Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday Special – Top 5 of 2010 Teasers

Today is the last Tuesday in 2010, therefore this post is also the last post in 2010 for my most favorite meme, Teaser Tuesday. For this special day, I will do something a bit different.

Teaser Tuesday is a bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. The rules are simple, all we have to do is take the book we are currently reading and find 2 sentences that can be shared to other participants. I often cheat by sharing more than 2 sentences 😉

For this special day, I took extra time to reread all my previous teasers and picked 5 best teasers off all. It took few hours for me to choose format least 50 teasers. I narrowed it down to 12 teasers….and finally, here are my top-5 teaser in 2010 🙂

#5 Teaser from Deep River by Shusaku Endo

Blackie was the first dog to teach him that animals can converse with humans. Not just conversing – he had also learned they can be companions who understand your sorrows

The original teaser is posted in May 2010

Reason: because this is how I feel with my baby turtles

#4 Teaser from Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

You can’t undo something that’s happened; you can’t take back a word that’s already been said out loud. You’ll think about me and wish that you have been able to talk me out of this. You’ll try to figure out what would have been the one right thing to say, to do. I guess I should tell you, don’t blame yourself; this isn’t your fault, but that would be a lie. We both know that I didn’t get here by myself

The original teaser is posted in January 2010

Reason: This is note of suicide and somehow I find truth in it, that someone who committed suicide didn’t get there by him/herself.

#3 Teaser from Shawshank Redemption and Rita Hayworth by Stephen KingRita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption

Andy was looking at Hadley with those cold, clear, calm eyes, and it wasn’t just the thirty-five thousand then, we all agreed on that. I’ve played it over and over in my mind and I know. It was man against man, and Andy simply forced him, the way a strong man can force a weaker man’s wrist to the table in a game of Indian rasseling

The original teaser is posted in August 2010

Reason: This teaser simply said that brain wins over muscle 🙂

#2 Teaser from Birthday Story, an anthology by Haruki Murakami

One of them would die first, Odo had thought again in the night, as he often did now. He wanted it to be her; he wanted to be the one that suffer the loneliness and the distress. It would be the same for either of them, and he wanted it to be him who had to bear the painful burden.

The original teaser is posted in August 2010

Reason: I wish I can find that kind of man, the one that willing to suffer in place of his love one.

#1 Teaser from On Writing by Stephen King

Can I be blunt on this subject? If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or tools) to write. Simple as that

The original teaser is posted in August 2010

Reason: There is so much truth in this simple sentence

What is your teaser for this week?

Happy new years to all my TT-friends (^_^)v

Click this icon to see my other top-5 list

And for those who don’t do Teaser Tuesday, I would love to know your top-5 quote of this year 🙂

Do share them with me!

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

26 comments on “Teaser Tuesday Special – Top 5 of 2010 Teasers

  1. gautami tripathy
    December 28, 2010

    I like it! Posting the best teasers of the year!

    Teaser Tuesday: If Walls Could Talk by Juliet Blackwell

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2010

      Thank you Gautamy 🙂

  2. Caroline
    December 28, 2010

    These are great teasers. I wouldn’t have expected something like no.5 coming from Endo. Beautiful. Jodi Picoult is an interesting author, I have to reade more of her books. Maybe the style is not so special but she always chooses topics that are very thought-provoking. Do you know We need to talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver? Very good. I loved that Kong book On Writing and, yes, he is right in the teaser too. The Murakami teaser is beuatiful too, I am not sure many would think like that. I occasionally hear people say: I hope I will die first, I don’t want to live without him/her… Much more selfish.

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2010

      Same with me, I don’t think picoult style of writing is interesting but she is great in picking her story. That was my second picoult book.
      That no.2 teaser really touches my heart…the most romantic lines I’ve ever read.
      Have you read On Writing? it’s a great book with many wonderful quotes

      • Caroline
        December 30, 2010

        Yes, I did read On Writing. It’s a great book. I tried for a while to read the books that he suggests and they were all very good, totally different from what he writes. I follow a lot of his advice on writing.

        • Novroz
          December 30, 2010

          I guess he is following his own advice,which is read all kind of books from many genres 😉

  3. The Bookish Snob
    December 28, 2010

    That was such a cool idea 🙂 Great teaser! You can find my teaser at The Bookish Snob

  4. Kathy Martin
    December 28, 2010

    Great idea! Sorry I don’t have time to go back and look at all the teasers I did this year. The Piccoult teaser makes me want to give her books a try though. I have two teasers this week. My YA teaser is from Anna and the French Kiss and my adult teaser is from The Secret History of the Pink Carnation. I guess I was in a mood for romance. Happy reading!

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2010

      Thank you Kathy 🙂
      I have to thanks WordPress for making an easy way to go back in checking all my teasers.

      I will visit you back as soon as my PC gets better. Your blog is too heavy for my mobilephone

  5. Selena
    December 28, 2010

    Love the King one on writing! Great idea posting a top 5.
    Mine is from a new book by Courtney Milan, Unveiled: http://theenchantedbook.blogspot.com/

    Have a great one!

    Selena
    The Enchanted Book

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2010

      On Writing is an amazing book. Thank you Selena

  6. laurelrainsnow
    December 28, 2010

    Oh, now I’m even more intrigued by these books! I especially love the Picoult one, since I read that book. It chills me again, just recalling the passages.

    Here’s my TT:

    http://rainysnowday.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/teaser-tuesdays-dec-28/

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2010

      The Picoult book has great opening, hasn’t it? that was a powerful passage.

      Thank you for visiting Laurel 🙂

  7. Aimee
    December 28, 2010

    Great teasers! I love Stephen King and Shawshank Redemption is one of my favorite reads! My TT is at Coffee Table Press

  8. wakela
    December 28, 2010

    That was great being able to read your top 5 teasers. Especially since I just started with Teaser Tuesday last week and missed a ton of teasers this past year. So it was nice to see what your top 5 were.

    Wakela’s World – Tuesday Teaser

  9. Mary Ann Langan
    December 29, 2010

    Here is my teaser from Nature’s Secret Messages: Hidden in Plain Sight by Elaine Wilkes (Page 3):

    “We lie in the lap of immense intelligence.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Stop. Look. Listen. My kindergarten teacher taught me that. I remember carefully lining up the tips of my patent-leather shoes exactly at the edge of the curb and stopping–then carefully looking to my right and left, quiet and aware, listening for any clues. Feeling that it was safe to proceed, I’d grasp my classmate’s hand, jump off the curb, and happily venture into unknown territories on the other side of the street.

    Now I barely glance from side to side as I hurry on my way.

    What happened? Where did that wide-open feeling of awareness go? In the rush of adulthood, it seems to vanish, but what would happen if we simply stopped, looked and listened…even as busy adults?

    As a learning addict, I’ve hunted for insights through countless books, seminars, experts, masters and more. Eventually, I realized that my kindergarten teacher had it right from the beginning, long before I started my quest. Who knew that she was so profound?

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2010

      thank you for sharing your teaser here Mary.

  10. Zakiya LadyWings
    December 29, 2010

    Those are wonderful teasers!

    Happy New Year,
    Zakiya – My teaser this week

    • Novroz
      December 29, 2010

      Happy new year to you too Zakiya 🙂

  11. wulaaaaan.....
    January 1, 2011

    Wow! This is a challenging one! I had to browse goodreads a lot to find my top 5. I’ve decided to have a rule to my own version of top 5, and that is to not choose the same author for the quotes. I HAVE to have this rule, otherwise my top 5 would consists of Jodi Picoult quotes only! 😀

    Anyways, here we go (and as you will see, each quote consists MORE than 2 sentences :P):

    #5 “Surrender. That’s an interesting term. We tend to see all forms of surrender as negative–war, sports, highway on-ramps. You’d never hear us describing a relationship as a type of surrender. But maybe we should. Is it wrong to cede the solo to the duet. Surrender doesn’t mean you lose, only that you no longer wish to fight.”
    — Franz Wisner (How the World Makes Love: . . . And What It Taught a Jilted Groom)

    you REALLY should read his novels. Hilarious and informative at the same time! I like this quote because it makes me want to look at things from different perspectives. It reminded me to always have an open mind on things.


    #4
    “Some days seem to fit together like a stained glass window. A hundred little pieces of different color and mood that, when combined, create a complete picture.”
    — Maggie Stiefvater (Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #1))

    I don’t know why, I just love it when authors describe intangible things such as feelings by using metaphors. This one is a perfect example for me.

    #3“All parents damage their children. It cannot be helped. Youth, like pristine glass, absorbs the prints of its handlers. Some parents smudge, others crack, a few shatter childhoods completely into jagged little pieces, beyond repair.”
    — Mitch Albom (The Five People You Meet in Heaven)

    Love it or not, you know this is true.


    #2
    “Let me tell you this: if you meet a loner, no matter what they tell you, it’s not because they enjoy solitude. It’s because they have tried to blend into the world before, and people continue to disappoint them.”
    — Jodi Picoult (My Sister’s Keeper)

    I was going to put this quote on top because I SO agree with this! The introverted side of me just screamed with approval when I read this quote. Arguably Jodi Picoult’s best, which is why I decided to choose this among her other brilliant quotes!

    #1 “There are a lot of children in Afghanistan, but little childhood.”
    — Khaled Hosseini (The Kite Runner)

    Simple. Dead on. Need I say more?

    • Novroz
      January 1, 2011

      Those are great teaser!!!
      Thank you for sharing it Lan 🙂
      The one from Kite Runner really make big impact in English,I read the book in Indonesian.
      I honestly don’t remember the one from Picoult.
      Is no.5 the one you were telling me about months ago?

      Btw, would you like to join Teaser Tuesday through my blog? This is my favorite meme

      • wulaaaaan.....
        January 1, 2011

        Yup, I mentioned the book in number 5 a long time ago. I read the translated one, but I remembered the words because it was so nice, so I browsed Goodreads to find the one in English 🙂

        I don’t know about that. Just making this list was exhausting enough! There are so many options! But if I do find one that’s worth mentioning, I’ll let you know ;D

        • Novroz
          January 1, 2011

          Just email me and I will mention it in my post 🙂 But make sure you do it on Monday.

          Talking about that book…I did say I want to borrow it right 😉

          • wulaaaaan.....
            January 1, 2011

            wait! I have to give it on Monday??? Pass! 😛

            Yeah, about lending you that book….errr…Houston, we have a problem.
            As you know, I don’t have my own bookcase since the flood in 2007, so I’ve been keeping my novels in boxes and unused trunks ever since. Thing is, some of the boxes and trunks are kept in the shed at the attic. Yes, it’s a horrible way to store my beloved books, but I have no choice! My room is already filled with new books! :((

            Ehem. Anyway, my point is, I need some time to search for that novel if you want to borrow it. I hope you don’t mind…

          • Novroz
            January 2, 2011

            Not this monday…I meant every monday when you feel like sharing your teaser.

            Aw .. poor books 😦
            Take your time, I have plenty of time to wait coz I still have to reduce my books on my shelf.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2010 by in Bookish Memes and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads