Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday – Shelter

undefined

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I am currently reading an unpublished book called Shelter, written by Nicholas Jobe who happens to be a fellow movie blogger I met in Anomalous Material, a place where movie blogger mingle. Nick’s blog is Random Ramblings of a Demented Doorknob

He had written 8 novels and some novellas but none has been published yet. When I read his movie pitch, an adaptation of his own novel…I was so fascinated by the story and asked him to send it to me. He kindly sent it to me by email.

I have just finished it , and I’m loving it. It’s a shame that the book hasn’t had a chance to be published yet. It was really good. I would have written my review if my computer wasn’t being repaired.

Blurb

a blood-soaked girl shows up at a police station requesting to speak with a specific detective—who doesn’t even know who she is—and he must figure out what happened to her and her family. They were supposedly trapped in an old bomb shelter by a demon, but was it really supernatural forces, or was it something more logical hiding behind the curtain?

The story was divided into 2 times, the past and the present. I am going to share 2 teasers to represent each time

Since the book has no page number, I will only write which chapter it came from

Chapter 6

Aidyn and Scout were near banshees, while their father and Hackett stood back in uncertainty of what they have just witnessed. Mary reached out for them with a shaking arm. The two men ran toward her, but she was wrenched further into the dark wood by some invincible force.

Chapter 11

“What the fuck,” he said slowly. He spun around the girl, who was looking right at him. “Tell me you saw that.”

I was tempted to share the bloody teaser but changed my mind because it was too graphic for some people.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

20 comments on “Teaser Tuesday – Shelter

  1. Alice Audrey
    February 8, 2011

    Sounds like it wasn’t “something more logical” heh heh.

    My teaser is here.

    • Novroz
      February 8, 2011

      Hehe..yes, it wasn’t logical

  2. Jennifer
    February 8, 2011

    Fabulous teasers this sounds wonderful. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/02/teaser-tuesday-indefensible.html

  3. Great teasers! I always love to read multiple teasers from the same book!

    Sorry to hear about your computer – hopefully it will come back better than ever very soon.

    🙂 Here’s my Teaser! ~ Wendi

    • Novroz
      February 8, 2011

      Thank you for the concern, I hope so too.

  4. Marg
    February 8, 2011

    Thanks for sharing your story about how you came to choose your teasers.

    Here is my teaser for this week.

  5. The Bookish Snob
    February 8, 2011

    Wow, this does sound like a great book. I hope the author gets to publish them so we can enjoy them 🙂 You can find my teaser at The Bookish Snob

    • Novroz
      February 8, 2011

      I am wondering why it wasn’t published yet…it is better than some published books I have read in the past few years.

  6. gautami tripathy
    February 8, 2011

    Great teaser! I gotta check it out!

    Here is my Teaser Tuesday: The Elephant Tree by RD Ronald

  7. laurelrainsnow
    February 8, 2011

    Fascinating excerpts…hope you enjoy the book when it comes out.

    Hope your computer is fixed soon! I know what that’s like….and thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • Novroz
      February 9, 2011

      The story is as fascinating as the excerpts. I have finished it and truly enjoy it 🙂

      Thank you for the visit back Laurel

  8. Crystal (I Totally Paused!)
    February 9, 2011

    This one sounds very interesting, great teasers! Hope your computer gets fixed soon!

    • Novroz
      February 9, 2011

      It is a great book, I finished it in 3days, a world breaking record for a slow reader like me.
      I hope so too

  9. Lori
    February 9, 2011

    I hope you are enjoying your book. Here is my Teaser for Tuesday.

  10. Caroline
    February 9, 2011

    I was wondering if he does write a little bit like Joe Hill? From what litle I know of Joe Hill there seems to be a similarity. Yoour computer is still not working? What a nasty virus!

    • Novroz
      February 10, 2011

      No, they don’t look similar. The writing style is different and the story is also different. For me, he is a bit better than Hill.
      I have asked him about his other books, this is the only horror he wrote.

      I’m sure today I will get it back. It was already finished but it won’t connect to my internet modem, so I returned it back to him. He texted me things already in order now, he only needed to put all my data back from his hard disk to mine. The virus is indeed very dangerous 😦

      • Caroline
        February 10, 2011

        Better than Hill, that is high praise? Or you are talking style, I guess. If he does normally not write horror stories then that would explain the difference in style. Why does he not self-publish? That is perfectly acceptable nowadays.

        • Novroz
          February 10, 2011

          I am talking about his story. I like his book better than Heart Shapped Box, it’s more thrilling.
          Hmmm… I don’t know, I’ll ask him later.

          I will write my review tomorrow or saturday

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2011 by in Bookish Memes and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads