Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Best from Radiohead

Click this button to see my other top-5 list

Dhitzunako from Across Dhitzuniverse wrote a very interesting top-5 post. Because I share the same love toward the band she was talking about, I decided to do the same thing for this month’s top-5. She wrote her version of Top-5 Radiohead’s songs.

Do you recall these song titles: Creep, Fake Plastic Trees, High and Dry, and Paranoid Android? Do you recall Thom Yorke’s voice in your head singing those songs? Yup, yup, this time, I’d like to share my favorite songs from Radiohead. Radiohead is one of many bands from the land of England. Continue reading her list.

Writing top-5 songs from a favorite band is incredibly difficult, it is because each song has special meaning (That’s why I can’t never be able to write top-5 songs by L’Arc~en~Ciel).I have no problem choosing my top-3 from Radiohead because I love those 3 things above all their songs. The problem is choosing the top 4 and 5 song that I love from RH.

Here’s a little excerpt from my Top-5 British Bands which I wrote back in November 2010:

Radiohead is an extremely unique band. I know that not many people can easily accept their concept of music. They are incredible brilliant. They mixed unimaginable sounds into their songs. Listening to In Rainbow is both enjoyable and bizarre. People accepted Creep easily because it was such an easy listening song, but as Radiohead get older their music become more difficult to handle. Their uniqueness is the reason why I like this band. My current favorite song is 15 Steps.

Now…it’s time to share my top-5 songs by Radiohead:

Cover of "The Best of"

#5 Faust Arp

Faust Arp sounds a bit monotonous but somehow it had put a charm on me. The guitar, the string and Yorke’s voice all mix beautifully and sometime I feel like I don’t want the song to end. This song is from In Rainbow (I have written about the album 2 years ago)

#4 Climbing The Walls.

This is a high tempo song that defies RH as a rock band. The moment I heard the song, it straight away reminds of songs in the olden rock days. This song is really fun and makes my heart want to dance following the beat of the song. The song is closed in Led Zeppelin style…well at least how I fell when listening to the guitar right before the song is ended.

#3 No Surprise

No surprises is a beautiful song that never bored me out. This song can make my heart smile. The music might sound so simple with its piano and small percussions but they are such great accessories to Yorke’s melodious voice. I fell in love with this song since the first time I heard it.

#2 15 Steps

15 steps is an unusual song but it is also unusually entertaining. I really like the sound of the percussion and the bass in this song. I love their performance with a group of marching band as in Grammy Award, it made me love this song even more. I consider this song as a cheerful song in Radiohead style.

#1 Street Spirit

I love love love this song very much. I love it from the moment I first heard the music and saw the video. The music and the video make such a beautiful combination. When I heard Creep, High and Dry and even Karma Police… I like the songs but not the band itself. Street Spirit song is the one that made me like Radiohead as a band. Yorke’s voice when singing this song really touches my heart. I once saw their acoustic live performance video of this song…and it was freaking beautiful.

Those are my most favorite songs by Radiohead…if you like Radiohead, I would love to know your top-5 version of Radiohead songs.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

15 comments on “The Best from Radiohead

  1. nuzul
    April 7, 2011

    Picking your favorite Radiohead is like asking a father whose his favorite child is hahahah. It’s hard to choose lol. Anyway, here’s mine

    5. Airbag
    Why use drugs when you can listen to Radiohead? the unusual bass and drum beats, and Yorke’s drug induced like voice makes you high

    4. There There
    One of two songs that made Yorke cried when he heard the mixed version. His voice is so emotional in this one

    3. All I Need
    I love the production sound on In Rainbows. It’s like they’re playing in this empty yet small, dark room And you can feel every bitterness. and it really shows here.

    2. Fake Plastic Trees
    I can’t describe this song. Yorke’s voice is very depressive here, and it has the gloomiest lyric mankind has ever written. “If i could be…who you wanted…all the time…all the time” …..beautiful.

    1. Everything In It’s Right Place
    From the piano lick, Yorke’s voice , this song is focking aamazing. Really love the ending when Yorke’s voice suddenly stops like he’s being swallowed by a machine.

    • Novroz
      April 8, 2011

      Hahaha that’s a good line 😉 but that’s an easy task, I can pick my favorite turtle out of my 2 turtles 😉
      But I understand what you mean…I can’t pick 5 songs out of 200 Laruku’s songs.

      Ah…yes Air bag is fun. I don’t think I have heard there there. I like All I need as well, nice song.
      I was about to put Fake Plastic tree in my list but my number 4 & 5 beat it…it would be in my 6th.

      Thank you for sharing your list Nuzul…I knew you would write something here 😉
      You love them too much

  2. dhitzunako
    April 8, 2011

    @nuzul Ah.. Airbag saves my life. Lagu pembuka yg keren dari OK Computer, kan?
    @Novroz: Waaa mang beda bangeeet pilihannya ma gue…^^ thx 4 sharing Nov. 🙂

    • Novroz
      April 8, 2011

      Hehe iya nih…Tapi emang RH banyak yang bagus jadi cenderung beda2 deh favoritenya.
      Thx for starting it 🙂

  3. nuzul
    April 8, 2011

    @dhitzunako : yep. Pas lirik “in an instertellar burst, I’m back to save the universe” Yorke bernyanyi dengan suara angkuh dan sinis, seakan mereka tahu kalau dengan album ini mereka akan membawa rock kembali ke derajatnya dan menjadi inspirasi untuk Muse, Coldplay, Keane dll

  4. nuzul
    April 8, 2011

    @miss novroz = You haven’t heard There There? Holy molly, well you should hear the song. Yeah i love this band too much lol. Anyway, you MUST see Radiohead’s new video called Lotus Flower.

    • Novroz
      April 8, 2011

      Yeah I am bit behind on their new stuff. Will try to find it in youtube once my computer is fixed.
      This computer cannot produce sound 😦
      Watching youtube without sound is not fun at all

  5. Custard
    April 8, 2011

    I am embarassed to say that I am not very good with Radiohead. I only really know Creep.

    Sorry. As a Brit I really should know more!!

    I will do some studying and get back to you

    C

    • Novroz
      April 8, 2011

      Don’t force yourself C , RH songs aren’t easy to accept, I know a lot of people who only know Creep.

      Since you are a Brit… I should tell you that I love bands from British more than US. You guys have the BEST bands in the world through out many generations

      • Custard
        April 8, 2011

        Thats very kind of you N, I wish I had something to do with it 🙂

        We do have a great history of producing some amazing rock and alternative music.

        C

        • Novroz
          April 8, 2011

          I couldn’t agree more!!
          From The Beatles era to Muse era…so many amazing bands that never bored me out.

  6. Caroline
    April 9, 2011

    I love Street Spirit but I also like Creep a lot. I can never do top 5s. Too hard to choose.

    • Novroz
      April 10, 2011

      I understand, choosing a top 5 songs of any band that we love is really difficult

  7. Pingback: 5 Bands – Concert – I Want To See Before I Die « Polychrome Interest

  8. Pingback: 5 Super Addictive Slow Music | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2011 by in Excessive Listener and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads