Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The X Files – Antibodies

First of all, I need to mention that I do not read any books based on TV Series or movies…but…The X files is an exception!! I really really love the series and willing to read more about it. To me, it remains as the best TV series ever produced in the history of television.

Antibodies by Kevin J Anderson is not a novelization like I Want To Believe by Max Allan Collins.  Antibodies is an original story that never been shown before. I like the story, very true to the series and the characters are also well portrayed. Although I have no intention of reading Supernatural books, but I have heard that people who read it feel disappointed as the main characters weren’t well portrayed. As one of the biggest X Files fans, I dare say that Mulder and Scully were written as how they really are in the series.

Antibodies started with the appearance of Jeremy Dorman in what left of Dymar Laboratory.  The Laboratory which specialized in finding the cure to cancer was mysteriously burned down by protestors.  Dorman was the assistant of David Kennessy, the brain behind the project. The security hired to guard the ruin of Dymar Laboratory tried to get Dorman out of the building but when he touched Dorman, he was immediately died of tremendous amount of tumors.

Scully and Mulder found themselves investigating the death of that security.  Their investigation led to Kennessy’s resident, it was already broken by someone. David’s wife and son had disappeared. David’s son, Jody, had leukemia. His disease was the one that made David eager to try any kind of breakthrough even though that breakthrough was considered as something against nature. Scully and Mulder started tracking them down.

They came across a vet who informed them that a dog in his care suddenly ran away after he euthanized him. The dog matched the description of Jody’s dog, Vader. They were getting closer to David’s wife and son. Before they could reach them, Mulder found a second body that had same symptoms as the security. The founding of the body made Mulder really worry about Scully.

What happened next is something I can’t write here because it would spoil the story.

I enjoy reading this book so much, it really has the same atmosphere as the TVseries. However, I think the portion of Mulder and Scully’s appearance is too little. If you had watched The X Files as much as I have, you can see that the show always showed these 2 agents more than the other characters in the case they were investigating…in this book, I read more about Jeremy Dorman and The Kennessy rather than the 2 famous agents. I wish that could somehow be changed.

The ending is really fun….So X Files!! The writing isn’t the best I have ever read but for me writing style has never been my number one concern as long as the story is up to my liking.

This book only confirms one thing…that is: I WANT TO READ MORE THE X FILES BOOKS.

About The Author:

Kevin J Anderson is the author of the internationally bestselling and award-winning Dune prequels (co-author with Brian Herbert) and numerous Star Wars novels, and has carved an indisputable niche for himself with science fiction epics featuring his own highly successful Saga of Seven Suns series. His critically acclaimed work has won or been nominated for numerous major awards. His most recent book is The last Days of Krypton, and he lives in Colorado

Book Details:

Title: The X Files – Antibodies
Author: Kevin J Anderson
Language: English
Pages: 268 pages
Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers
Challenge: New Author Challenge 2011Mystery and Suspense  Reading Challenge 2011.
Rating: 

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

5 comments on “The X Files – Antibodies

  1. Caroline
    July 8, 2011

    It doesn’t sound bad at all although I hardly read this type of book. I think I haven’t seen more than two episodes of the X-Files. What do you like somuch about it? The characters? You know that there is a Dune readalong on, right? We’ll be posting tomorrow for the first time. It lasts three weeks, one part per week. . Have you read it? I’m a bit disapppointed. Too much dialogue. And very difficult to get into because of all the made up words.

    • Novroz
      July 9, 2011

      What I like so much about it (assuming that this it means The X Files TVSeries) is everything, for me that series is perfect. I like the characters and the story. I have a thing with dark mysterious story and the series delivered it well. It also required thinking while watching it, I always love that kind of movie.

      I remembered the first time I saw it was when they met a man who can hibernate for 30years. He was able to strectch his body so that he can pass through small holes. That man awed me so much. I fell in love with the x files at the first sight. I have watched the whole show 3 times and still eager to see it again.

      Yeah, I know. I haven’t read it yet. Hope you end up liking it.means The X Files TVSeries) is everything, for me that series is perfect. I like the characters and the story. I have a thing with dark mysterious story and the series delivered it well. It also required thinking while watching it, I always love that kind of movie.

      I remembered the first time I saw it was when they met a man who can hibernate for 30years. He was able to strectch his body so that he can pass through small holes. That man awed me so much. I fell in love with the x files at the first sight. I have watched the whole show 3 times and still eager to see it again.

      Yeah, I know. I haven’t read it yet. Hope you end up liking it.

      • Caroline
        July 10, 2011

        I’m not enjoying the book that much but the event is great. People really discuss on all the blogs.

  2. kelly
    July 9, 2011

    I want to know the ending!!!! I used to watch X Files every week. I loved it😀

    • Novroz
      July 10, 2011

      The ending…hmmm…let’s just say that something can live on forever😉

      *high five* to fellow The X files lover

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads