Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

My Cinematic Alphabet

When I saw Ruth’s Cinematic Alphabet, I was intrigued but not sure whether I want to do it or not because it will require few hours of my day. Then, Custard did his Cinematic Alphabet. Seeing pictures from their list sort of turn me on, so I decided to spend time to do it when I am not working full day (which is today). Mr.L who shares the same blog with Custard beat me to it, he posted his Cinematic Alphabet 2 days ago.

You’ll see, mostly, 2 kind of movies in my list, English Speaking and Japanese Speaking movie.

Here we go:

A is for Alien

B is for Breakfast on Pluto

C is for Crying Out Love In The Center Of The World
(
世界の中心で愛を 叫び)

D is for Death Note

E is for (the) Eye


F is for Final Destination

G is for Grave of Firefly (ホタルの墓)

H is for Hot Fuzz

I is for Identity

J is for Jurassic Park

K is for (the) King’s Speech

L is for (the) Lord of  The Rings

M is for (the) Matrix

N is for Ninja Assasin

O is for Okuribito (おくりびと )

P is for Peacock

Q is for Quarantine

R is for Ringu (ング)

S is for Spirited Away (千と千尋の神隠し )

T is for Terminator

U is for (the) Untouchable

V is for (the) Village


W is for (the) Wind That Shakes The Barley

X is for (the) X Files

Y is for You’ve Got Mail

Z is for Zatoichi  (座頭市)

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

58 comments on “My Cinematic Alphabet

  1. rtm
    April 13, 2011

    Hi Nov, glad you’re doing this too, and thanks for the shout out. What, only THREE Cillian movies?? I’m disappointed, he..he.. I actually only had one GB movie on my list 🙂

    Too many horror flicks here for my liking though, but YES on Untouchables, You’ve Got Mail and Hot Fuzz!

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      Well…unfortunatelly some Cillian movies got pushed by other movies, I want to put sunshine BUT Spirited Away beat it. What surprised me is, I forgot about Inception, I remember it after I publish it.

      Hehehe, what can I say…I am a horror junkie.

    • DEZMOND
      April 15, 2011

      yes, Flixy, is right, just three Cillian’s films??? 🙂 🙂

      • Novroz
        April 15, 2011

        I guess this list ruins my reputation as Cillianiac 😉 3 movies seemed not enough

        • scarletsp1der
          April 15, 2011

          “ruins my reputation as Cillianiac”!! hahaha love it!! 🙂

          • scarletsp1der
            April 15, 2011

            and dont’ worry. My wife, Scarlett Johansson only has 1 movie on my list! 😉

  2. Caroline
    April 13, 2011

    What a great post. Totally like it!

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      I’m glad you enjoy it 🙂

  3. The Girl from the Ghetto
    April 13, 2011

    Oh, that was a fun post to write, wasn’t it? A lot of hard work, too, finding all those photos. I used to play a version of this during road trips. We got so good we stated doing AA-ZZ movies, long before the days of IMDB.

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      Hi Ghetto Girl (I shorten your nick a bit), welcome to my blog 🙂
      It was indeed fun but also difficult for some letters. I have to push my brain to think…final destination is not my favorite movie and yet it made it here because I could remember other movie starts with F.

      It’s amazing you can get to aa – zz.

  4. kindafunnylookin
    April 13, 2011

    Great list Novroz 🙂

    I was so close to putting The Eye on mine. Good choice. I’ve had Grave of the Fireflies on DVD for ages too and not got round to watching it. Might have to now!

    Mr L

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      Thank you Mr.L
      Your list is still much better than mine…honestly.
      Fortunately you didnt put the eye, or else we’ll share 3 same movies 😉

      You really should watch Grave of Firefly, it was a sad and yet beautiful animation. If I have time, I want to watch it again and review it.

  5. dirtywithclass
    April 14, 2011

    Interesting list. I support your inclusion of Lord of the Rings, one of the few trilogies to remain good through all 3 movies. Peacock was also a cool choice, and i do think that movie deserved more attention than it got. I don’t know if you saw my list or not, but i put Hot Fuzz on my list also.
    I saw the spanish movie Quarantine is based on, and honestly i liked that one better.

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      Lord of the rings apt to be good as the book is the best fantasy I’ve ever read.
      Yeah, I agree with you. Peacock should get more attention. Great movie with great acting.

      quarantine is based on? I thought it was an original.

      I missed your post will look at it later.

      • dirtywithclass
        April 14, 2011

        Its based on a spanish movie called REC.

        And i look forward to your opinion on my list.

        • Novroz
          April 14, 2011

          ah yes I remember that movie! I really want to watch it but still havent gotten the chance to see it yet. Thank you for reminding me.

          Will check your list as soon as I get back from work, it’s not fun if I can see the picture. I am using my mobilephone with no pictures to reply this.

    • Ronan
      May 8, 2011

      My wife loves Shaun of the Dead but didn’t really like Hot Fuzz that much (I think it is a bit long and drawn out towards the end, alos a bit samey) so she wouldnt have let me put it on my list. I recognise that guy in the still for Quarantine, he is in Eyes Wide Shut, he steals the show in the movie, he is great. Is Quarantine worth seeing?

      • Novroz
        May 8, 2011

        I have a strong love toward those 3, Edgar, Simon and Nick…I love Shaun more than Hot Fuzz but I still enjoy it a lot.I am waiting for the last movie of this blood and ice cream trilogy impatiently.

        Quarantine was okay…to tell you the truth I have forgotten the details,it is in the list because I don’t know other Q movie.

        • Irina
          May 13, 2011

          Haha! it’s the funniest reason to put it on the list Novia ‘have forgotten the details,it is in the list because I don’t know other Q movie’ :)))))
          It’s great to see Ghibli films on your list. They are truely magical.
          It’s fascinatig that you’ve got a lot of nerve to watch all those horrible horror movies. They are too scary for me to even attempt them. I once watched Ring with my sister at night and as soon as the movie was over, the phone rang.. it was like 2 in the morning. I picked up the phone, but there was no answer!!! How random is that!! and you know what: I was waiting for my death for a week!
          I know it is all silly and everything but it does mess up with your head. So no more scary movies for me!!

          • Novroz
            May 14, 2011

            Hehehe…I really don’t know much movies started with that letter 😉

            Ow my God….you are the 2nd person who said that, my student also had the same experience, and plus me that makes 3 of us. Right after I finished watching it, the phone rang…I was literally jumping off my chair and feeling a bit reluctant to pick up the phone. Even though I love horror movies, but that kind of thing was really scary.

  6. sara
    April 14, 2011

    I like your list. Ive seen most of them. Ninja assasin was really cool. I just saw it a couple of weeks ago.

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      My feeling toward Ninja Assasin is betwen hate and love. I love the fighting scenes and all that blood gushing out of people’s bodies, and the cut-off body parts make it even better (I sound like a psychopath here)…BUT I hate the ending with all the hatred I have for a movie. The ending degrades Ninja to its lowest point.

      • sara
        April 14, 2011

        If it will make you feel like less of a phyco Ill share my reason for likeing the movie so much. Its because I think he looks totally sexy with all that blood dripping off him and the chains whipping around him so fast as he kills.

        Did I just say That? There was a lot of things about that movie that were not like a ninja though. Like dropping and leaving weapons behind after a retreat. etc. The ending was very bad.
        Really,.. did I just say That?! I sound like a psycho. heheheh

        • Novroz
          April 14, 2011

          *high five* we are 2 psycho then 🙂
          My mouth dropped when I saw the first scene when a yakuza was cut off from his leg. At that moment I thought ‘Wow…this is going to be a cool movie’….but too bad the ending ruins it. I wish the ending was not like that…it would made it into my all time fav if they made better ending.

          I also love seeing that moment too. I am not Rain’s fan but I drool on him in this movie….he is HOT.

  7. levian
    April 14, 2011

    this seemed like a fun tag to play with!
    i see that you are a huge fan of horror movies. :p

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      yes…this is really, tho I dont think this is a tag, you can do it as you please.

      Horror and thiller are the kind of genre that makes my day…too bad, there arent many good horror and thriller movies out there 😦

  8. Custard
    April 14, 2011

    Hi Novroz!!

    Thanks so much for the links (both of them), means a lot.

    As Ruth said, lots of scary movies on there. Great choice of images too. I love getting to see a glimpse of people film taste. Brilliant.

    C

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      You’re welcome C 🙂

      Yeah I know. If Blairwitch Project doesn’t start with B,it would be in this list too…too bad I love Breakfast on Pluto more. Making this list makes me want to write my top-5 horror flicks

      • Custard
        April 15, 2011

        Do it Novroz, I guarantee I would NOT have seen any. I am soooo bad with Horror movies. I watch them from behind a pillow generally.

        C

        • Novroz
          April 15, 2011

          I’ll try to do it next month 😉
          You know, I love watching horror movies with someone who easily get scared…If you are in my country (at the same town) I would ask you to watch horror movies together

          • Custard
            April 15, 2011

            Yes, that would be me!! I am such a cry baby when it comes to horror. Some films I haven’t even got past the DVD menu screen!!!

          • Novroz
            April 15, 2011

            You are such perfect target for me 😉
            I used to bring horror DVD to school and showed it to my students, some are cry baby and screamed all the time…and that made me laugh (cruel teacher).

            I could never see horror movie in Cinema because all the screaming makes me laugh…I feel like watching comedy rather than Horror. I watch The Eye ALONE at night,gave the creep out of me, that’s the fun of horror movie 😉

  9. 3sna
    April 14, 2011

    omg… i think i have this type of post in my draft *hold on a sec, lemme check*
    yup!… i was planning on making this type of post last year! LOL LOL…
    gosh! how can i forget? shooo… well, thanks for reminding me, at least i got another post to finish… aah.. maybe tomorrow 😀
    Oh… i love rain in ninja assasin btw… cool bods! :mrgreen: and great movie!

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      I have the same problem,I often made draft for many post…but somehow I never finished them
      I hope you can finish your draft and share it with me 🙂

      Me too!!! Cool bods indeed

  10. Castor
    April 14, 2011

    Cool cinematic alphabet with a nice mix of movies Novroz! I might do one if I have time 🙂

    • Novroz
      April 14, 2011

      Do it Cas!! Looking forward to know your list as well as the rest of the gank in AM 🙂

    • scarletsp1der
      April 15, 2011

      Castor! I’m all for seeing a list from Captain America!

  11. Gnoe
    April 15, 2011

    Looks like real fun to do but I don’t have time for it! Waaaay behind on my to-do list 😦

    • Gnoe
      April 15, 2011

      Oh and yes, of course X is for X-Files! *The truth is out there*

      • Novroz
        April 15, 2011

        It is fun 🙂
        you should give it a try.

        There were talks about the third X Files movies,I don’t know if it will be made or not.The movie is not as great as the series tho

        • Gnoe
          April 16, 2011

          I agree. But it doesn’t matter if you watch them with a different mindset. I can actually laugh at them then. 😉

          • Novroz
            April 16, 2011

            Well…I will watch any X Files movie as long as they didn’t change the actors. I even read the book based on the series…I love The X files that much 🙂

  12. scarletsp1der
    April 15, 2011

    Wow, so as I said over on my page, you always have movies on your lists that I’ve never seen and that tend to intrigue me. Thanks for showing me some new ones. I actually haven’t seen 16 of your 26 picks! But, there is a lot of horror/suspense and I don’t normally spend too much time watching them. Your picks of Final Destination and Ninja Assassin made me scratch my head…but I was real glad to see you included The Village, Alien, and the King’s Speech!

    Nice work! I know it took some time to come up with a list!

    • Novroz
      April 16, 2011

      Well…Final Destination and Ninja Assassin are the kind of movie with bad or not so good story but they have interesting scenes. I really love the bloody scenes in those two movies. Blood and separated body parts are really cool (in movie,NOT in real life).

      Everybody said I have too many horror movie,I did a count and only came up with 2 movies,the Eye and Ringu…for me, horror means ghost. Blairwitch project almost made it into the list.

      Hard work indeed…but really fun 🙂

  13. dhitzunako
    April 16, 2011

    hm… District 9 isn’t on your list?
    I love your pick for E, L, R, T and Z. Those also entertain me.

    • Novroz
      April 16, 2011

      Whuaaaa….I completely forgot District 9!!! Making alphabet list is really difficult and tends to make me forgot certain movies. I love D-9 more than Deathnote.

  14. sara
    April 16, 2011

    I just watched Deathnote last night. It was the one from your movie review page. But the picture on this page, shows a cool lookin white monster also. The picture on this post looks coooler than the picture was on the one that I watched. Must be two versions of the movie. Ill have to keep an eye out for it. It was a good movies though. I like when he is having a tantrum because he wants an apple.

    • Novroz
      April 17, 2011

      the picture that shows Rem (the white monster) is from the second movie. The one you watch is the 1st one. This movie is 2parts.

      Rem is misa-misa’s monster.

      • Emily
        April 23, 2011

        “I like when he is having a tantrum because he wants an apple.”

        Now I so have to see this movie.

  15. leo
    April 19, 2011

    Seems the list of movies are attractied.
    Thanks ~~

  16. Emily
    April 23, 2011

    Oh my gosh! Some of my favorite movies on here!!! I absolutely love the Village, but I have to ask you a question. You see, when I first watched it in theaters, I could have sworn when she visits the Park Ranger’s office, she gets medicine AND *a pair of glasses*. But I watched it again recently and that is definitely not what happened. Did it happen in your version of the movie? I’m wondering if my imaginative ten-year-old mind decided that she should have gotten glasses and it never actually happened for real.

    • Novroz
      April 23, 2011

      Hmmm…I couldn’t remember the detail anymore.i have only seen it once. I remember the outline of the story but not the details anymore…sorry I couldn’t help to ease your mind.

  17. le0pard13
    April 23, 2011

    Wonderful list of films! Many that I admire and some I need to check out, Novroz. Ah… Ringu — one of the most chilling, slow-burn horror films. Always great to see Hot Fuzz and The Untouchables on the same list. I enjoyed reading this. Thanks.

    • Novroz
      April 24, 2011

      Thank you Leopard.
      Ringu had remain in my top list of fav horror movie for years. I am glad to know that many people seemed to like Hot Fuzz.

  18. Ronan
    May 8, 2011

    Hi Novia, great list, really diverse mix. I think after reading your choices I want to change some of mine. I

  19. Ronan
    May 8, 2011

    Sorry about that unfinished comment, got a bit carried away with my typing and word press told me off for “posting comments too quickly” 🙂 I was just going to say that I cant believe I forgot about The Matrix and although I love Madagascar if I had a redo on my list I would swap them around. I notice you have a couple of Cillian Murphy movies on here (hardly a surprise ;-). I ‘ve heard of Breakfast on Pluto (can’t believe that it is actually about the troubles in Northern Ireland (I think) but I’ve never heard of Peacock, what’s it about? I think I will ask Irina to get me Grave of the Fireflies for my Birthday, or just buy it with my Amazon voucher that I got for Easter.

    • Novroz
      May 8, 2011

      I also forgot some of my more favorite movies, if i can undo this, i would much prefer to put District-9 up there than death Note.

      Hehehe…it was a surprise to some people here that I ONLY have 3 Cillian’s movies in my list. They thought it would be more. Peacock was Cillian Murphy at his best! too bad the movie goes straight to DVD. He played a split personality character, one is a very shy man while the other is a controlling woman.

      Would love to know what you think of Grave of Fireflies. The saddest animation I have ever seen.
      to Irina, please buy him that DVD for his birthday so he can review it in his blog;)

      • Irina
        May 13, 2011

        We’ll see…. maybe if he behaves well 😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2011 by in Excessive Watcher.

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads