Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday

undefined

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I finally read To Kill a Mocking Bird, a book loved by so many people.

So  far, I’m enjoying it.

My teaser is from page 212

Mr. X Billups rode by a mule and wave to us. “He’s a funny man,” said Jem. “X’s his name, not his initial. He was in court onetime and they asked him his name. He said X Billups. Clerk asked him to spell it and he said X. Asked him again and he said X. They kept at it till he wrote X on a sheet of paper and held it up for everybody to see. They asked him where he got his name and he said that”s the way his folks signed him up when he was born.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

30 comments on “Teaser Tuesday

  1. Jennifer
    February 15, 2011

    Ah a flashback to my teenage years. Excellent book and teaser choice. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/02/teaser-tuesdays-the-singing-and-dancing-daughters-of-god.html

  2. Bluestocking
    February 15, 2011

    I still haven’t read this.

    Here is mine

  3. Yvonne
    February 15, 2011

    Hi Novroz,

    This is one of those books that I am ashamed to say that I still haven’t read, although a copy of it has been sat on my shelves for many years.

    You picked some great teaser lines and they may just spur me on to dig out my copy and take another look at it.

    Thanks for stopping by my site, it’s always great to meet new people.

    • Novroz
      February 15, 2011

      Hi Yvonne ,
      I hope you’ll pick it up one day…it’s quite good,I couldn’t say great yet because I haven’t finished it.
      That’s what teaser tuesday for,to meet new people 🙂

  4. Playing Librarian
    February 15, 2011

    I feel guilty for not reading this yet 😦

  5. The Social Frog
    February 15, 2011

    I still have not read this book yet. Great teaser.

  6. Novroz
    February 15, 2011

    Playing Library and Social Frog , Hope you’ll have a chance to read it soon 🙂

  7. jacintah
    February 15, 2011

    This was a high school required read for me but I think I will pop it on my TBR list again to be reminded of what a fantastic book it is.

    here is my TT

  8. laurelrainsnow
    February 15, 2011

    I read this one a few months ago…LOVED it! Great teaser, too. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  9. Novroz
    February 15, 2011

    Jacintah & Laurel I’m glad you too love the book. I’ll probably finish it tomorrow and see if I like it or Love it

  10. linashaik
    February 15, 2011

    You know, I’ve been planning to read this book for the longest time ever but it’s currently collecting dust on my bookshelf *shame*. Great Teaser though and thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • Novroz
      February 15, 2011

      Hope you’ll get it off your shelf soon 🙂
      It took 5 months for me to pick it up from my shelf

  11. Chrissy
    February 15, 2011

    To kill a Mockingbird is one of my all time favorites…. Great teaser

    Here is Mine: http://chrissysworldofbooks.blogspot.com/2011/02/teaser-tuesday-what-are-you-reading_15.html

    • Novroz
      February 15, 2011

      Thank you 🙂
      You have an intriguing teaser. I couldn’t say it in your blog, your comment form is not working well in my computer 😦

  12. Harvee/Book Bird Dog
    February 15, 2011

    I’ve read this a couple of times and seen the film a few times too. Good one. Here’s my tease: I Love a Broad Margin

    • Novroz
      February 15, 2011

      I’m planning to find the movie after I finish the book

  13. wakela
    February 15, 2011

    I haven’t read this book in ages. Great TT from it!

    Mine is up at my site.

    Wakela’s World – Tuesday Teaser

  14. Alice Audrey
    February 15, 2011

    I really have got to read that.

    Imagine having no real name all your life.

  15. Sally
    February 15, 2011

    Great teaser!
    I love To Kill A Mockingbird. It’s one of my all time favourite books.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/02/teaser-tuesday-6.html

  16. Nadea Ruzmen
    February 16, 2011

    Oh, I really love this book. And the movie was great too.

  17. Amy
    February 16, 2011

    A poignant teaser and an interesting one for this wonderful book. Its themes are so many and so universal.
    I’m glad you’re enjoying it!

    Amy’s Tuesday teaser

  18. kaye
    February 16, 2011

    I loved this book–great teaser. Kaye—the road goes ever ever on

  19. Jess
    February 16, 2011

    I need to read this book already!!

    Hope you get a chance to stop by Gone with the Words for this week’s Teaser Tuesday!

  20. Katie
    February 16, 2011

    To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favorites!!!
    Thanks for stopping by!
    Katie @ Novel Society

  21. faye
    February 16, 2011

    I always envied Scout having such a good brother–let alone having such a great father in Atticus. Sometimes I feel that I’ve missed out by not reading so many of the great classics. Wish I’d been more selective in my reading choices.

    Thanks for stopping by Summit Musings . I’ve been trying to think of books that feature turtles–no luck. I did see a Globe Trekker program Sunday night where the tour guide got up before dawn to see these wonderful, huge–almost pre-historic- sea turtles come up on the beach and lay her eggs.

    • Novroz
      February 16, 2011

      I feel the same as you, Scout is so lucky!! I really like Atticus and it would be great to have a father like him, not that I complained about my own father.

      Someone told me there is a book called Timothy”s book,about a turtle but couldn’t find it yet. Maybe I should write a book on turtles 😉
      I envy you…I have never seen sea-turtles laying their egg tho I’ve seen my own turtle laid eggs last year.

  22. VioletCrush
    February 16, 2011

    I have tried reading this book a few years back but couldn’t get into it. May be I should try again. Great teaser.

    • Novroz
      February 16, 2011

      You should try it again Violet 😉
      I know I am not going to say that this is a great book … but I think it is a nice read

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2011 by in Bookish Memes and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads