Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

彼方から (Kanata Kara) – My Number One Shoujo Manga

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Can you see it. This is the world of light. Everything has become one in light. I entered the world of light and I found you.
Do you understand? We are the world of light. This is what we have been searching for. I feel a gentle energy that embraces everything. And this energy can be felt anywhere anytime as long as you open yourself to it”

Kanata Kara by Kyoko Hikawa has been my most favorite Shoujo Manga since early 90s till today and I know it will stay as my most favorite for years to come.

Kanata Kara is the only shoujo manga that can come close to shounen manga. Hikawa can beautifully mix love story with interesting adventure and great fighting scenes, she also put some good moral in it.

You can read this manga in Manga Reader.net, all the pictures in this review is taken from that site … but I didn’t read it from that site, I borrowed it from my best friend (The one who drew my sweet KameChan). I wish the publisher republish this manga so that I can collect them myself. The translation for names in the Indonesian version and the English version is a bit different and I am going to use the Indonesian Translation.

The story is basically about good versus evil, just like most fantasy books. A high school girl named Noriko Tachiki never realized that she was destined to have a great role in the world beyond her real world. When a bomb blew up near her, she was thrown to the other world. The moment she fell into the world, all the oracles informed their master that The Awakening had arrived. All the country in that world wanted to get their hand on Noriko. The prophecy said that she will be the key that will awaken The Sky Demon and whoever owns her will have control on the Sky Demon.

Noriko fell into a forest full of dangerous monsters. A mysterious man named Izaku Kia Tarj (in the English version: Izark KiaTarj) came and helped her out of the forest. He did it not because of good intention; he wanted to kill her before armies from other countries came to claim her. Doubt came into him when he saw that the Awakening was nothing but a little girl. He ended up saving her and made Noriko felt strongly attached to him. Without knowing who Izaku really was, Noriko put all her trust on him along with part of her heart.

Izaku who had been a loner since he was very young, even his parents denied his existence, decided to left Noriko under Garya’s care, a warrior woman who once taught him to play sword. But, his heart is no longer as lonely as before, without realizing it he kept on thinking about Noriko’s wellbeing. And to his surprise, he could clearly hear Noriko’s voice when she was in trouble and started calling his name. When they focused on each other, they could even see each other no matter how far apart they were.

 

Noriko’s love for Izaku was put into test when she finally saw who Izaku really was. Izaku turned into the Sky Demon right in front of her eyes, and yet Noriko didn’t want him to left her, for her it didn’t matter what Izaku was because she knew he was a good man. It took Izaku longer time to fully realize how he felt about Noriko. He knew he loved her but he couldn’t reply her love because of who he was. On the day when he almost lost her, he knew he couldn’t live without her.

The love story between Noriko and Izaku is so sweet, I love seeing how caring Izaku is even before he realize his feeling. The sweetness of their love makes me wishing for someone like him. Izaku is not the talking type man but we can see clearly how big his love for Noriko is. Noriko is a nice girl with strong heart. She knows she is not a strong girl but she want to help anyone with her own power. Noriko unabashedly shows all her love toward Izaku. All I can say is I love seeing this couple. Hikawa really has a way in creating sweet relationship.

Apart from their love story, Kanata Kara also offered political issues between countries in this imaginary world. Almost all the countries were influence by the bad darkness that surrounded their countries right after The Awakening arrived at their world. Good politician were driven away from their country. People started having monstrous power. Strong people wanted to be much stronger than they already were. Noriko and Izaku’s biggest enemy was Rachef and his entourages. His master needed The Sky Demon to get back into the world while Rachef wanted Noriko to give him the power that she had given to Izaku.

But the world is not only filled with darkness, there were also light coming from people’s heart. Noriko and Izaku found people who accepted them even though they knew that they were the Awakening and The Sky Demon. Those people helped them a lot. At time of danger, the spirit of Asayuge Tree, Irkutsk, along with the spirits of Shiragiri forest helped them escape from the dark hand of Rachef.

The funniest part of this manga is when they arrived at Irbisk village where the people are so pure. They had no bad intention toward other people. What made me laugh throughout their stay in Irbisk is the people’s behavior, all the people in the village were gossipers, when they saw Noriko, Izaku and Doros, and they started making stories about them. The story kept on changing all the time. It wasreally hilarious seeing those vilagers.

Hikawa also creates cute animals to go along with the story. One of the cutest and most valuable creature is Chimo. Chimo can help people to jump to other places in a second. All they have to do is putting one Chimo on their shoulder and think of the place or a person they want to go to. They could jump at least 5 km, but if they do a synchronize jump they could jump farther than 5km.

Overall, Kanata Kara is an amazing manga that had captured my heart for years. It’s the kind of manga that made me want to read it again the minute I finished reading it. It’s a light reading with messages of good heart spread around the story. I really love this manga. I know I will read this manga again in the near future. The good thing about manga is, it doesn’t need a lot of time to do a reread 😉

Scenes from Kanata Kara

Manga Detail:

Title: 彼方から (in English:  From Far Away;  in Indonesian: Dream World)
Author: Kyoko Hikawa
Volume: 14 (From 1992 to 2002)
Language: Indonesian (Original: 日本語)
Rating:
Challenge: Manga Challenge 2011, Once Upon of Time V

 

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

20 comments on “彼方から (Kanata Kara) – My Number One Shoujo Manga

  1. sakura
    April 4, 2011

    I think the difference between shounen and shoujo manga is that the former focusses more on action and the latter on love. I’m reading a lot more shonen manga these days compared to when I was younger and was obsessed with shoujo manga. I read this many years ago when one of my friends recommended and sent me the whole series:) I really enjoyed it and I thought the love story was very sweet.

    • Novroz
      April 4, 2011

      I agree with your definition on Shoujo and shounen manga and that’s why I like shounen manga much more than shoujo even when I was still a teenager. Adventure always entertain me more than love. That’s also the reason why Kanata Kara is my number one Shoujo manga, even though the basic story is about Noriko and Izaku’s love but Hikawa also delivered adventure and lots of fighting scenes.

      One thing about Hikawa’s works is that she keeps on making sweet love story, not a cheesy one like most shoujo manga I saw nowadays.

      I read this manga for the first time in 1992…but rereading manga is one of my usual yearly activity.

  2. Caroline
    April 4, 2011

    This sounds really lovely. Thanks for the link. I doubt I would be able to order it. I like the idea with the animals but the love story sounds nice as well, not cheesy at all. Something looks familiar though, has it never been a movie?

    • Novroz
      April 5, 2011

      Not that I know of. Beside, I don’t think I want to see it either if this ever been filmed, I can’t think of anyone who can play as Izaku.
      All the animals in this manga are so cute. The horse and the dragon have cute big round eyes.

      Tell me how you feel about Kanata Kara when you finally have time to read it 🙂

      • Caroline
        April 5, 2011

        I meant it was an anime. I checked and saw that the English can be ordered on amazo.co.uk and isn’t too expensive. 5 £ each (some 7 dollars)

        • Novroz
          April 5, 2011

          Cheaper than Rose of Versailles…but my advice is,you read the online manga first, just the first volume and if you like it then you buy it 😉
          I said this because some people find it a bit difficult to accept Manga.

  3. lifewith4cats
    April 5, 2011

    This sounds really cool!!!! Its gonna be my first manga thanks to your link above. Ill have to wait for the weekends though to read. I like when evil characters become good characters because of pure love.

    • Novroz
      April 5, 2011

      If you like that kind of characters, then you’ll love this Manga 😉
      They are so sweet…they show their love through their actions rather than words.

      Looking forward to know your opinion on Kanata Kara 🙂
      Btw,you read the manga from right to left, not left to right like western comic/graphic novel.

  4. Michelle
    April 8, 2011

    I looove this book too! I read it when I was younger.. it was my sister’s 🙂 I read both indonesian gramedia and english online version.. there were some difference with names due to different translation but overall, it’s pretty much the same.. I’ve also finished re-reading the book last month and I began to understand more things now that my brain is..um, more mature.. than when i was,like, 8 years old or something..
    it still makes me happy 🙂
    Have you read her latest manga? It’s still ongoing but it’s based on older japanese era.. kind of like Inuyasha..with monks and spirits..i forgot the title.. I like that one too 🙂 you can see similarity with faces of the characters when you see them..

    • Novroz
      April 8, 2011

      This is also my reread and it still makes me happy 🙂
      I really wish they would republish it one day, I want to own it my self. Elex had been making a lot of Delux edition, I hope they do a delux on this too.

      I know that manga…I also forgot the title. I saw it in Goodreads.com, too bad I missed it when the manga was published 😦 , it was because I rarely paid attention on shoujo manga shelf anymore because nowadays shoujo manga is not interesting.

      • mattari
        October 19, 2012

        Hello. Hikawa’s latest manga you are talking about must be “Otogi Moyou Aya Nishiki” and its sequel “Otogi Moyou Aya Nishiki — Futatabi”.

        • Novroz
          October 20, 2012

          hi Mattari 🙂
          Have you read the manga? is it good?

          • mattari
            October 26, 2012

            It’s good, though I like From Far Away much better, maybe three times better 😀 I read it in Japanese, but I guess there may be a fan scanlation somewhere.

          • Novroz
            October 26, 2012

            Are you Japanese?
            I would love to read Kanata Kara in Japanese but the library (Japan Foundation Library) doesn’t have its Japanese version 😦

  5. purisuka
    April 11, 2011

    baru baca volume satunya aja. itu pun udah lama jadi udah agak lupa lagi ceritanya. pengen banget baca tapi di lapak komik bekas langganan saya gak pernah ada 😦

    btw, kalo saya shoujo manga nomor satu di hati saya *alah* itu Fruits Basket. udah baca? recommended banget 🙂

    • Novroz
      April 11, 2011

      Baca sih belum tapi dah pernah nntn animenya.
      Hehe buat saya, furaba aga kurang adventurous.

  6. zhang yu li
    June 10, 2013

    kanata kara is my favourite manga too.
    Btw,if you like kyoko hikawa, you can read miriam. (i dont know english version).
    The manga took place on western, when coboy, sherrif is common. Its about miriam an 8 years old tomboy girl, with douglas (17 years old).
    This story was funny, adventurous too, there is shooting, robbing, amnesia, and of course love. This comic makes me fall in love with sensei kyoko hikawa, and make me collect her comic.
    This comic series is draw by kyoko hikawa too..but this is more like shounen manga,
    my manga is burried in stack of plastic container.so i dont have time to open and looking for their japanese title..
    So i just write in indonesia title version ok..
    – mr.friday
    – pastel mood
    – golden book
    – angin musim gugur
    – dibalik jendela putih
    – girls
    – harmony
    And there is also a sequel comic , after “miriam”. ( I forget the title..maybe: romantic story.)sorry , cant remember.
    If you want a shounen like manga, i recomend miriam and the sequel.
    If you like funny love story then you can read : this 3 manga..
    Angin musim gugur, pastel mood anda golden book is about chizumi and fujiomi. Its makes me laugh when i read it.even after i read it so many times.
    Girls and mr friday, and “di balik jendela putih ” is pure shoujo manga.
    Harmony seems being draw in her early career. So, it does not as very good as others kyoko manga.
    but yeah. It still good to read for shoujo lovers. 🙂

    • Novroz
      June 10, 2013

      Hehehe I have read them all 🙂
      Kyoko is one of my fav mangaka. I wish for new manga from her.

      Thank you for listing all her Manga, Zhang yu li 🙂

  7. Katya
    April 6, 2016

    I’ve read the whole story and love it. I’m currently rereading it and looking for other great mangas like this one and when I looked, I saw Red River and Ouke no Monshou. They are both good as well however RR has mature content that I tend to dislike and ONM doesn’t have some chapters translated/ uploaded. I would like a recommendation on what I should read next (that is similar to KK )

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads