Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Different Seasons – The Body

The BodyThe Body is the third novella in Different Seasons. I have seen the movie adaptation of this book long time ago, either in junior or senior high. I didn’t know the movie was based on SK’s book because I didn’t know him yet and even if I have read some of his books…I still not going to relate the movie to him as it is not scary at all. It is about friendship., the movie adaptation is called Stand By Me. I couldn’t remember the details of the movie anymore…I will try to find it again so that I can compare it with the book.

The book feels like a semi autobiographical of Stephen King. This is the second story that I read about friendship of 4 boys. Chris, Gordie, Vern and Teddy used to hang out in a tree house. Gordon, or Gordie, is an ‘invisible’ boy. His parents acted as if he doesn’t exist because the son they loved the most (Gordie’s big brother) has passed away. Chris is the wisest of all 4 but he comes from a bad family, he is often beaten by his father. Vern is the slowest (in brain) of all four. Teddy is the craziest of all, he has bad eyes but often challenge a moving truck.

One day, Vern came running to tell them about news he overheard. He asked them whether they want to look at a dead body or not?

The dead body that Vern was telling them was the body of a boy about their age who went missing since three days ago. People couldn’t found him anywhere. Vern overheard his brother talking to his friend about the body that they saw last night. They couldn’t tell the police about that body because it would raise many questions. They were there using a stolen car.

Vern asked his friends to go to Harlow Road together, which was quite far from Castle Rock. They were just 12 years old boys, they couldn’t drive a car to that place…so, they were going to walk there by following the train rail. The idea was to claim that they have found the body of the missing boy and become heroes.

The story is basically about their journey to see that poor boy’s body. Throughout this journey, they learned many things. They knew that it won’t be an easy thing to do but they wanted to do it anyway. When they found the body, they had to stand their ground because there was a second party who wanted to claim the body too. They knew they were going to be in big trouble against that 2nd party but they couldn’t just give up after all their struggle to get there.

I really like reading the 2 days journey of these boys. We could see their determination and struggle. They way they defend the body is also understandable…it might sounds weird to risk their life against bigger kids but if you read what they have to face to get to the body, it is totally worth fighting for. Each kid has their own terror to face in order to get to the body.

Fall from innocent is a perfect way to describe this novella. What’s interesting about this novella is the short stories King inserted into as if those stories were written by Gordie. Gordie is the main character of this story and somehow he feels so much like the kid version of King.

So far, Different seasons has proven the talent that Stephen King has. He wrote different kind of great story that represent different feelings such as hope, corruption and innocent. Looking forward to read the last Novella and sum-up all four novellas in one post.

I never had any friends later on like the ones I had when I was twelve. Jesus, did you?

Book Details:

Title  : The Body (Novella) from Different Seasons
Other Novella  : Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption; Apt Pupil, The Breathing Method
Author  : Stephen King
Language  : English
Page  : from 293 to 436 (in Different Seasons)
Publisher  : Penguin Group
Rating  : 

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

6 comments on “Different Seasons – The Body

  1. Caroline
    January 28, 2011

    I remeber this movie vaguely but i think I liked it. i would nevr have thought that it is based on a novella by Stephen King. This is very suprising. I would be curious to read this as it sounds so different from his other books. On the other hand childhood is important in his books. I have read somewhere that his success was closely linked to the fact that he took childhood feras and blew them up. Especially in It.

    • Novroz
      January 28, 2011

      I honestly want to see the movie again. 2 novellas in this book are different than his usual books, I would never thought Shawshank Redemption comes from his book as well as Stand By me. Beyond his terrifying books, he actually has books that can touch your heart.
      I think he mentioned it in On Writing. He had been fascinated with monster since he was kid.

  2. Rick Tran
    January 29, 2011

    So “Stand By Me” was based on this Stephen King novella? I didn’t know that. This is probably the second second best work turned into film by Stephen King then, right behind “The Shawshank Redemption”.

    • Novroz
      January 29, 2011

      I didn’t know that either and I think a lot of people didnn’t know that either.
      About being the second best work, I couldn’t put it like because I’ve seen/read a lot of best works by him…that’s why I become a fan.

  3. Richard
    February 6, 2011

    I read Different Seasons years ago, back when I was reading every Stephen King book. Apt Pupil was my favourite story. And it was a great movie, too. 🙂

    • Novroz
      February 6, 2011

      Ah, You have a different opinion compare to Dan (Top10Films).
      As for me, so far I really like all 3 of them. Will read the last novella after my current book.
      I want to see Apt Pupil too, but haven’t found it yet.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads