Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Lord Of The Rings – The Return of the King

Three rings for the Elven-kings under the sky
Seven for the Dwarf-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for mortal men doomed to die,
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows Lie
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie

Such a powerful opening, don’t you think so?

For me, The Lord of the Rings is the greatest fantasy epic of our time. I love this series so much. I haven’t read a lot of series in my life, but as far as all the series I have read, none  can  overthrown The lord of The Rings from my heart. TLoTR has EVERYTHING!! Great story written in beautiful language and it ends gracefully.

I have read TLoTR 3 times but all those 3 were read before I have a blog. I feel that something is missing in my blog, I have reviewed a lot of books and yet the one I like the most was not here among the other books I have recently read…this can’t be tolerated! Therefore, I reread TLoTR once again and I can assure you that it won’t be the last. I don’t want to write a review of one of the greatest books ever made simply based on what I remember…I want to relive it again before sharing it.

I have read The Fellowship of The Ring last year and The Two Towers earlier this month. The Return of The King is the last book in this amazing trilogy.

Here’s what going in The Return of The King

Book V started with the arriving of Gandalf and Pippin into Minas Tirith. Gandalf and Pippin met the steward of Gondor, Denethor. He was in deep grief because he had just found out that his oldest son, Boromir, had passed away. Pippin offered his service to Denethor as gratitude of being saved by Boromir. When Faramir came back, Denethor learnt that he had let go the Hobbit that carried a mighty weapon that could save Gondor. Faramir was unwelcome and went back to defend the outer side of Gondor. Faramir had such a great personality and made people of Gondor adored him, (he is one of my favorite characters in TLoTR) he even made Pippin loyal to him.

On the same time, people of Rohan were heading to Gondor to assist that country in a war against Sauron. However, Théoden and Aragorn had to part each other because Aragorn, after he was told by the sons of Elrond, along with the Dúnedain, Legolas and Gimli went to path of Death. Aragorn was going to claim the loyalty of the people who once betrayed the king of Gondor. He would set them free for the last helped they could give in this Great War. Theoden and thousands of Rohirrim went straight to Gondor, amongst them hid 2 people who wouldn’t let themselves being left out from the war.

The army of Sauron finally siege Gondor. Faramir went back to Gondor as a dying man, upon seeing that, Denethor went crazy and asked to be burned along with Faramir. In the middle of the confusion cause by the siege, Gandalf had to turn his back away from the war to save Faramir. Fortunately, The Rohirrim came to assist Gondor. Hence the battle of Pelennor field begun. The most powerful scene of this war was when Éowyn and Merry came to save Théoden for the Nazgul King.

The war came to an impossible win when both Gondor army and The Rohirrim saw a ship of the enemy’s allies came ashore. To their surprise, there were no enemies inside the ship but Aragorn and his company. They, along with the dead people, had wiped out the entire army of the enemy (this one is a bit different compare to the movie). The battle of the Pellenor Field was won by the people of the West.

What followed next was the acknowledgment of Aragorn as the king of Gondor, although he didn’t proclaim himself as the King yet. Under the guidance of Gandalf, the party decided to take action in order to protect the ring bearer. They couldn’t win the war unless the ring bearer succeeded his task. An army of Gondor and Rohirrim went marching to the black gate to distract Sauron from the real danger in his own domain.

Book VI started with the decision of Master Samwise Gamgee to save his beloved master. Sam was a hobbit with a lot of luck on his back, he could save Frodo without much difficulty. Both of them tried their best to deceive the orcs and headed to The Crack of Doom. Their journey really showed how big the love that Sam had toward Frodo. Frodo was a lucky man to have such faithful hobbit as a servant. They realized that Gollum was near them following their every step.

When Frodo finally reached The Crack of Doom, the power of the ring took hold of him, he couldn’t cast the ring away.

“I have come” he said “But I do not choose now to do what I came to do. I will not do this deed. The ring is mine!”

Frodo put his finger into the ring, it totally shocked the enemy, he had been careless. Things would have gone all wrong if not for Gollum, he played his last part in the story by biting Frodo’s finger. Out of love and greediness, he danced like a maniac and lost his foot hold. The ring was finally destroyed.

The war was over with the ruin of the one ring. The story then evolved around the people of Gondor. It talked about the love between Éowyn and Faramir, about the crowning of the King and his wedding to the fair Lady Arwen. Frodo was put in high honor. Pippin still became the knight of Gondor as Merry to Rohan.

The hobbits wanted to go home and saw their lovely Shire again. Hence came the many partings. The fellowship was separated. When the hobbits came to their land, they were very surprised to see their country didn’t look the same anymore. Saruman had put his claw in Shire. Frodo, Sam, Pippin and Merry aroused all the hobbits to fight back to the tyranny of Saruman and took back their country.

Frodo showed how wise he was in dealing with Saruman

“Do not kill him even now. For he has not hurt me. And in any case I do not wish him to be slain in this evil mood. He was great once, of a noble kind that we should not dare to raise our hand against. He is fallen, and his cure is beyond us; but I would still spare him, in the hope that he may find it”

What happened next was just the telling of the parting of the fellowship. All the Elves, except Legolas and Arwen, left middle earth. Along with them, Frodo, Bilbo and Gandalf also took leave. When Sam’s wife passed away, he went to the sea to follow Frodo. When Aragorn, Pippin and Merry died; Legolas and Gimli built a ship and went to the sea. And when the ship passed an end was come in Middle-earth of the Fellowship of the ring.

I love how Tolkien took his time to share the family trees of each member of the fellowship. I also love reading the event that took place after Frodo and Bilbo went to the sea. Tolkien didn’t leave us with questions of what happened to the fellowship, he gave a strong end to the story.

As I already said before, I couldn’t rate any books from The Lord of The Rings less than  .

I will write a comparison between the book and the movie soon.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

6 comments on “The Lord Of The Rings – The Return of the King

  1. rtm
    January 6, 2011

    That is a powerful opening indeed, Nov. Man, I commend you for tackling the whole LOTR series. I wish I could find the time! I definitely take your word for it how beautiful Tolkien’s work is. Right now I’m reading the novel I’ll be adapting for Castor’s Fantasy Draft. As I have to have my pitch ready in 2 weeks I better know the story inside and out!

    • Novroz
      January 6, 2011

      I think the book might be a bit boring for some people but it is beautiful for me.
      Have I told you that my reading time is when I am on the bus, on my way to work and back home? I don’t have time to read at home.

      I’m curious…which novel are going to do? I hope it’s something I know so that I give full critic if you choose the wrong actors for the job 😉

      • rtm
        January 6, 2011

        Yeah, if I take the bus to work I’d probably have more time to read. That’s why my hubby does with his iPhone, catching up on reading news.

        Well I’m not going to reveal the novel until the 17th, he..he.. but it’s not a hugely popular one and it was published a few years ago. My friend happened to lend it to me and because it’s set in Europe, it immediately appeals to me. You know I have a penchant for all things British and thus I have an excuse to have a mostly-Brit cast, he..he..

        • Novroz
          January 6, 2011

          Same here Ruth 🙂
          England and British have a lot of charm that can drawn people. I always enjoy movies with thick Brit accent.

          Hm… you really make me curious, I will impatiently wait for your pitch then

  2. Caroline
    January 6, 2011

    The opening is fantastic. I almost get goose bumps when I read it. I often wonder how he wrote all this… So much inspiration… I will read them again in English one day…

    • Novroz
      January 6, 2011

      It indeed inspires many fantasy books,you can clearly see how Harry Potter inspired by this series.
      I hope you’ll have your chance of rereading it one day…it”s really beautiful in its original language

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads