Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday – The Little Yokozuna

undefined

Teaser Tuesday is a fun bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Everyone can play along, all you have to do is simply take the book you are currently reading. And then share 2 ‘teaser’ sentences from any page in the book. I often share more than 2 sentences ;)

Please avoid SPOILER!!

I am currently reading The Little Yokozuna by Wayne Shorey. Although it is said to be a young adult book…but I think it is more like a children  book. It’s about 7 children stranded Japan in different time to their real life.

My teaser is from page  67

“Could you explain that?” Asked Annie.

“The ocean washes  the whole world,” said the old obaa-san, “but if you take your ink brush and write the character for ocean on apiece of rice paper so you can hold it in your hand, can you sail a boat on that piece of paper?”

“I don’t think I  understand,” said Annie.

The Japanese character for Ocean is 海 .

I would like to announce that I have a literary giveaway,if you are interested. I will ship my favorite Indonesian book (already translated into English – of  course).

undefined

Here is the teaser from the book (rainbow Troops by Andrea Hirata)

I felt anxious. Anxious because of the restless Bu Mus, and because  of the sensation of my father’s burden spreading over my entire body. Although he seemed friendly and at ease this morning, his rough arm hanging around my neck gave away his quick heartbeat.

If you are interested, Click at the book cover and leave a comment there saying you are interested🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “Teaser Tuesday – The Little Yokozuna

  1. Bluestocking
    June 28, 2011

    This book sounds interesting!!

    Here is mine

  2. kyanara
    June 28, 2011

    Hi,

    What a wonderfull teasers!

    Have a great day!
    Kyanara

  3. Artswebshow
    June 28, 2011

    It does sound like a book i would have enjoyed as a child

  4. gautami tripathy
    June 28, 2011

    This is so interesting. Wanna read it!

    Teaser tuesdays makes my tbr pile longer and longer!

    Here is my Teaser Tuesday: The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly post!

  5. Kelly
    June 28, 2011

    Oh what fun. Great teaser, sounds like an adorable book😀

  6. sundryandco
    June 30, 2011

    Oh, this is a lovely quote, Novia! I’ve missed reading your Teaser Tuesdays – They are always really unusual😀

    • Novroz
      July 1, 2011

      Thank you, Roisin🙂
      Nice to see you here in my blog again.

  7. sundryandco
    July 1, 2011

    Glad to be back!

    • Novroz
      July 1, 2011

      hope to see you more often and to read updates in your blog again🙂

  8. lifewith4cats
    July 7, 2011

    oh well, I missed the event. But Ive been so buzy. That top book also looks good to me. I like young adult books a lot.

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2011

      I know how busy you are, Sara🙂
      I have finished that book and yet I still don’t have time to write my review….I am as busy as you this couple of week.

  9. si_ulil
    July 7, 2011

    OH MY GOD!! You’re reading The Little Yokozuna?!?!? I read this novel YEARS ago! Probably one of the very first novels I’ve read! Maybe when I was still in junior high! hahahahaha…

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2011

      I have finished reading it, just haven’t written my review yet.

      Hehe the book was on sale for either 5 thousand or 10 thousand. Since it was really cheap, I straight away bought it🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2011 by in Bookish Memes and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads