Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

My First Give Away, Come and Join The Fun!!

Last year, I have mentioned that I will celebrate my 1000th post with a give away. I promised to give my favorite Indonesian book to anyone interested.

Although my post is not yet 1000 (This is my 925th), I have decided to join this wonderful Literary Giveaway Bloghop hosted by Judith of Leeswammes. I think of it as early celebration 😉

Here is the book I want to giveaway: Rainbow Troops by Andrea Hirata.

The story was based on true story, it was based on the author’s childhood memory. What I like the most about this book, apart from the story, is the language…it was written in beautiful and polite Indonesian language.  Andrea Hirata had to search the perfect translator that can translate the language correctly. I haven’t read the English version yet, here’s a quote from the book:

I felt anxious. Anxious because of the restless Bu Mus, and because  of the sensation of my father’s burden spreading over my entire body. Although he seemed friendly and at ease this morning, his rough arm hanging around my neck gave away his quick heartbeat.

Here  is the summary taken from Squidoo.com (I wrote my review in Indonesian  language,therefore I cant link my review)

This a story about Indonesians struggling for education told from the narration of Ikal – a curly little boy living in Belitong Island. Ikal and his surroundings were a portrait of marginalized society, sank in poverty and faced discrimination, include in education accessibility. His school, SD Muhammadiyah, was the oldest elementary-school in Belitong, but at that time threatened by closure as a result from lack student’s quota. Heavy poverty had gripped its jaws to Belitong people, made them preferred to labor their underage children for supporting family than pursuing education.

Fortunately, SD Muhammadiyah had Harfan and Muslimah, two idealist teachers giving their best to teach their last pupils, 10 poor kids whom later called as Laskar Pelangi (Rainbow Toops). They struggled together for pursuing their dreams among the limitations they faced, and the journey was so ironically beautiful. Ikal was a portrait of poor tin-miner’s son, with average intelligence yet high spirit, whom later could pursue his education higher, while Lintang was a fisherman’s son who was naturally genious yet his steps stopped by the claws of poverty.

Beside our two main heroes, there are other stories about Harfan, Muslimah, other members of Laskar Pelangi, and Belitong society. All of them gave glimpses to readers about the life of Belitong people in 70’s era. Laskar Pelangi is truly an evocative story about marginalized people pursuing dreams and education, revealing in exciting combination of caricature and literary style by Andrea Hirata.

This book has been made int movie, you can see how shabby the school was through this trailer

If you are interested to peek into Indonesian life, do join this giveaway. The rules are quite simple:

  1. Leave a comment below saying you are interested
  2. This giveaway will be closed on June 29.
  3. All participant will be drawn using random.org
  4. I will announce  the winner on July 1 (I can’t do it sooner than that because I will be very busy from June 29 to July 3)
  5. The book will be shipped by Ocean, so it might take some time to reach your part of the world.

This is very important!! Because I want a winner who REALLY wants to read  this book instead of anyone who just jumps along with no real interest, I made this special rule:

I will not contact the winner through email…I will  announce  the winner on July 1, you need to come and check whether you win it or not. This way, I could tell your seriousness to read  the book.

If the winner doesn’t claim his/her book in 2 days, I will draw it again…and so on until a winner claims the book.

Thank you and hope you will enjoy the book as much as  I am 🙂

List with all the Participants:

  1. Leeswammes (Int)
  2. The Book Whisperer (Int)
  3. Kristi Loves Books (Int)
  4. Teadevotee (Int)
  5. Bookworm with a View (Int)
  6. Bibliosue (Int)
  7. Sarah Reads Too Much (Int)
  8. write meg! (USA)
  9. My Love Affair With Books (Int)
  10. Seaside Book Nook (Int)
  11. Uniflame Creates (Int)
  12. Always Cooking Up Something (Int)
  13. Book Journey (Int)
  14. ThirtyCreativeStudio (Int)
  15. Col Reads (Int)
  16. The Book Diva’s Reads (Int)
  17. The Scarlet Letter (USA)
  18. The Parrish Lantern (Int)
  19. Lizzy’s Literary Life (Int)
  20. Read, Write & Live (Int)
  21. Book’d Out (Int)
  22. The Readers’ Suite (Int)
  23. I Am A Reader, Not A Writer (USA)
  24. Ephemeral Digest (Int)
  25. Miel et lait (Int)
  26. Bibliophile By the Sea (Int)
  27. Polychrome Interest (Int)
  28. Book World In My Head (Int)
  29. In Spring it is the Dawn (Int)
  30. everybookhasasoul (Int)
  31. Nishita’s Rants and Raves (Int)
  32. Fresh Ink Books (Int)
  33. Teach with Picture Books (USA)
  34. How to Teach a Novel (USA)
  35. The Blue Bookcase (Int)
  36. Gaskella (Int)
  37. Reflections from the Hinterland (USA)
  38. chasing bawa (Int)
  39. 51stories (Int)
  40. No Page Left Behind (USA)
  1. Silver’s Reviews (USA)
  2. Nose in a book (Int)
  3. Lit in the Last Frontier (Int)
  4. The Book Club Blog (Int)
  5. Under My Apple Tree (Int)
  6. Caribousmom (USA)
  7. breienineking (Netherlands)
  8. Let’s Go on a Picnic! (Int)
  9. Rikki’s Teleidoscope (Int)
  10. De Boekblogger (Netherlands)
  11. Knitting and Sundries (Int)
  12. Elle Lit (USA)
  13. Indie Reader Houston (Int)
  14. The Book Stop (Int)
  15. Eliza Does Very Little (Int)
  16. Joy’s Book Blog (Int)
  17. Lit Endeavors (USA)
  18. Roof Beam Reader (Int)
  19. The House of the Seven Tails (Int)
  20. Tony’s Reading List (Int)
  21. Sabrina @ Thinking About Loud! (Int)
  22. Rebecca Reads (Int)
  23. Kinna Reads (Int)
  24. In One Eye, Out the Other (USA)
  25. Books in the City (Int)
  26. Lucybird’s Book Blog (Europe)
  27. Book Clutter (USA)
  28. Exurbanis (Int)
  29. Lu’s Raves and Rants (USA & Canada)
  30. Sam Still Reading (Int)
  31. Dolce Bellezza (Int)
  32. Lena Sledge’s Blog…Books, Reviews and Interviews (Int)
  33. a Thousand Books with Quotes (Int)
About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

67 comments on “My First Give Away, Come and Join The Fun!!

  1. Miri
    June 30, 2011

    Historical fiction and books about other cultures are my favorite things to read. I’ll stop back by on Friday!

  2. Novroz
    June 30, 2011

    Thank you so much, Hontou ni domou arigatou, terima kasih banyak to all of you.
    It has been such great giveaway event. I never have thought there would many people eager to read this not-so popular book (it’s popular in my country but not in other countries). It really touches my heart. I hope I can give everyone 1 book but unfortunately I can’t 😦

    This giveaway is now officially closed 🙂 … once again, thank you so much for all the participants.

    I will try to find time to randomize the winner in my tight schedule on July 1st (a bit late, somewhere around 9pm my time).

    Ps. Thank you for all the congratulation you have said to me…blogging (and writing) is really fun, 1000 is quite a number, isn’ it? 🙂

  3. sundryandco
    June 30, 2011

    Oops…I just missed this! Congratulaions on the success of the giveaway, and your 1000th post!

    • Novroz
      July 1, 2011

      Ahhh…you missed it by an hour 😦 …but I can still put your name if you want to…I mean, it’s technically still June 29 in your country.

      Thank you Roisin 🙂

  4. Pingback: And The Winner Is … « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads