Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

New Beginning in 2011

Happy New Year everyone 🙂
あけました おめでとう 皆さん  🙂
Selamat Tahun Baru semuanya 🙂

I’m going to start this 2011 by changing the most important thing in my blog…My Blog Name. I have to admit that I’m not good in choosing names.

Let’s step back a little, shall we?

The first blog I made was in blogdrive with url:  butterlfysleep.blogdrive.com. Both url and blog has the same name. I consider that as a cool name, unfortunately I didn’t create that name, I took that from L’Arc~en~Ciel’s song. Then I changed my blog name into LarcMuseHolic because I often wrote about L’Arc~en~Ciel and Muse.

And then, I discovered WordPress. I moved all my stuff from blogdrive to wordpress. I chose bokunosekai as both url and blog name.  僕 の 世界 (Bokunosekai) means my world in Japanese.

Then I realized that I didn’t write about myself in my blog, so I changed it into楽 楽 の 文書 (Raku-Raku no Bunsho) which means fun articles. I only used that for few months.

I’ve forgotten all the names I had chosen before the one I’m using right now.

I think it was late 2008 that I started using Novroz’ Favorite Things because I blogged about things that I like (and sometimes dislike).

Since the beginning of December 2010, I felt like I need new name, something better than Novroz’ Favorite Things. I’m getting bored with that name and also I find that name as something not cool 😉

I’ve been thinking a lot and asked around for the perfect word for someone who likes many things. This blog of mine is not a specific blog like most of my blogger friends.  I blogged about books, movies, musics, turtles, my students, and other things in between.

If this blog is only about book, I would name it Bookish Turtle
If this blog is only about Movie, I would name it On The Screen or something similar with that.
If I only talk about my students, I would name it Teacher’s Love.
Too many ifs to continue…

Nat of In Spring It is the Dawn suggested Curious Turtle or Inquisitive Turtle.

In the end, I came up with these 2: Polychrome Interest and Between Pages and Screens.

Polychrome Interest means that I have many interests that make my world colorful.

Between Pages and Screens means that I blogged mostly about books and movies but there are still something in between.

After thinking about it over a night and asking around through twitter for second opinion I choose Polychrome Interest. Thank you bunnymellon, Carin, Ruth, Amanda, Nat, LeesWammes, Iris, and Gnoe for sharing your opinions :hug:

From now on, this blog is no longer Novroz’ Favorite Things, it is officially changed into Polychrome Interest 🙂

What to expect in 2011

In 2011, I will join my first Readalong event. This event is held by Caroline of Beauty is a Sleeping Cat. Caroline likes everything related to war, this Readalong is also related to war, war books to be exact. I will try to join Shusaku Endo’s The Sea and The Poison. I believe I saw that book in my library.

I will not join these Book Challenges anymore: The 2010 Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge, because it’s too difficult to finish it, and Read the Book, See the Movie Challenge, because it wasn’t well organized. The truth is, I love that RTB,STM challenge a lot because I covers 2 hobbies at one challenge…unfortunately, the host couldn’t host it well enough.

I will still join Hello Japan! Mini Challenge because I still love things Japanese. Nat is a great host. She always finds time to read posts from all the participants, it makes me feel appreciated.

Along with this post, I am going to give a big THANK YOU shout to Nat who has sent me a wonderful present for my enthusiasm in joining Hello Japan! Will post more about it in this month’s challenge 🙂

So far, I will join 4 Book Challenges; Stephen King Reading Challenge, Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge, Suspense and Mystery Reading Challenge, New Author 2010 Challenge and What’s In The Name 4 Challenge. I will definitely join Japanese Literature Challenge 5 and R.I.P Challenge VI again (if the hosts still feel like continuing the challenges)

I will continue all my Monthly Post; Top-5, The Amazing world of One Piece, Monthly Murphy, and Indonesia Banget. I will Change my series of tribute posts for L’Arc~en~Ciel into monthly post as soon as I finished reviewing KISS. I will try to start anew monthly post called Just a Thought.

Everything else will still be the same as 2010. I have posted 269 posts throughout 2010, I wonder how many I will write this year. I have my own internet connection (unlike last year), therefore I can predict that I’ll be writing more than before.

What Happened with my blog in 2010?

This come from wordpress.com:

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 93,000 times in 2010. If it were an exhibit at The Louvre Museum, it would take 4 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, you wrote 269 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 802 posts. You uploaded 637 pictures, taking up a total of 115mb. That’s about 2 pictures per day.

Your busiest day of the year was December 4th with 583 views. The most popular post that day was The Future Pirate King.

As I already written here, I had a chance to write 3 post for 3 different blogs.

I have my 1st guest author, Wulan. She wrote Top 5 TV Characters for my Sept ’10 top-5 post.

I would love to have another  guest author in my blog 🙂

Amazing Bloggers that I met in 2010

This part of the post is to honor great bloggers that I came across in 2010. I love their blogs and they always make me happy whenever they come to visit me, but even if they don’t visit me I still love visiting their blog.

They are:

Ruth of FlixChatter.
Roisin of Sundryandco and Roisin Recommends.
Ronan of Filmplicity
Olive of Movie News First
Caroline of Beauty is a Sleeping Cat, All About War Movies, and All About Great Music.
Judith of LeesWammes.
Carin of A Little Bookish
Castor of Anomalous Material
Aiden of Cut The Crap Movie Review
Dan of Top 10 Films
Robert Lee of CinemaFantastica
Dhitzunako of Across Dhitz Universe
Purisuka of Purisuka Review
Asop of Hidup Itu Harus Dinikmati
Everyone in my Teaser Tuesday family
And many more….

I hope to meet more great bloggers this year 🙂

2010 had been a great year. Let’s hope 2011 will also be another great year 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

15 comments on “New Beginning in 2011

  1. Robert Lee
    January 1, 2011

    Thanks for the mention! I enjoy your blog very much as well! Sometimes it takes me days to get a post out, and I checkout your site to see that you’ve posted multiple brilliant things in the past few hours. Your site is a total inspiration. Have a very happy new year! And for the record, I like the polychrome name for the blog. Very good name.

    -Rob

    • Novroz
      January 1, 2011

      You’re welcome Rob 🙂 I’m glad we come across each other last year. I think it was a talk Cillian Murphy that made me notice your great blog. I really like reading your way of telling a story and your love for zombie.
      And thank you Rob, but I think you praised me a little too much, I am nothing of a sort. As for the name, I’m glad you like it.

  2. Carin B.
    January 1, 2011

    Thanks for mentioning me! I really enjoyed meeting you this year. Somehow my friends in Asia are really special because you guys live in such exotic countries! I still have a fascination with Indonesia now that I’ve read The Lunatic Express by Carl Hoffman. I just like the way he described the people…really warm and nice. I also really enjoy reading about Kame and Kroten and watching their videos. They always make me smile and brighten my day. I hope your 2011 is fantastic! You have been a great blogging friend and I can’t wait to see what you post for this upcoming year!

    • Novroz
      January 1, 2011

      You’re welcome Carin. Love your friday chat so much…I really miss it, I hope things will get better for you this year and you can blog again. I miss your dog’s blog too.
      I’m glad Kame & Kroten can help brighten your day, now I know I didn’t waste my time creating that blog.
      Hope all the best for you in 2011.

  3. Caroline
    January 1, 2011

    I am glad I met you this year and thanks for mentioning me. I enjoy your blog a lot, your way of writing about things is very unique, very special and full of vitality. Polychrome interest sounds good. Thanks for joining the read along, hope it will be great. I wish you a fantastic 2011! Health, joy, happiness and inspiration. All the best to you and the little turtles as well.

    • Novroz
      January 1, 2011

      We have to thank R.I.P Challenge that allowed us to know each other. I love the way you passionately write about the books/movies that you like, you’ve made them all sounds very interesting. I got to know more authors from Europe because of your blog.
      All the best to you and your cats too 🙂

  4. purisuka
    January 3, 2011

    nama barunya keren, I like it *ala rianti*. Huwaa stats blognya keren euy, saya mah jauh dari itu, hehe. Btw, thanks for mentioning me. Salah satu yg saya kagumi dari blog ini adalah kekonsistenannya dalam menulis postingan (kayak postingan bulanan) dan postingannya selalu beraneka macam. gak kayak saya, yg ngepost kalo ada mood aja dan pengennya ngereview segala macem, tp yg ketulis review film semua, hehe. Ja, sukses terus ya buat blog ini 🙂

    • Novroz
      January 4, 2011

      Makasih Rianti…eh maksudnya Priska ;p
      Dirimu masih tahun2 awal ngeblog kan? jd biasanya memang masih berdasarkan mood…dl sy juga begitu, nnt lama2 juga jadi rajin nulis (walopun kdg ada yg malah makin malas nulis…semoga Priska tdk termasuk dlm golongan ini).

      For mentioning, no thanks needed, I really like your review 🙂

  5. leeswammes
    January 3, 2011

    Novroz, thanks for the mention. I think it’s really nice to know you. I love your new blog name and design. 93K visitors is a lot! Your blog is very popular.

    • Novroz
      January 4, 2011

      You’re welcome 🙂
      I might have a lot of visitor but you have amazing number of comments 🙂
      My visitors only come to grab some pictures.
      Looking forward to read your post again in 2011

  6. rtm
    January 3, 2011

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, Nov! Hey, I like your new blog name 😉 Also, congrats on your 93k hits, that’s quite an achievement! I enjoy the variety of your blog, and you’ve always got something interesting to say. Keep up the great work!

    • Novroz
      January 4, 2011

      Happy new year to you too Ruth 🙂
      Thanks, I like it as well, at least this one doesn’t sound as cheesy as before. The ’93k’ was quite a surprise for me as well, I never thought it was that much.
      My review is nothing compare to you Ruth, you always write better and thorough review than I am. I enjoy your blog a lot

  7. dhitzunako
    January 4, 2011

    Just drop by to say hi and a “Happy New Year” !!! 🙂

  8. Aleida
    January 8, 2011

    Happy (belated) New Year 😀 I think you picked a very interesting ‘new’ name for your blog. It’s always interesting to see how blognames evolve when you grow as a blogger. I started out with “as-world” which contained my initials *lolz* Looking forward to your blogposts for 2011 ~

    • Novroz
      January 8, 2011

      Happy new year to you to Aleida 🙂
      1st blog name is always lame lol, I’m glad that your blog name was as lame as I was.
      I have visited your blog, cool name and seems interesting, we cover the same interest.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2011 by in Things I Need to Say and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads