Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

A Life in Movies Blogathon

Andy of Fandango Groovers Movie Blog held another interesting blogathon. At first, I was a bit doubtful to join in because it required a lot of time to do some research.

But…the fun of movie list got into me more than the troublesome of searching for the right movie.

Here are the rules:

  • Compile a list of movies, one per year from the year YOU were born up to last year, 2010.
  • Publish them on your own blog Sunday 8th May
  • Send me a link as soon as possible ideally a week before (thanks to those who have already sent them)
  • I will be sending a banner to use at the top of your page, I need some help to create it. All you need to do is email me in the next couple of days a list of around ten movies that will be on your list.
  • Go check everyone’s list in Andy’s Blog.

I was born in 1977 (now everyone knows that I am quite old ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and here are the movies in my life:

1977: Starwars: A new hope. I watched this movie somewhere in late80s, I was surprise to know that that kind of special effect was made in late 70s. Up to today, I still enjoy this old series of Star Wars far more than the new ones.

1978: Grease. The story was simple but the music was timeless. My all time favorite musical movie.

1979: Alien. Could anyone blame me for liking alien too much? It was awesome then and it is still awesome now.

1980: Starwars: The Empire Strikes back.

1981: Indiana Jones: Raiders of the lost ark. I adore Indy since my teen days till now. Too bad the last one had to involve alien in it.

1982: Poltergeist. I totally freaked out watching this movie, and let me tell you that western horror movie rarely freaked me out.

1983: Starwars : Return of the Jedi.

1984: Terminator. I love Terminator!! One of the best sci-fi movies I have ever seen.

1985: Back to The Future. The first is the best out of three.

1986: Aliens.

1987: The Lost Boys. I know this is not the best movie in 1987, but it left such great memory on me.

Tjoet Nja' Dhien

1988: Grave of Fireflies. I am Studio Ghibli fan. That explain ALL Ghibli animation in this list!

1989:ย  Tjoet Nja’ Dhien. This movie is a historical movie that tells the life of female warrior against the tyranny of Dutch government in our country. I regard this movie as the best movie Indonesia has ever produced.

1990: Edward Scissorhands. I don’t remember any other movies from this year but this movie. this was an odd but fun movie.

1991: Terminator: The Judgment Day.

1992: Batman Returns. All the stars in this Batman franchise are my favorite actors/actress.ย 

1993: Jurassic Park. This was one difficult year. I have so many movie that I like, I finally chose Jurassic Park as it awed me so much at that time.

1994: Speed. This movie is one of Keanu’s best…and the movie that made me in love with the man

Thinner

1995: Se7en. Although I don’t like Brad Pitt, I truly enjoy this movie. Very thrilling with unexpected ending. The casts were also awesome, Freeman and Spacey.

1996: Thinner. Watching this movie was the beginning of my love toward the great Mr. Stephen King.

1997: Princess Mononoke. This is theย  longest anime I have ever seen, however it didn’t make me bored.i was fascinated with the world in this great anime.

1998: Ringu & Saving Private Ryan. I couldn’t just pick one movie because I love both Ringu andย  Saving Private Ryan. Ringu is my all time favorite horror movie and SPR is my all time favorite war movie.

1999: The Matrix. The matrix awed me in so many ways, the best sci-fi movie that stood against time. No movie had yet defeated this movie from its throne as the best sci-fi movie EVER.

2000: Cast Away. Cast Away is the first movie that opened my eyes toward the beauty of one man character movies. Tom Hanks was incredible in this movie

2001: The Lord of The Rings : Fellowship of The Rings. I always judge movies which adapted from books, this trilogy represent the book really well. I have no objection at all toward the trilogy.

2002: The Lord of the Rings : The Two Towers.

2003: Spirited Away. The animation that turned me into a Ghibli Studio fan.

2004: Shaun of The Dead. Can zombie be any funnier than this one?

2005: Breakfast on Pluto. The movie that started my obsession over Cillian Murphy. He was brilliant in this movie.

2006: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. Another amazing animation from Japan.

Sunshine

2007: Sunshine. A mission to save the earth that didn’t end happily like Armageddon. I love the story and Cillian Murphy looks gorgeous as a scientist.

2008: The Day The Earth Stood Still. Some people said the movie is boring, but I fully got the moral message of the movie.

2009: District 9. The best movie in 2009…no question about it. This movie makes me eager to see more movies by Sharlto Copley.

2010: Inception. Just like D-9,ย  I dare to say that this movie is the best in 2010…the first sci-fi movie that can awed me as much as The Matrix.

Looking forward to see everyone’s list ๐Ÿ™‚

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

34 comments on “A Life in Movies Blogathon

  1. rtm
    May 8, 2011

    Awesome Nov! Too bad I can’t participate in time for this blog-a-thon, but I might still do it in the near future. We probably will have a few in agreements… Speed, Jurassic Park, LOTR movies, and D-9. Oh, and I love that picture of Cillian in Sunshine, he’s so cute in that one (not that he’s not cute in other movies :D)

    Btw, saya lebih tua dr kamu Nov… sy pikir kamu masih in the 20s.

    • Novroz
      May 8, 2011

      Thank you Ruth ๐Ÿ™‚
      Why can’t you participate? would love to know your list (as well as your guest author’s list). Who wouldn’t love those movies? They are timeless.
      Hear hear!! Sunshine never make me bored, he looks yummy in that movie (so does in his other movies).

      Hehehe sy dah ngira kalo Ruth lebih tua…tapi mungkin hanya beberpa tahun bedanya. Dikira 20 tahunan mungkin karena masih suka melakukan Fan-girl Hysteria over Cillian ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • rtm
        May 9, 2011

        I didn’t have time to finish it on time, but Andy has graciously offer late entry from me, so I’ll email him my link when I’m done, hopefully this week or the next.

        He..he… well sy udah mid 30-an masih suka ga-ga ama Gerry kok, I don’t think that’ll ever go away. Besides, I’m young at heart ๐Ÿ˜€

        • Novroz
          May 10, 2011

          I can undestand very well, this really takes time. Looking forward to see your list, and wondering how many GB movies there ๐Ÿ˜‰

          hahaha so true! we have to be young at heart even thought already old in age.

  2. Caroline
    May 8, 2011

    I can see that was time cosuming but it’s a funny idea. That was a coming out age wise. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have seen quite a few of them. Edward Scissorhands is one of my favourites and I really liked District 9.

    • Novroz
      May 8, 2011

      Yeah it really shows how old these movie bloggers that join in the blogathon ๐Ÿ˜‰
      District-9 is a very awesome alien movie, it showed a new perspective on alien invasion.
      Edward Scissorhands is a peculiar movie but very easy to love.
      I would love to see your list, Caroline ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Caroline
        May 8, 2011

        I’m afraid I don’t have enough time to do it. maybe he will do something similar later in the year.

        • Novroz
          May 8, 2011

          His first meme is much simpler than this…looking forward to see his next idea.
          It took 2 weeks for me to finish this post,so I understand your reason very well.

  3. Pingback: A Life In Movies « Fandango Groovers Movie Blog

  4. Joel Burman
    May 8, 2011

    Great list with some films I have never heard of actually. Tjoet Njaโ€™ Dhien sounds especially intriguing!

    • Novroz
      May 8, 2011

      Thank you Joel ๐Ÿ™‚
      Tjoet Njaโ€™ Dhien was really good, Christine Hakim (the leading actress) was so brilliant. I hope Indonesia can make this kind of movies again in the near future…a movie with high quality story.

  5. Custard
    May 8, 2011

    woohoo!!!

    Great list Nov, love some of the choices you made and as Joel said, some in there I haven’t heard of either.

    Thanks for sharing. I honestly thought Cillian may have been featured more ๐Ÿ˜‰

    C

    • Novroz
      May 8, 2011

      Thank you C ๐Ÿ™‚
      This blogathon makes us aware of movies we have never heard before…I really like this kind of meme/blogathon. I am going to check your list soon.

      Althought I love Cillian more than other actors in the world,but his movies aren’t always on top of other movies. I wanted to put Peacock there, but I love District-9 much more than Peacock.

  6. Katie
    May 8, 2011

    You’ve got some unusual picks there, a really eclectic list.

    • Novroz
      May 8, 2011

      Sometimes,I like movies that not many people like.

  7. fandangogroovers
    May 8, 2011

    I hated The Day The Earth Stood Still, possibly because I love the classic original. Other than that great list, thanks for taking part.

    • Novroz
      May 9, 2011

      I know a lot of people hate that movie, but it is understandable.
      Thank you for hosting this, Andy.

  8. DEZMOND
    May 9, 2011

    you are a year older than me? I swear I thought you were like 19 or 20 from the style of your blog so far ๐Ÿ™‚
    Ah, so little of Cillian’s films in the list he he ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Novroz
      May 9, 2011

      The style of my blog?
      I didn’t realize it looks that young, I only want to have my baby turtles as both background and header.

      hehe just like I said to Custard, some Cillian’s movie got beaten by better movies.

  9. Colleeng
    May 9, 2011

    Yay, District 9! How awesome to be born the year Star Wars was released, but if that makes you old then I’m the CryptKeeper! Nice list. Breakfast on Pluto as been on my Netflix forever, I need to move it up. Great list!

    • Novroz
      May 9, 2011

      It surprised me when I found out that Star wars was made at the same year I was born, the movie was too amazing for a kid in the 80s.
      lol that’s a nice joke. Your picture doesn’t show that you are 10 years older than me;)

      Do watch Breakfast on Pluto,Colleen…if you don’t like the story you can still enjoy the performance.

  10. Tom Clift
    May 9, 2011

    I was so close to picking SPEED for ’94, but PULP FICTION just beat it out. Cool selections!

    • Novroz
      May 10, 2011

      Can you believe I still haven’t watched Pulp Fiction yet. I want to but the chance hasn’t come yet.
      Thank you, Tom

  11. si_ulil
    May 10, 2011

    I totally forgot about Edward Scissorhand!!!!! *banging head*

    I’m aware SPEED was released in 1994, but I think the impact of Lion King for me was bigger, though Keanu was H.O.T there ๐Ÿ˜›
    Btw, your picture of Cillian here…my oh my…. *wiping away drool
    Great list!

    • Novroz
      May 10, 2011

      your case with Speed and Lion King is same with me on ROTK and Spirited Away. I want to put all LOTR movies but Spirited Away has big impact on me, so LOTR has to b happy with only 2movies in my list.

      Whuahaha I have done so many wipping drool seing that movie (or any of his movies) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Marc
    May 10, 2011

    I just don’t dig The Girl Who Leapt Through Time as much as everyone else…but maybe because I think Summer Wars is so much better:P

    Good calls on Speed and Batman Returns (I think it’s better than the first actually…btw it looks astounding on BD) and I like how you didn’t have to put anything for Aliens. Name alone is “nuff said” ๐Ÿ˜„

    • Novroz
      May 10, 2011

      I haven’t seen summer wars yet, still looking for it.

      yeah the 2nd Batman is stronger than the 1st. My feeling towar Alliens is same with Alien, just say it once that the movie is awesome, it goes to both Alien and Aliens.
      Thanks for stopping by, Marc.

  13. Castor
    May 10, 2011

    Spirited Away, Grave of the Fireflies, Princess Mononoke, a trio of really great animations right there! You didn’t like LOTR: Return of the King?

    • Novroz
      May 10, 2011

      I like it a lot…all 3 movies in lord of the rings trilogy has special place in my heart…but I could put The Return of The King because it was in the same year as Spirited Away, I have to put that animation in the list because that movie is the beginning of my admiration on Ghibli.

  14. Fletch
    May 11, 2011

    A truly intriguing and interesting list, though I have to agree that The Day the Earth Stood Still stands as the glaring blemish on it. That movie was terrible (and I don’t even need to see the original to know that).

    I particularly like the inclusion on Sunshine. Didn’t see that one on too many lists, but (save for its crazy third act) it’s a beautiful film that went largely unseen on its release.

    • Novroz
      May 11, 2011

      Thank you Fletch.
      I don’t need to defend The Day the Earth stood Still, it is the kind of movie that I know most people hate it and somehow I like it,it has a sentimental value for me. It represent how I feel whenever I lot of people doing things to endanger our planet, I wish I have Klatu’s power to protect the earth.

      Hear hear on Sunshine. One of my favorite Sci-fi movie.

  15. nadiafriza
    May 12, 2011

    True, indeed. Kinda weird to watch Indiana Jones with alien in it.

    Edward Scissorshand is a fun movie? Whoa. Either I’m too sentimental or I kinda forget the movie. But I found the movie as a sad one.
    I love Depp! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Agree with LOTR. The movies are better then the books. ๐Ÿ™‚

    District 9 and Inception are tremendously amazing!

  16. ianthecool
    May 13, 2011

    A good list… with the exception of Grease. But you seem to have redeemed that choice by picking Princess Mononoke as your 1997 pick. I also agree with Sunshine as your 2007 pick,

    • Novroz
      May 13, 2011

      hi Ian, thank you for stopping by.
      My choice on grease is simply because I like the songs, the story is really plain and unattractive.
      Mononoke, Spirited away and grave of firefly are my top 3 Ghibli animation. Nice to know you supported my choice on Sunshine.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,523 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ๐Ÿ˜‰ โ€œSaya menyimpan kepribadian saya di lockerโ€

COPYRIGHT

ยฉ Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blogโ€™s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads