about her when she won an Oscar, all I care is that I was happy for her 🙂

So far, her most ridiculous movie is All About Steve…that movie is really something I would stop before it ends if she was not in it. The character is weird and followed with weird story. Although I enjoyed writing 180 Degrees Sandy because of that movie 😉

#6 Sharlto Copley

Ah…Sharlto!! The newcomer that instantly captured my heart and my eyes. I was totally awed with his performance in D-9. The fact that that movie was his first time acting experience shocked me even more. He was too great as a first-timer.

When he was cast as Murdoch, my favorite characters in The A Team, I had doubts. I mean…it’s Murdoch!!  But man oh man he pulled it off brilliantly. It added my admiration on him.

Right after I finished watching The A Team…I knew I will always follow this man’s career and watch whatever he has in stored.

#7 Tom Hanks

The legendary Tom Hanks…what more could you ask?? I love everything he has done. Great talent that never stopped making me awed. I have nothing much to say on this brilliant actor.

There are so many great movies with brilliant performances. My first love came from Forrest Gump. More and more great movies came pilling up after that. Check out this 10 list of his movies in 1990-2010 by Dan.All my favorite Tom hanks movies are there.

I haven’t yet found his crappy movie (I still haven’t watched all his works due to difficulty in finding them 😦

*****************************************

Some of you might think that I have peculiar way in choosing my actors and actress. Yes,I admit that I am not the kind of  person that want to watch all movies by the very talented Merryl Streep, or the great Al Pacino, or any other living legends. What can I say…those living legends are great but they do not  steal my heart. These 7 actors/actress (minus 1) are the ones who had captured all my attention with their  great talent.

So…who are in your list of actors/actress you always watch,no matter how crappy? Do share it with me 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

43 comments on “Actor/actress I Always Watch, No Matter How Crappy The Movie

  1. dirtywithclass
    July 12, 2011

    Well you saw my answer, so you know that i generally won’t watch a movie if i find the premise really, really bad. Although i will say very few movies fit into that category for me.

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      I have different categories for movies I avoid to watch…it doesn’t need to really really bad to be avoided 😉
      I have said it in your blog that I hate remake, but I will watch any remakes if one of these actors is in that remake 😉

  2. le0pard13
    July 12, 2011

    You know, I actually saw All About Steve in theaters when it came out (I have a penchant for catching films nobody goes to see). It is a weirdly done storyline, and her character is really quirky, but I have a strange affection for it. I am a Sandra Bullock fan from long time back so maybe that has something to do with it. Nicely put together list, Novroz.

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      I saw the movie in DVD because it came here very late and I am already to anxious to wait for it…being Sandy’s fan made me impatient to wait for her movies to be played in the cinema.

      You’ve found the right word! I was looking for the right word to describe her character and quirky is so right. The fun thing about AAS is that she still acts really good. DI think the Razzie award for her is not right because as weird as the movie can be,she is still playing it with her heart.

  3. Caroline
    July 13, 2011

    What i find interesting is that they are very different. from the looks, from thw movies they did and from many others things as well. I gather it is something very personal that makes you come up with this combination. There are some like Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock that I also like a lot. And lately also Cillian Murphy.
    I really like Michelle Pfeiffer.

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      You’re a good observant…I am not a stereotype kind of person…even the 2 actors I considered as my only celebrity crush have different characteristic (Cillian and Keanu).
      Actually, all these actors and actress are the ones I instantly like from the first time I saw them.
      Take an example of Nicole Kidman,I like her too but I started paying attention at her after The Others which was several movies after I first saw her. And then there is Natalie Portman,she awed me in Black Swan,but I have seen her before and she didn’t awed me before. What I am trying to see is that I tend to follow actors that awed from the beginning.

      I also like Michele…the best cat woman EVER!!

  4. Joel Burman
    July 13, 2011

    Great idea for a breakout post. Beside Amy Adams and Rolf Lassgård (who were my examples) Sandra Bullock is definitively in the same category. She is great! I’m actually one of few who seemed to semi-enjoy All about Steve.

    Novia: What do you think of the Net? Thats another underrated Sandra classic!

    • le0pard13
      July 13, 2011

      You and I both for All About Steve, Joel. You got to give it to Sandra, though. She attended the Golden Razzie award for it with daring and a sense of humor about it all. SB is a class act.

      • Joel Burman
        July 13, 2011

        True! I love that she did that. I posted the clip in my post on All about Steve.

        http://www.joelburman.com/2010/05/all-about-steve/

        • rtm
          July 13, 2011

          I LOVE Sandy even more after seeing that clip. She is such a class act through and through, always love celebs with a sense of humor. Go Sandy!

          • Joel Burman
            July 13, 2011

            Yes she is a great person I love the fact that she won both the Razzie and the Oscar for best leading actress the same season.

          • Novroz
            July 13, 2011

            I think the main reason why I love Sandy (she is the only actress I adore so much) is because of her personality. I have seen the video before, but I think it was from different recording. She has such big heart…to attend an award that labelled her as worst actress shows how big her heart is.

            @Joel Hehe it was amazing that she won both awards in the same year…it will be something people will never forget 😉

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      I wouldn’t say I hate AAS…but the movie really gave a strange look on my face. Seeing her character left me saying ‘What the?’

      Ah The Net!! I didn’t know it was underrated,I thought it was really good. I have seen it ages ago and a bit lost in the detail…but I do remember that I enjoy it a lot. she was a pretty nerd for sure 😉
      This makes me want to see the movie again.

  5. scarletsp1der
    July 13, 2011

    Ooh, I agree with some of these too! I really like Sandra Bullock and Tom Hanks!

    I’ll watch Keanu Reeves from time to time, but, eh…aside from The Matrix (only the 1st one) I really liked him in Hardball.

    a fun post!!

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      Glad to know so many people like Sandy 🙂 she is a lovely actress.

      Ah Keanu…i know what you mean!! I completely understand when someone said bad things about him…But I love him nevertheless,he is not a great actor but he has great personality and God has given him beautiful face 😉

      Hardball is interesting,love seeing him with Kids. Don’t you like Speed,T?

      • scarletsp1der
        July 16, 2011

        Speed is okay, I like it, but it’s honestly not one of my absolute favs! ha.

        I finally finished my 15 question post myself. (see? you weren’t last!) 🙂

        • Novroz
          July 16, 2011

          I’m still last because I still haven’t done it yet 😉
          I only take1 question out of 15.
          Will be there to check your answers 🙂

  6. Castor
    July 13, 2011

    Nice idea for a post Novroz. Aside from Cillian, some surprising picks! Used to be a Tom Hanks fan but not too fond of his latest movies.

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      Thank you, Cast 🙂
      Yaiii…nice to know that you’re a bit surprise…I have been so easy to predict lately, I blame Cillian that.
      Tho I like Tom a lot,I have to agree with you. His current movies aren’t as great as he used to…maybe age plays a thing in it

  7. rtm
    July 13, 2011

    Awesome, Nov. I like all of these actors, not much of a Bettany fan but I like him in some movies (Master & Commander, Knight’s Tale). We both share our love for Keanu and Sharlto, don’t we? If only they’d do a a sci-fi movie together. I love that you took one question from the meme and expanded on it. I might take your cue and do one of these posts on my own 😀

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      *high Five* They are great in sci-fi…no question about it! If they do decide to play together and followed by great script and amazing visual… that would be awesome.

      I am planning to do another top-5 from the meme…some of the questions are very interesting, that’s why i don’t do the meme…but some are very interesting,like this one and the one I am planning to do one day (next month is for music related).

      Love to read what you’ll write out of that meme, Ruth 🙂

  8. lifewith4cats
    July 13, 2011

    heheh, I love Toshiro Mifune SO much that I watched the whole showing of ‘grand prix’ just because Toshiro apeared in it once in a while. Perhaps 10 minutes at the most. It was an american movie all about car racing. (Very, very, boring)

    • le0pard13
      July 13, 2011

      Yeah, Grand Prix wasn’t the best or considerable of films. But, any motion picture that included such international film greats like James Garner, Yves Montand, and Toshiro Mifune in the cast (along with some of the most spectacularly lensed F1 sequences on film) can’t be all that bad ;-).

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      Glad to know that we share the same craziness, Sara.
      Watching boring movies just have a glimpse of our fav actors is quite crazy…but addictive 😉

      I have heard so much about Toshiro Mifune but I am not sure I have seen him or not. I will look it up later.

  9. Ann
    July 13, 2011

    Sherlock was the perfect part for him. Great post.
    Ann

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      Hi Ann 🙂 welcome to my blog.
      Of course I am going to agree 100% with you!! He is the perfect cast for Sherlock

  10. DEZMOND
    July 13, 2011

    of all of these, I love Paul Bettany best. He is such a charmer and he seems to be quite relax when choosing his roles, like he wants to have fun in his work, and I love that. And plus he is British and blond, which we like a lot 🙂

    • Novroz
      July 13, 2011

      Yaaaaiiii….I am so happy to hear that (or more like read that)…finally, someone else but me admit Bettany’s talent 😀
      You’ve just made my day, Dezz.

      Not many people realize that he is a great actor, in fact, people around me don’t know much about him 😦
      I really want to see Creation, still looking for it. He and Jen are such cute couple.

  11. kelly
    July 14, 2011

    Your choices are wonderful, what a wonderful post 😀

  12. si_ulil
    July 18, 2011

    I’m gonna post my version on my blog soon! Hope you don’t mind…

  13. Pingback: A Loyal Fan « Nerd in Writing

  14. Hels
    July 29, 2011

    Said this in a reply on me blog but thought I should say it here – This is such a great idea, I’m probably gonna copy you and link back :p

    I have to admit the only actor that pops in my head that I’d watch anything is Bryan Cranston. But that’s literally only because I’ve been watching Breaking Bad and Malcolm in the Middle again this week so he’s on my mind, I’m an actor obsessive so there must be more! Copley is a great choice, maybe him too 😀

    • Novroz
      July 29, 2011

      Hi Hels, thank you for stopping by 🙂
      I honestly jave forgotten what I have asked in your blog…will check it again later when I am using PC. Blogspot is too heavy for mobilephone.

      You know, I have never heard of Bryan Cranston before…I have probably seen it but not paying attention. Please let me know if you finally decide to make the same list…it’s always fun to read people’s list.

  15. sundryandco
    August 4, 2011

    I often find that no matter how mediocre a film or TV series is, if Michael Gambon is in it, he manages to raise the level of each scene with an entirely convincing performance!

    • Novroz
      August 5, 2011

      I never seen him, or maybe I have but didn’t realize it. He will be in Wayfaring Strangers with Cillian, so I will pay attention to him then.
      Thank you for sharing about him, Roisin

  16. Pingback: Top 5 of EVERYTHING « Polychrome Interest

  17. Pingback: Actor/Actress I Don’t Get The Appeal For « Polychrome Interest

  18. Pingback: Monday Movies: Based on True Story « Polychrome Interest

  19. Pingback: Murphy News : Misterman Clip, Peaky Blinders, Cry/Fly, Transcendence | Polychrome Interest

  20. Pingback: Back to back Sandra Bullock – The Heat and While You Were Sleeping | Polychrome Interest

  21. Pingback: (佐藤健) Satou Takeru – My New Favorite Actor | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2011 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads