Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Indonesia Banget #8 : Traditional Houses

Click the button to see more post on Indonesia Banget

How many traditional houses do you have in your country?

As an Indonesian I can proudly say that Indonesia has so many traditional houses. We have different types of traditional houses in every province.

For this month’s Indonesia Banget, I decided to show of Indonesian Traditional Houses. Traditional house is called Rumah Adat (Rumah = house; Adat= traditional). I chose this topic because I went to Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (Rough translation: Small Garden of Beautiful Indonesia), TMII is a big museum that consist of ALL Indonesian traditional. They built a lot of traditional houses to represent (almost) all provinces in Indonesia.

I couldn’t take all the houses’ picture because I had such a limited time, but at least you can have a glimpse of how rich Indonesian traditional houses are.

This is Indonesian map,we have 33 provinces from Sumatra (the island on the left) to Papua (The Island on the right)

Here are the houses I have captured

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are some of the names of Indonesian traditional houses (Information taken from Home Decorating Interior) :

Nanggro Aceh Darussalam = Rumoh Aceh
North Sumatra = Rumah Balai Batak Toba, Rumah Adat Batak Karo, Bolon
Riau = Rumah Melayu Selaso Jatuh Kembar
Jambi = Rumah Panggung
South Sumatra = Rumah Limas
Lampung = Rumah Nuwo Sesat
Bengkulu = Rumah bubungan lima
DKI Jakarta = Rumah Kebaya
West Java = Rumah Kesepuhan
Middle Java = Rumah joglo
DI Yogyakarta = Rumah Joglo
East Java = Rumah joglo
Bali = Gapura candi bentar
West Nusa Tenggara = Dalam Loka Samawa
East Nusa Tenggara = Sao Ata Mosa Lakitana
West Kalimantan  = Rumah Panjang
South Kalimantan = Rumah Banjar
East Kalimantan Timur = Rumah lamin
Sumbawa – Sasak
North Sulawesi = Rumah Bolaang Mongondow
Middle Sulawesi = Souraja / Rumah Besar, Malige
Southeast Sulawesi = Laikas
South Sulawesi = Tongkonan
Maluku = Baileo
Irian Jaya / Papua = Rumah honai, Rumah Kariwari

Previous posts in Indonesia Banget:

  1. 17 Agustusan (Independence Day’s Celebration )
  2. Mudik (Going back to the Village)
  3. Bedong (The art of wrapping the infant)
  4. Malam Bainai (a Minang tradition on the  night before the wedding)
  5. Kerokan (One of many Indonesian traditional folk-cures)
  6. Topeng Monyet (Traditional Monkey Circus)
  7. Death Ceremonies


About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

13 comments on “Indonesia Banget #8 : Traditional Houses

  1. lifewith4cats
    March 17, 2011

    wow those are so interesting. I wish I could learn how they build stuff like that. Every house is a work of art and even has spirit. I love all the carvings and colors. 🙂

    • Novroz
      March 17, 2011

      I wish I know how to build them too…it takes years to build the ones with a lot of carving.
      It has spirit because each has story behind their shape. The story I know the most is Rumah Gadang (from West Sumatra), the roof looks like buffalo horns because of an old tale about a baby buffalo that easily defeated a grown buffalo.

      • lifewith4cats
        March 19, 2011

        wow, thats just what I mean. Since you are a fellow bookworm, if you ever happen to come across books that tell these type of history myths (in english) Ill be glad to follow up on any recomended reading. When people visit other countries they always want to see the ‘famous’ tourist stuff. I am complete opposite of that and always want to know what life would be like through the eyes of a local.

        • Novroz
          March 19, 2011

          Hmmm… you have just given me an idea 😉
          I will try to share some legend from my country in my Indonesia Banget Post. I will try to write the first fairytale/legend next month

  2. Leeswammes
    March 17, 2011

    Those houses are all very interesting and special, and mostly beautiful too. Indonesia is so big! It covers such a wide area so I’m not surprised that the houses differ so much. Also, of course, because there are so many islands, so people were a bit isolated and formed their own culture, different from the next island.

    • Novroz
      March 17, 2011

      You’re right Judith 🙂
      Being an archipelago country plays a big part in creating wide culture diversity in Indonesia, each island has different culture and therefore has different house type. The ones in the same Island, although they are different, they still have some similarities.

  3. Caroline
    March 17, 2011

    Extremely beautiful houses, so much detail. We have a few traditional houses in central Switzerland and we also have a museum like this where you can see the types in the open. You can click on “Häuser” (houses) and then on the regions “Jura”, “Berner Mittelland”. But also on “Tiere” (animals)… A little trip to Switzerland in exchange and as a thank you. 🙂

    http://www.ballenberg.ch/

    • Novroz
      March 17, 2011

      Thank you so much for the link Caroline. What a nice cultural exchange 🙂
      Those houses look great, I will take a better look on weekend, today I came home really late and have no time to turn on my computer…images in mobilephone is so tiny…but I can see how nice they look like. It was also made of wood, right?

      • Caroline
        March 18, 2011

        It’s actually funny, I just clicked the link from here and it goes automatically to the English site and not the German one that I access from my home. Yes, many of the traditional houses are made of wood as well.

        • Novroz
          March 19, 2011

          I’ve looked around the site, I like the Bernese Midlands house the most. It looks so unique and comfortable.
          Maybe the link switch automatically because it is clicked from Asian I.P…but I’m not too sure.

  4. sofia
    August 17, 2011

    thanks i wrote my report on your info

    • Novroz
      August 18, 2011

      You’re welcome. I’m glad my post help you

  5. TBM
    June 11, 2013

    They are all beautiful and I love the attention to detail. We saw several traditional houses in Malaysia, but didn’t have enough time to explore all the different styles.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2011 by in Indonesia Banget and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads