Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Top-5 Horror Movies

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

I have been planning to write about this list but something else always came up and delayed this list. I am a big fan of horror movies, but I have my own definition of Horror.

A lot of people considered Zombie and Vampire as horror movies…but not for me. Some even considered slasher movie as horror…and, again, not for me. Those movies are thrilling and suspenseful but they will never make me start having Goosebumps out of fear, those movies won’t make me start looking at my back as if something is lurking behind me. I consider those movies as thriller movies.

My definition of horror is when it involves GHOST!! Maybe it is because I believe ghost does exist. You may not believe me but I also feel them when they are too close around me…Thank God I don’t have the ability to see them.

I always feel excitedly scared every time I saw an amazing horror movie, both in story and in how the ghost appears. I love ghost story with great story. Here are my top-5 horror movies:

#5 The Sixth Sense

The Sixth Sense was not really that scary…but it has a nice story. I really love the ending of this movie. I have guessed who Bruce Willis’s character was about half through the movie but it was still great to see it materialized in the screen. The ghosts didn’t scare me much but there were moments that made the hair on my back started standing up.

Summary (from imdb) : Malcom Crowe is a child psychologist who receives an award on the same night that he is visited by a very unhappy ex-patient. After this encounter, Crowe takes on the task of curing a young boy with the same ills as the ex-patient. This boy “sees dead people”. Crowe spends a lot of time with the boy (Cole) much to the dismay of his wife. Cole’s mom is at her wit’s end with what to do about her son’s increasing problems. Crowe is the boy’s only hope.

#4 Shutter

I watched this movie ALONE at 10 pm, everyone in my house was sleeping peacefully…somehow, that situation made the horror came to life. I enjoyed every spooky moments of it. The ghost sometimes appeared in unpredictable moment and when that happened, I often let out a scream of surprise. It was such a chilling experience.

Summary (from  imdb): A young photographer Thun and his girlfriend Jane discover mysterious shadows in their photographs after fleeing the sceen of an accident. As they investigate the phenomenon, they find other photographs contain similar supernatural images, that Thun’s best friends are being haunted as well, and Jane discovers that her boyfriend has not told her everything. It soon becomes clear that you can not escape your past.

#3 Blairwitch Project

A lot of people said that Paranormal Activity is scary…well, I almost fell asleep watching it. I was watching it alone and it bored me. I once written my comparison of PA to BWP, everyone who said PA is scary clearly haven’t seen BWP. I watched The Blairwitch Project together with my brother and it still managed to scare the living sh*t out of me. The acting was so convincing, even without showing the ghost I could feel like the ghost was around me. This is the only English speaking horror movie that can scare me like most Asian horror movies.

Summary (from my review): The story is about 3 students who were planning to make a documentary on a witch that existed a long time ago. They brought cameras and ready to camp in the wood where the witch used to haunt people.

They soon encountered great terror!!

The plot and the tension scared me badly. And the ending is just perfect.

#2 Ju-On

Ju-On has a very unusual story. It connects several stories into one. A haunted house that keeps killing people. The killing circle is unbreakable. Only the 1st and 3rd Ju-On are considered as good movie, the rest are too made-up. The ghosts of the victim are damn scary!!!

I remember watching it with my father, and I was watching it with a blanket in my mouth, I was biting it to reduce the fright. In the middle of the movie, someone knocked my front door and it scared the hell out of me…I only looked at the door, my father was the one who finally opened the door.

Summary (from imdb): In Japan, when the volunteer social assistant Rika Nishina is assigned to visit a family, she is cursed and chased by two revengeful fiends: Kayako, a woman brutally murdered by her husband and her son Toshio. Each person that lives or visits the haunted house is murdered or disappears.

#1 Ringu

There is no other movie on this planet that can replace Ringu from my top list of horror movie!! I ADORE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS MOVIE!! The story is brilliant, the ghost is easily loved and it breaks all cliché in a ghost movie. You do not find the ghost in the scariest looking house, the ghost appears in daylight, and it ends nicely. I don’t think I need to write how the story goes because it is a very famous movie, but if you never heard of this movie, here is my review of Ringu.

What freaked me out about this movie was when I first watched it, the minute after I finished watching it, my telephone was ringing. I literally jumped off my chair and my heart beat very fast. My student did something more dramatic, she let her TV set on timer, it was turn on all the time until she fell asleep. Turned-off TV scared her.

My admiration on Ringu made me freakin hate The Ring!! That movie ruins all the greatness that Ringu has. So…don’t you dare say The Ring is better than Ringu in front of me!! You can read why I hate the remake in here.

********************

There you have it….my top-5 horror movies of all time.  It is very easy to choose from number 1 to number 3…the list haven’t changed for years. As for 4 and 5, it was a bit difficult to choose. Here are the nominees for number 4 and 5: Jelangkung (an Indonesian horror movie), Poltergeist, The Eye, and The Others.

I would love to know your top-5 horror movies, it doesn’t have to be ghost movies…like I said above, people have different definition of horror movies🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

37 comments on “Top-5 Horror Movies

  1. kelly
    June 20, 2011

    The *cover* for Ringu is even too scary for me…lol Adore the Sixth Sense. I enjoyed the spook factor in this one :O Thanks Nov😀

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2011

      Ringu isn’t the scariest movie on planet, but it is the best…I love the story and how Sadako appears.
      I used to use Sadako as my mobilephone wallpaper… everyone who saw my phone hated that wallpaper hehe.

      Glad you like it, Kel…spooky but I love being spooked😉

  2. Ferdinand
    June 20, 2011

    Gak terlalu suka film horror sih… bkannya takut, tp gak berani aja..hehe..

    Kok THE EYES gak masuk mba novroz, kirain kata orang2 serem ya.. *padahal belum nonton*..

    Klo prequelnya ringu, RING 0~BAASUDEI gmn?? itu yang soundtracknyaa finale versi orchestra nya L’Arc en Ciel….

    bikin jg yang adventure dong mba NOVROZ??

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2011

      hahaha bedanya ga berani sama takut apa?

      The eye jd nominasi bwt no.4&5 tp akhirnya kalah ma shutter & sixth sense. The Eye ga serem2 amat kok, sy ja nntn sendirian.

      Okeh nnt dipertimbangkan, tp adventure itu luas bgt lo artinya…bs fantasy bs jg action…pkoknya luas, tp sptnya menarik jg🙂

  3. rtm
    June 20, 2011

    Well Nov, as you know I’m not a horror fan but I did like Sixth Sense as it’s intelligent and not gory. But once I know the ending, I don’t feel like watching it again though. I also like Bruce Willis’ nuanced performance in this. As for the others, I’m too scared to watch those!

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2011

      The only gory horror that I have in my list is Ju-On…that one is pretty brutal, especially when the girl with no jaw appeared.

      Yup, the sixth sense isn’t the kind that we can watch over and over again, but it is still one of the best horror ever made.

  4. Caroline
    June 21, 2011

    I do belive in ghosts as well, so, yes, I can agree, ghost stories are the only type of horror I find scary as well. I only saw The Sixth Sense but didn’t like it so much but I was very scared by The Blair Witch Project.
    A movie I found very scary is a movie with Denzel Washington called Fallen, about a demon or ghost, creepy.
    I need to see Ringu, if I dare.
    One of my cats sees ghosts by the way. I sometimes feel something weird and then see her stare at exactly that spot.

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2011

      *high five* glad we are on the same page here🙂
      Watching ghost movie or telling a ghost story kinda make me feel that the ghost is there next to me. This movie scared me but I am a weird person that enjoy being scared.

      Ringu isn’t the scariest movie ever made, it just fits into my liking. For me, everything about the movie is perfect. WHUAA I love BWP, scary and brilliant. I will try to find that Denzel movie and Taxi (Thai movie) today, I am going DVD hunt later.

      I think animals can see them. Kame also did the same sometimes, she looked at 1 spot for a long time and suddenly ran at high speed.

  5. dirtywithclass
    June 21, 2011

    Well, as you know i posted some of my fav horror movies on my blog(Although i actually made a rather big typo in it. I attached one of the reviews to the wrong movie)

    I personally found Paranormal Activity scary myself. Also, were you ever able to check out Session 9?

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2011

      yup, I have read your list🙂 I remember we have different perception of horror.

      If I havent watched BWP, I might think that Paranormal is scary…but the movie totally lost its charm on me.

      • dirtywithclass
        June 21, 2011

        Btw have you gotten around to seeing Session 9 yet?

        I think you would like it

        • Novroz
          June 22, 2011

          I did a DVD hunt last night and the sellers never heard of Session 9😦

          It’s really difficult to find old movies that is not too famous. At least I got REC😉

  6. DEZMOND
    June 21, 2011

    I’m totaly sure RINGU was better than THE RING, since American version was rather bad and not scary at all and plus Naomi Watts is such an expresionless and emotionless actress.
    THE SIXTH SENSE was a nice one.
    The scariest horror I’ve ever seen, although I don’t watch them a lot, was WRONG TURN. I screamed like mad while watching it.

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2011

      As I have said to the others above, Ringu isn’t the scariest movie but it is the best IMO. The Ring ruins it by making the non-cliche Ringu into something very-cliche. The house is the first that made me annoyed…it was a beautiful and clean bungalow in Ringu, turned into the shabiest looking shack in The Ring…as if we need more horror movies that emphasized inhabitable house=haunted house.
      …and yes, Naomi and the guy is not suitable for the role.

      Wrong Turn? I have heard about it, but not really sure. Who’s in it?

  7. Castor
    June 21, 2011

    I’ve only seen the Sixth Sense which isn’t scary at all. But yes, I’m a wuss so I probably won’t see the other ones… ever.

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2011

      come on Castor!! watch them, horror has special kind of fun😉

  8. le0pard13
    June 21, 2011

    Wonderful list of ghost tales, Novroz. I’ve seen them all, except for Shutter (I need to check it out). Ringu was the perfect example of the slow-burn of storytelling. I guess, I’m one of the few who also appreciated Gore Verbinski’s remake (The Ring), here. I’m not saying it’s better, but it takes a different slant with the tale that still makes it an entertaining ghost story for western audiences. I’m also a strong fan for M. Night’s The Sixth Sense. For my top 5 list, Ringu and The Sixth Sense would be there, along with these:
    • The Haunting (1963)
    • The Changeling (1980)
    • Session 9 (2001)

    Fun post, Novroz. Thanks.

    • Novroz
      June 21, 2011

      I guess Ringu really fits the taste of Asian while The Ring fits the Westerners.

      ah…Session9, I have seen the trailer (Julian – Dirtywithclass introduced it to me). I really want to watch that. I have just returned from my DVD hunt and still couldn’t find the movie…well, at least I found REC. So eager to watch it.

      • le0pard13
        June 21, 2011

        You got REC? Prepare yourself, my friend😉.

        • Novroz
          June 22, 2011

          Haha the scarier the better😉
          will find the perfect time to watch it, soon.

  9. Custard
    June 21, 2011

    Great List Novia, BUt you will not catch me seeing any of these!!! MUHAHAHAHA

    Especiallu Ju-on and Ringu….no sir ee bob!!

    Thanks for putting this together I have been looking forward to this post for a while now.

    C

    • Novroz
      June 22, 2011

      Hahahaha…come on C! you’re a grown man…don’t let this kind of movie scared you😉

      The plan was for last month, but Cillian beat it. Thanks for anticipating this list, C.

  10. scarletsp1der
    June 21, 2011

    I haven’t seen any of these except Sixth Sense! You have quite the list. It’s impressive that you narrowed it down to 5. I’m curious…what, if any, of the upcoming horror movies, has your attention?

    • Novroz
      June 22, 2011

      eh? I am surprise you haven’t seen Blairwitch, it’s understandable if you haven’t seen the other 3.

      Although I like horror movies, but I don’t follow the news of any upcoming horror movies. For horror, I tend to randomly pick them by the blurb on the back of the DVD cover or based on people’s recommendation. The answer to the question is, No upcoming movie caught my attention…yet

  11. lifewith4cats
    June 22, 2011

    The ghost story never scares me half as much as my own imagination late at night after watching a ghost story. When I have to get up all by myself to use the bathroom. I picture the ghosts from the movie, in my house walking down the hall. I get so spooked I wake up my hubby so he can make sure its safe, first.🙂

    • Novroz
      June 22, 2011

      That’s what scary about ghost movies…the after effect!!
      I remember when I was still in elementary…after watching a horror movie where there was a hand coming out of the toilet.After watching that movie, for about a week I was scared to use the toilet…I was afraid a hand might showed up. But…that was when I was little;)

  12. purisuka
    June 23, 2011

    saya juga suka Ringu, salah satu film yang mengenalkan saya ke dunia perfilman (dan horror) Jepang. beberapa minggu yang lalu baru nonton ulang dan udah ditonton beberapa kali pun tetep bikin merinding dan bikin parno abisnya. baca novelnya pun bikin gak bisa tidur beberapa hari, padahal gak ada satupun penampakan yg diceritain ada di dalam novelnya.

    • Novroz
      June 23, 2011

      yeaaa *tos* emang ringu yg paling keren!!

      Saya sbnarnya sih dah serem lagi kalo nonton karena dah keseringan nonton, benar2 menikmati cerita aja. Tapi emang di awal2 tuh brasa banget seramnya padahal Sadako cuma muncul di akhir aja…aura horornya dah dr awal.

      Wah udah bc bukunya jg ya🙂 sy pgn bgt baca lanjutanya, itu kan trilogi

  13. si_ulil
    June 23, 2011

    I am SO not participating on this post. I just would like to appear in your comment box. hahahahaha…

    • Novroz
      June 23, 2011

      hahaha I thought so!! Maybe you can join in next month. I guarantee you it will be fun😉

  14. business review
    June 24, 2011

    This is an excellent guide for Horror Freaks and aspiring horror movie makers. If youre not already a Freak Horror Movie Freak will turn you into one so be careful… Romero Horror Movies legend and director of Night of the Living Dead….

  15. Kas
    June 25, 2011

    Unfortunately I am terrified of horror movies and am too chicken to watch them. Does Snow White count? 🙂

    • Novroz
      June 25, 2011

      Hold on! Which part of snow white is horrific?😉

      Thank you for stopping by, Kas

  16. Marc
    July 6, 2011

    Ooooh, Ju-On brings creepiness to a whole new level! Haven’t seen the original Ring but was surprised how effective the American one was. Think if you give it the top spot I’ll check out the original.

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2011

      Yeaaa…glad to know you also think Ju-On is creepy. Some people only find it as a weird movie😦 I was really scared when watching that even though Kayako’s ghost only looked like a lady with thick make up but the way she showed up was really creepy.

      You should check the original one, Marc. It has slower pace but much deeper than the remake.

  17. Richard
    July 26, 2011

    Great list, Novroz. Like you said, there are a lot of similarities with mine. I like all your picks, but funnily enough I saw The Sixth Sense again the other night and actually found myself less impressed than I used to be. It’s a good movie, but the more you watch it the more you realise that the ending just doesn’t work. Odd.

    We both love Ring, though. Classic.🙂

    • Novroz
      July 26, 2011

      Thank you, Richard🙂
      I haven’t seen the Sixth Sense since years ago…I still remember how good it was, but maybe I will also have the same feeling as yours if I watch it again now.

      Ringu is awesome, not the scariest of all but the best nevertheless. I have watched it countless time, it has lost the horror sense but I still enjoy it a lot

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2011 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads