Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – March

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. This event is hosted by Sheila of Book Journey.

It has been such along time since I did my last It’s  Monday post, it was on January 3, 2011 on my other blog.

I decided to do regular post for this  meme but not as a weekly meme, this will be a monthly meme.I want to keep my track on what I have been reading in a month and the possibility of what I will read next month.

I am going to do this meme every 3rd or 4th week of each month.

This month, I have finished 2 books and 1 manga consist of 10 volumes.

Shame in Blood is written by Tetsuo Miura.

The blurb is very promising but the story itself is not as interesting as I expected it to be.

It was about a man who felt  ashamed of his bloodline. He thought his family was cursed.

A whisper Softly is written by Nicholas Jobe.

This book hasn’t been published yet. I was very impressed with Nick’s book called Shelter (also unpublished), shelter was very powerful. Because of Shelter, I want to read more books by him.

He  kindly sent mean other book titled A Whisper  Softly, a story about  3 people sharing  their story in order  to reveal the hidden place of an abducted boy.

I like the book but not as  much as I love Shelter.

Rose of Versailles is a manga written by Riyoko Ikeda.

This manga is a historical fiction about French Revolution.The main characters are Marie Antoinette and Oscar (a woman  raised like a man and become the commander of French Royal Army)

Let’s just put excerpt from my review to show how much I like this manga

Rose of Versailles is definitely, by no argument at all, the most beautiful Shojo Manga I have ever read. I don’t mind a bit reading the excessive love story throughout all 10 volumes of this manga. This manga has powerful story and the characters are all well built, it was no surprise to know that a lot of Japanese Kids started asking their history teacher whether Oscar really exist in the history or not. Continue reading…

Now, let’s talk about what I am reading now!

I am reading The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown.

Despite the fact that everyone kept saying he was not a good writer,but I couldn’t escape his charm in making interesting  story. I really like The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons, tho I don’t like his earlier works.

He is never going to be my favorite author but I still enjoy his works. I hope I will also like this one.

What will I read next month?

Talking about what I will read after The Lost Symbol is a bit difficult, I usually made plans I couldn’t keep when it relates to to-read books.

So far, these are the books I am planning to read next:

So… what do read this Monday?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – March

  1. parrish
    March 21, 2011

    Just finished, The Dream Life of Sukhanov by Olga Grushin, a really beautiful haunting tale & before that ,Autofiction by Hitomi Kanehara, which was disturbing, angry, but really good.

    • Novroz
      March 21, 2011

      I am curious with the dream life…I will definitely check your review once you’ve posted it.
      I never heard of Hitomi Kanehara before. What’s Autofiction, Parish?

  2. Leeswammes
    March 21, 2011

    1984, I should read it. I think I read it years ago but I can’t remember it now. I hope you like it a lot. Dan Brown is always good reading, of course.

    Have a great month!

    • Novroz
      March 21, 2011

      I hope so too Judith…I have heard a lot about 1984. I try not to make any expectation on it, so that my judgment won’t be clouded.

  3. S. Le
    March 21, 2011

    Love this idea!

    I’m currently reading through the Hamish McBeth series written by MC Beaton. My favourite author is Michael Connelly but I’ve been taking a break from his novels which involve rather serious murders, etc. Within the last 2 months I’ve also read 3 books by David Sedaris and a fab book called “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian.” I’ve read everything from Katie Fforde and am waiting for the latest by Celia Ahren and Mark Billingham.

    I read all the time which is why I’m not working on my own novel. *sigh*

    • S. Le
      March 21, 2011

      I rarely read anything very serious because I’m reading for entertainment, not education. I’m quite clever enough. lol

    • Novroz
      March 21, 2011

      Thank you for all those authors you have mentioned S.Le …more reference for me 🙂
      I also read ALL the time, but I am such a slow reader, I hardly able to read more than 1 book a week.

      *High five* I also read for entertainment.

  4. laurelrainsnow
    March 21, 2011

    Thanks for sharing your books…hope you enjoy them all, and I’m glad you could stop by my blog.

    • Novroz
      March 21, 2011

      Fortunately, I enjoy them all…If I didn’t I would have stop reading it. I never finished book I don’t enjoy.
      Thank you for visiting Laurel

  5. gautami tripathy
    March 21, 2011

    You read some great books! Look forward to read your reviews! As usual, for the some weeks, I got none!

    Here is my Monday: Mailbox/What Are You Reading?/Musings post!

  6. JoV
    March 22, 2011

    I will be interested to know what you think about The Temple of the Golden Pavilion. One of my favourites. I hope you like it!

    • Novroz
      March 22, 2011

      I hope so too.
      In Goodreads, the review on the book is quite a mix, It makes me wonder in which group I’ll be. But I won’t read it right after my current book because it’s time for Stephen King.

  7. Caroline
    March 22, 2011

    I wonder if you will like Dan Brown. I read one of his books and found it very boring. I think it was The Davinci Code. I read The Temple of the Golden Pavilion years ago. It did impress me.
    Btw I also bought that book that Parris mentions. I read very good reviews.

    • Novroz
      March 22, 2011

      On contrary, I really like The Da Vinci Code. The story wasn’t that great but I fell in love with his villain character, Silas. He even made it into my favorite characters of all time http://wp.me/p8wsz-1jA

      Really? that’s really good,now I can read 2 review to compare whether I should find it or not. The word ‘haunting’ really intrigued me.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2011 by in Bookish Memes, Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads