Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – April

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. This event is hosted by Sheila of Book Journey.

I decided to do regular post for this  meme but not as a weekly meme, this will be a monthly meme. I want to keep my track on what I have been reading in a month and the possibility of what I will read next month.

Since my last It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, which happened to be on March, I have read (or unfinished reading) these books:

I Couldn’t finish The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown because the book is too boring for me. I was expecting it to be as thrilling as The DaVinci Code and Angels and Demons but I was left bored to death by The Lost Symbol…Simply said, it wasn’t my book.

You can read my review (or more like reason why I couldn’t finish it) by clicking on the book cover.

Fortunately, my favorite author had not let me down yet. I finished Night Shift by Stephen King and gave it 4 stars.

This is the first short story collection by SK. I like it as much as I like Skeleton Crew….But I find it a bit strange that my favorite story of all is the non-horror one about brother and sister relationship.

You can read my review by clicking on the book cover.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t finish another book. This time, it was a book called The Temple of The Golden Pavilion by Yukio Mishima.

It was my first Yukio Mishima’s book. I couldn’t read pass through page 100. It bored me…again, it wasn’t my kind of book. I need something more thrilling or more heart.

I didn’t write review or reason why I couldn’t finish the book because I couldn’t grasp anything from this book.

As usual, I always managed to put Manga on my reading list although most Manga I read were Manga I have read several times.

Kanata Kara by Kyoko Hikawa has been my most favorite Shoujo Manga since early 90s till today and I know it will stay as my most favorite for years to come.

Kanata Kara is the only shoujo manga that can come close to shounen manga. Hikawa can beautifully mix love story with interesting adventure and great fighting scenes, she also put some good moral in it.

I really like love this manga. You can read my review (I also give link if you want to read it online ) by clicking on the Manga cover.

What am I reading right now?

I am currently reading 1984 by George Orwell.

I have heard/read  various review on this book. Some said it was great some said it was boring and hard to digest. My curiosity came not because of those review, it was because my favorite band, MUSE, made their latest album The Resistance based upon this book.

One of the song in that album is title United State of Eurasia. I could understand the lyric better now that I  have read the book.

What will I read next?

I will read The Sea and Poison by Shusaku Endo as my first readalong. The Literature and War Readalong 2011 is held by a very nice book blogger, Caroline of Beauty is a Sleeping Cat.

I will also read The Most Wonderful Fairy Tale by Nicholas Jobe as part of my Once Upon of Time V challenge. The book has no cover yet because it hasn’t been published yet. I will create my own cover of the book when I finally read it.

If possible, I want to read another book (I hope I can do that as I am a very slow reader). the book I want to read is also part of my Once Upon a Time V challenge. It is called The Little Yokozuna by Wayne Shorey.

Somewhere along, I will squeeze a manga and children book that tells about a certain Japanese Fairy Tale (and again for my Once Upon a Time challenge) .

I am looking forward to know what you have read and will read 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

24 comments on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – April

  1. parrish
    April 25, 2011

    The sea & the poison was my first Endo & I did enjoy it. Orwells good, as is the muse album. Currently reading a collection of Surrealist Love Poems & Pinball 1973.

    • Novroz
      April 25, 2011

      Deep River was my first Endo and I quite like it, but I couldnt yet finish Stained Glass Elegy, also by Endo.

      My library still hasnt owned Pinball yet, I thought you have read all by Haruki, Parrish

  2. Ellie
    April 25, 2011

    1984 is an incredibly influencial book but it’s just not to everyone’s tastes. I’ve read it on a few occasions as it’s been picked by book clubs. I don’t really like the long political passages but I can appreciate how different it was when it was written.

    • Novroz
      April 25, 2011

      I can’t say if it is up to my taste or not…yet! because I haven’t finished it yet, but so far I really enjoy it, it hasn’t bored me yet.

  3. Caroline
    April 25, 2011

    Thanks for joining me, Novroz. You are starting very early with the Endo. I’m looking forward to it as it will be my first Endo but I’m still in the middle of the April readalong which I’m not sure about yet.
    I read 1984 years ago and remember I thought it was very good. I didn’t like it but it was interesting.
    I also read the Mishima but that was my first and last of the author. Guess not my cup of tea either.

    • Novroz
      April 25, 2011

      Don’t worry, I still haven’t started my Endo yet…it is set for my next read right after I finish 1984.

      So far I am enjoying 1984, it is as if reading my number one Japanese Literature, Battle Royale, in a different perspective. They are not exactly the same but somehow I see the connection.

      I might try Mishima again one day…you know, to give second chance before totally ignoring him.

  4. BookBelle
    April 25, 2011

    Very interesting about 1984 and the Muse. I’ll have to think about reading the book now. Here’s mine:

    http://bookbelle0819.blogspot.com/2011/04/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_25.html

    • Novroz
      April 25, 2011

      May I assume you also like MUSE? 🙂

  5. Sheila (Book Journey)
    April 25, 2011

    I have Dan Browns book on my shelf…. actually two of them…. I wanted to read it so bad when it came out and I still havent. 1984 is one I really want to read some day 🙂

    • Novroz
      April 25, 2011

      Hope you got a chance to read 1984 one day….and the Brown books.
      I also have several books that have been collecting dust on my shelf.

  6. laurelrainsnow
    April 25, 2011

    I haven’t read any Dan Brown…I kind of realized that I wouldn’t enjoy his work. I know lots of people do…I suspect that I’m not one of them.

    I read 1984 ages ago…back in the sixties. I loved it. I’m wondering what I would think of it now.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Novroz
      April 25, 2011

      I could understand your feeling…I am one of them and somehow not one of them…I mean, so far I enjoyed 2 of his books and dislike his 2other books.

      You make me wonder too, would I still like the books I have read years ago if I read them now.
      Thank you for visiting back Laurel.

  7. Castor
    April 26, 2011

    My plan is to start reading The Hunger Games, just to see what the fuss is all about. But yea, it could be a while since I don’t really have much free time lately.

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2011

      According to the blurb, Hunger Game is VERY similar to Battle Royale and according to people who have read both, Battle Royale is much better than Hunger Game.

      I love BR a lot, I am not sure I want to read HG anytime soon.

      If you don’t have much time, why don’t you read on the bus (like me)? But probably you’re riding a car, right?

  8. Leeswammes
    April 26, 2011

    I think you’re right not to finish books that you don’t enjoy. There are so many good books out in the world, why waste your time on bad ones? I’ve read the same two Dan Brown books as you have and I think that’s enough. I’m not really planning to read Lost Symbol or anything else by him.

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2011

      Exactly! plus the books I dont enjoy tend to slow me down, they make me delay my next read…so dropping them is the best solution

      Brown fans are saying that The Lost Symbol is really good…but, meh not for me. Somehow, I feel that you are not going to enjoy it too 😉

  9. DEZMOND
    April 26, 2011

    I’m currently reading the vampire saga on which TRUE BLOOD is based, since I’m translating it for the readers in my country. I must admit it’s an amazingly superficial and stupid book 🙂

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2011

      You’re a translator? tough job specially when doing books you don’t enjoy. I used to be a partime translator but I got distracted easily.

      Which once is more superficial? That book or twillight 😉

  10. littlemissbean
    April 26, 2011

    “1984” is good, but I preferred “Brave New World” myself. Muse is always good, and “The Sea and Poison” was very enjoyable. I’m reading “Embassytown” by China Mieville. I love prereleases. Even if they’re China Mieville.

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2011

      Brave New World? I never heard of it before…will look google it later and see if I can put it my TBR list.
      It’s nice to know someone like The Sea and Poison, it gives more encouragement to read it.
      Thank you for visiting Little Miss Bean

  11. Pussreboots
    April 26, 2011

    Great list of books! I’m adding From Far Away to my wishlist. I’m going through a manga craze right now and I love your description of the series. Coming up I’ll be reading a Harry Harrison book, more manga, more assigned reading for school and whatever else strikes my fancy. Come see what I finished this week.

    • Novroz
      April 26, 2011

      I hope you can enjoy From Far Away as much as I do.
      I have been in manga craze since 19 years ago… I couldn’t let it go even though I old enough to make people raise their eyebrow when seeing me reading such childish read.

  12. Aleetha
    April 27, 2011

    aah..I am so sorry that you did not enjoy The Lost Symbol. I was at page 56 now.I hope the same thing wont happen to me. I’d love to read 1984. But I still cant find the copy. Have you read the Animal Farm?

    • Novroz
      April 27, 2011

      I hope you have better luck on that book than me 🙂
      It’s quite easy to find 1984 in Jakarta and so does animal Farm. I haven’t read Animal Farm yet…but, ff I end up liking 1984 so much, I will definitely look for Animal Farm

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2011 by in Bookish Memes, Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads