Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Waterboys (The Movie)

A Hilarious All Boys Synchronize Swimming Team

My 3rd time viewing and still made me laughing so loud


I have some movies stack on my shelf but all of them are serious movies. Lately, I am in the mood of watching something funny and since I don’t have any funny new movie, I decided to rewatch Waterboys – ウォーターボーイズ (a movie by Shinobu Yaguchi).

As most Japanese high school themed movies, Waterboys is not only entertaining but also gives some moral for the young generation who watch the movie. The moral isn’t as strong as the Dorama (Japanese TV Series) but you can still feel it.

Snapshot taken from http://www.goddesscarlie.com

Waterboys is centered upon 5 high school students who were tricked by a beautiful new teacher to join their school’s swimming team. The school is an all boys school, but the new teacher didn’t want to teach them to be a swimmer, she wanted to teach them synchronized swimming. All the boys who wanted to be in the team because of the teacher left the team immediately…all but 5 students.

From Left: Ohta, Kanazawa, Saotome, Sato, Suzuki

 

Suzuki (Satoshi Tsumabuki) as the leader is a failed swimmer, Sato (Hiroshi Tamaki) was thrown out of basketball team, Ohta (Akifumi Miura) wanted to build his muscle by joining the team, Saotome (Takatoshi Kaneko) joined because the boy he loved is in the team, and Kanazawa (Koen Kondo) was a mathematics genius. All these boys decided to stay.

Unfortunately, at the day they were going to rehearse…the teacher had to take a maternity leave. They were left all alone without any guidance. They decided to drop up because it was a humiliating idea, boys never performed synchronized swimming. But, somewhere along they hated being called as loser all the time…they came up to a final decision. They would perform at their school festival.

The comedy started from that decision.

They had to face some obstacles. Fortunately, they found help from an unexpected kind of man, a man whose early intention was to exploit them. How was their performance is something you have to see for yourself!  😉

This movie is alight movie that can easily entertained anyone who watch it…tho, I am a bit unsure about male audience as it shows a bunch of young boys dancing in their swimming pants. The comedy in this movie is a typical Japanese comedy, kinda like manga comedy. I laugh so hard at their first disaster performance.

Because the movie is only 90 minutes, we can’t see each character’s development as much as we wanted to. All the character are specified but not shown deeply. For a better character development, it would be much better to see the Dorama (I have reviewed them years ago but in my native language). The most interesting character of all are Sato and The Dolphin Trainer, these two are really crazy!  Don’t expect to see Hiroshi Tamaki acts as handsome and charismatic as his role in Nodame Cantabile. Satoshi Tsumabuki who plays as the central character is not interesting at all, his character is too weak to be a leader…but I can’t deny the fact that he is really kakkoi.

The moral of this movie is about being who you are despite the fact that people are laughing at you.

It’s not a great movie, I admit that, but it sure is an entertaining, funny, and enjoyable movie. I will definitely watch it again in the future.

Movie Details:

Director: Shinobu Yaguchi
Producer: Yoshino Sasaki, Daisuke Sekiguchi, Akifumi Takuma
Scriptwriter: Shinobu Yaguchi
Starring: Satoshi Tsumabuki, Hiroshi Tamaki, Akifumi Miura, Koen Kondo, Takatoshi Kaneko, Naoto Takenaka
Cinematography: Yuichi Nagata, Shinobu Yaguchi
Release date: 2001
Rating : 

 

Unfortunately,I couldn’t find the Japanese version trailer…so, I used the Korean version

 

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

11 comments on “Waterboys (The Movie)

  1. purisuka
    April 11, 2011

    aaah satoshi tsumabukiiiii~ pengen nontoooonn, tapi doramanya aja sampai sekarang belum kesampaian buat ditonton 😦

    • Novroz
      April 11, 2011

      Doramanya sih lebih gampang ditemuin. Movienya aga susah…tapi kalo DL mungkin ada.
      Movienya lebih lucu tapi doramanya lebih dalam karakternya

  2. Custard
    April 11, 2011

    This looks like fun! I have never heard of it but from your review I think I would really enjoy it!

    Thanks for sharing I will see if I can find it at my local store, or online. I need a good funny film

    C

    • Novroz
      April 12, 2011

      I think it’s easier to download it rather than finding the DVD.
      It’s not an easy movie to find. If you are looking for a laugh, this will definitly bring you laughter 🙂

  3. Caroline
    April 13, 2011

    I have never seen a Japanese comedy. It’s hard to find good comedies anyway. If I get a chnace to watch it, I will.

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2011

      There are a lot of Japanese comedy, most Dorama I like are comedy. They have the same sense of humour with Indonesian. I hope you can find your chance to see it

  4. DEZMOND
    April 13, 2011

    does this mean there’s lots of nakedness in the film? I’m already sold 🙂 Scantily clad Asians …. what’s not to like about it? 🙂

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2011

      ALMOST naked! They are wearing very small swimming suit 😉 PLUS they also dance in that suit.
      The movie has 2 advantages, interesting ‘view‘ and nice comedy.

      • DEZMOND
        April 13, 2011

        yep, and I think I would like that Suzuki guy most 🙂 Actually I’m Googling him right now 🙂

        • Novroz
          April 13, 2011

          Hehehe you have GOOD eyes! He is really cute in this movie. But,that Sato guy is also really cute…tho not for this role.

  5. Pingback: My All Time Favorite Dorama (ドラマ) – Japanese TV Series « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads