Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Monday Movies : 1 Zombie, 1 Rewatch and 2 War Movies

Since I bought new DVD player (to replace the broken one), I have been on movie spree. I watched at least 3movies a week. Because of the unfortunate case in my country (Read: Bye Bye Imported Movies), I have no other means to watch movies but DVD. I really hope the problem will be solved really soon.

I decided to make a button for this post because I know that as long as I keep on blogging I will continue writing Monday Movies to wrap up movies I have watched recently. The button is my dearest nephew holding the TV remote….it is really difficult to take the remote away from him 😉

Let’s move on with the movies!

Last week, I watched 4 movies; 1 zombie movie,1 re-watch movie, 1 animation movie and 1 war movie. I don’t want to write long introduction, here are my thought on each movie I saw last week.

28 Weeks Later (2007)

Director : Juan Carlos Fresnadillo
Staring : Robert Carlyle, Rose Byrne, Jeremy Renner, Harold Perrineau, Catherine McCormack, Mackintosh Muggleton, Imogen Poots, Idris Elba.

I have this movie  since last year but I couldn’t make myself watching it till last week. The reason is quite simple, I am not a zombie person and I tend to compare movies.

After watching it, at first, I wanted to make a battle movie between 28 Weeks Later with 28 days later (just like what I did with Shaun of the Dead VS Zombieland)…but I changed my mind.

I really like 28 days Later because the story is not 100% about Zombie, it was into human reaction toward that kind of situation. 28 Weeks Later is  100% zombie movie, the story really revolves around people being chased by zombie. You can read the full story here.

It is more thrilling than 28 Days later but the flaws are too many  compare to 28 Days later. I enjoy watching it, but I don’t think it is something I will watch again. The story is just not appealing to me.

Rating:

Sherlock : A Study In Pink (2010)

I really really really love this miniseries. The second season apt to come out somewhere this year. I am so excited  about it.

I don’t want to say anything more about this series as I already wrote my review earlier this year, here”s the excerpt:

The minute I saw Sherlock I knew straight away that HE IS A BETTER SHERLOCK than anyone I have ever seen. In fact, he is the most perfect Sherlock Holmes that represents how I imagine Sherlock  whenever I  read the book. He is annoying, obnoxious, a pain in the butt, rude, self-absorbed, cold, & arrogant smart ass. He ignores women. And last but not least, he is annoying…ow, I’ve said that already! However pain in the butt he is…I LOVE THAT MAN!!!

I missed that Sherlock and decided to watch it again (for the 4th time).
Rating: still  just like before

Kaze o Mita Shounen – 風を見た少年 (2000)

Director: Kazuki Omori
Staring: Yuki Adachi, Aki Maeda, Nari Natsuki, Keiko toda, Takashi Naitou

Kaze o Mita Shounen means The Boy Who Saw The Wind. It is based on a novel by C.J Nicol

The story was about a boy named Amon who had the power to see the wind. He could even ride on it. That power belonged to the Ancient Wind People.  His father  used his power to create new kind of energy. When he found out that Golden Snake Empire wanted to use that power  as mass destruction weapon,  he burned down his own laboratory.

Amon was captured and both his parents were killed. He met the Golden Eagle who taught him  how to fly and ran away from his capturer. But he could not escape the hand of Golden Snake Empire which had spread  the war everywhere.

I really like the story and the ending. It’s a war movie, so it bounds to have an ending which is not 100% happy (I never like a war or thriller movie that ends with complete happiness). The animation was drawn beautifully. I enjoyed watching every scene from this animation.

Rating:

Watashi Wa Kai Ni Naritai – 私は貝になりたい (2008)

Director: Katsuo Fukuzawa
Staring: Masahiro Nakai, Yukie Nakama and Yuki Shibamoto

I bought this movie for just a simple reason…Nakama Yukie is in it. She is one of my favorite actress (I even teamed her up with Cillian Murphy in Sunset Mystery – my first Hollywood Fantasy Pitch)

This movie is based on a novel by Tetsutarô Katô. The first movie was made on 1959,this one is a remake. Watashi wa Kai ni naritai means I want to be a selfish.

The story took place during the Pacific War, 1944. A simple barber was ordered to join the war as a private despite the fact that he was limping. He was forced to execute a war prisoner without trial. Once the war was over, he was arrested as a war criminal. The story revolved around his life in prison waiting for his death sentence to be proceeded.

The cinematography of this movie is STUNNING!! We can see the beauty of Japan’s scenery. The scoring is also brilliant,not surprising due to the fact that Joe Hisashi was the composer for this movie.

However, I felt a bit annoyed with  the main actor…his performance was too much, he tended to exaggerate things. But, overall I really like the basic idea of the story. War suffered not only the people of the country being invaded but also the people of the country which was doing the invasion.

If reincarnation exist, I want to be born again as a selfish, deep down under the sea, far from any war.

Rating:

Important information: The Hollywood Fantasy Draft has started again,  come and join the fun 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

17 comments on “Monday Movies : 1 Zombie, 1 Rewatch and 2 War Movies

  1. Kelly
    May 2, 2011

    I used to watch horror when I was younger…not so much anymore. Even that cover is a bit too scary for me…lol I’ll have to keep a look-out for Kaze o Mita Shounen. Thanks for thr heads up 😀

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2011

      I have been horror fan since little and it’s hard to let it go 😉
      Hope you can find kaze o mitai shounen, it wasn’t as good as Ghibli animation but still worth watching.
      Thank you for stopping by, Kelly.

  2. Caroline
    May 2, 2011

    Ah, now I see which movie you were referring to. I think i would like to watch them all with the exception of the first. I saw 28 days later and it is okk but I’m not in the mood for this one. I think i would like the last one because of the cinematography. I like beautifully filmed movies. I don’t think that i will find it though.

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2011

      I really like 28 days Later because it wasn’t about zombie,I think you can skip 28 weeks later without any regret.
      I really hope you can find it…it really is BEAUTIFUL.The cliff near the sea is breathtaking,I would love to stand there and shout as loud as I can. The story is also really good, the only flaw is the main actor…in my opinion.

  3. S. Le
    May 2, 2011

    We love “Sherlock” as well and are hoping for a continuation of the series! Quite good!

    • Novroz
      May 2, 2011

      Do you know when is it going to continue?
      I am so anxious to see what happened to Sherlock and Watson.

  4. rtm
    May 2, 2011

    I REALLY need to see Sherlock. I was so impressed w/ Benedict in Atonement and more recently in Amazing Grace, he’s such a fine actor. I like Robert Downey’s fun portrayal but perhaps this BBC one is a more accurate one.

    • Novroz
      May 3, 2011

      I want to see more of his movies, but what I am more interested with his unusual role such as being Stephen Hawking. I haven’t seen the Downey’s version, as you already knew, but yes I think Benedict’s portrayal of Sherlock is very accurate. Do see it, Ruth…I want to know your opinion on that miniseries.
      The second season will soon come out this year…I’m so eager to see it.

  5. le0pard13
    May 3, 2011

    Of the few episodes I’ve managed to catch in the new Sherlock series, I’m mightily impressed with the show and its lead. Yeah, if you’re not into zombie films, I can understand your reaction to 28 Weeks Later. I did like the direction Juan Carlos Fresnadillo took the story, and Jeremy Renner’s participation. And I need to check out Watashi Wa Kai Ni Naritai! Thanks for this.

    p.s., what a great picture of your nephew!

    • Novroz
      May 3, 2011

      Few episodes? how many have you seen? This miniseries only consist of 3 episodes (plus one in DVD version). you might have seen them all. I have seen each more than once, I am also planning to see them again soon….I really really like the leads.

      The direction is quite good, I like the angle of the camera, however the story is just typical zombie stories…so it isn’t appealing to me. If you finally get to watch Watashi wa kai ni naritai, let me know how you feel about the male lead, I wasn’t impressed with him.

      Thank you, he is so photogenic. I like taking a lot of his pictures 🙂

  6. DEZMOND
    May 3, 2011

    that Japanese film sounds quite interesting, I like touching and educational historical dramas like that.

    • Novroz
      May 3, 2011

      Me too…I like a well done historical drama. this one is half-done, but still enjoyable to watch.
      I like the moral of the story even though some people think that it was a bit one-sided. For me, it’s more like seeing the fact that war causes suffering to both parties, the aggressor and the one being attacked.

  7. Castor
    May 3, 2011

    Did you expect a Cillian Murphy cameo? 😉
    Loved the opening sequence of the movie but it loses steam about half way through. Not great but not bad either.

    • Novroz
      May 3, 2011

      hahaha, fortunately Castor, I am well educated with Cillian’s carreer, I know well enough he wasnt in the sequel 😉

      I agree that it was good in the begining but fall behind somewhere in the middle. It’s not a great movie and not bad either…it was an okay movie, hence the 2stars rating.

  8. Custard
    May 3, 2011

    I have only seen 28 weeks out of the 3 you mentions, somehow Sherlock passed me by. I need to rectify that!!

    28 Weeks wasn’t great for me I am afraid. The first outing was much better. I love the mad running zombies though, very scary!!

    Looks like you had a busier week than I!!

    Great read my friend

    C

    • Novroz
      May 3, 2011

      Same here, 28 weeks later isn’t great for me too. I like the first one much better despite the fact Cillian is the lead.
      I was busy last week…as in busy with work,the busier I get the more I want to see movies.

      Thank You C.

  9. Pingback: Monday Movies: REC, Dark Water, The Tempest, Kungfu Panda « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads