Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Chicken Soup for The Cat and Dog Lover’s Soul

I have just finished reading my first and probably the only Chicken Soup book. Books about searching for soul enlighten is not my kind of read. I finally read one Chicken Soup book because it talks about pets, and you can see from my turtles’ blog how much I love my pets.

I write my own Chicken Soup story in Kame and Kroten’s Blog. The book doesn’t have turtle’s story, so I share my own story to you if you are interested to read it 🙂

This book is already translated into Indonesian Language. I borrowed it from my friend who has at least 10 cats, she is such a cat lady :). Because it is already translated into Indonesian language, I might be wrong in re-translating some titles back into English.

There are 9 chapters in this book.

The first chapter is Love Problematic, this chapter shares stories of people with their love for their pets and ‘problems’ that surround their love. A kid who had to let his dog go because the dog had found another love. A mother who had to give some boundary between her child and his horse because the horse used to carry the child out of the window on second floor. And one that I love the most is the story of a dog named Booby. The story is similar with Hachiko. When his owner died, bobby came and stayed on his grave for 9 years. He was then buried next to his owner.

The second chapter is The Miracle of Soul Entanglement, this chapter shares stories how animal’s soul and human’s soul could entangle with one another. My favorite ones is about an old men, an old dog and an old bird who were by faith came together and spent their happiest days together by fishing.

The third chapter is Pets as Healers, this chapter shares stories how pet can heal people from their illness, may that be physical illness or mental illness. I have two favorite stories from this chapter. One is about a cat named Otto who had helped an old woman freed from her cancer. Otto had made the woman felt like a mother again and somehow that feeling helped her fight with her cancer. The other one is about a troubled boy who seemed to be beyond help. When he met Sweet Pea, a baby horse without a mother, his heart was touched and claimed that he will become Sweet Pea’s mom. His bound with Sweet Pea changed him into a better man.

The fourth chapter is Pet-Pourri. I am not sure what this chapter is about, maybe it is about people’s feeling toward their pets. I didn’t enjoy this chapter and tends to skim some of the stories. My favorite one is about the cat lady because it was quite funny.

The fifth chapter is my favorite of all, it is called Pets as Part of The Family. I guess you can easily guess what this chapter is about ;). I have so many favorite stories here. A dog who often stole letters from her owner, the letters was meant to be for the owner’s wife. A parrot who finally able to say ‘I love you’ when the owner came back from a vacation. A duck who chose to stay with his human family rather than flying away in the wild. A woman who firmly gave an ultimatum to her boyfriend that she would choose her dog over him if he won’t allow her dog to get inside the house. My last favorite stories in this chapter is about a doctor who was led by a dog who had passed away a month before. The ‘ghost’ dog led the doctor to the right house, the house of a little girl who used to be his owner

The sixth chapter was Pets as Idols, this chapter shares stories of animals that gave hopes toward their owners. My favorite stories are about a dog with wheelchair that helped lifting the spirit of many people and about a cat who prevented a woman from killing herself.

The seventh chapter is Amazing Animals, I guess you can guess what this chapter is about just by reading the title 😉 . My favorite is about a dog named Jim who had amazing ability to point out everything people wanted to know.

The eighth chapter is the saddest of all the chapters, the title is Goodbye. I can’t hold my tear from falling down even though I read it while riding on a bus. For me, losing a pet is as heavy as losing a member of my family. Once, I cried all night praying to God to help Kame because I was (am still) not ready to lose her yet. She was having problem with he eggs, if the problem continued, the only way to save her is by surgery and I couldn’t afford the cost because my mom also needed a lot of money for her surgery. Thank God she finally laid her eggs safely. (Follow her story here)

My favorite story is about a dying dog who waited for her owner to come home and died on her lap. There are many stories about euthanizing their pets when they are drying, I can understand their reasons to do that but I am not sure I’ll be able to do that to my dying pets.

The last chapter is Companion, this chapter shares stories of animals as our companion and vice verse. My favorite stories are about a cat who shares his time with two women and about a woman who passed away few hours after the death of her loyal dog.

You might notice that I never use which to describe any animal, I like using the word who because for me animal is not a thing.

I really like this book because I can totally relate to those stories. Reading this book makes me realized something important, choosing a pet is like choosing a soul mate.

I wanted to have a tortoise for the past 2 years but every time I look into pet stores, I ended up saying ‘aw…so cute’ but never bought one. I don’t know why I did that.

Now, I know why, none of those tortoises made strong connection with me. It’s just like when I met Kroten, I wanted to buy a friend for Kame but every time I looked into pet stores I only said ‘aw…they are so cute’. Until one day, one of those turtles looked straight at me and walked toward me. I bought her and called her Kroten. At that time, her shell was in bad condition but the connection had already been made and her bad shell didn’t come between us 🙂

Simply said, this book is perfect for all pet lovers out there!!

My rating is

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

6 comments on “Chicken Soup for The Cat and Dog Lover’s Soul

  1. Caroline
    December 25, 2010

    A wonderful post. I do agree with you, animals are not “just” animals. It was always hard whenerver I lost an animal. I find euthanizing horrible but to let the animal you love suffer is even more terrible. I could write many stories to the different chapters. I had a lot of different animals in my life. Cats, dogs, birds, fish, hamster, guinea pigs, mice… I wouldn’t want to read other Chicken Soup books but this sounds nice. Animals are great healers and when they are close to you, you can have a very beautiful relationship.

    • Novroz
      December 25, 2010

      Wow,you have had so many experience with animals. I only had cat once and now my love turns toward Reptiles.
      Yup,we animal lovers understand clearly how wonderful they are and the relationship they can offer to us. their love is unconditional

  2. maruf
    December 25, 2010

    chicken soup tentang apa sih miss? kalo g salah serinya banyak ya dan pernah ada dulu di metro tv

    • Novroz
      December 25, 2010

      tetang cerita2 banyak orang gitu deh…hehe sy ga minat baca Chicken Soup sebenernya…tapi karena ini ttg peliharaan jd saya mau baca 🙂

      pernah ada ya di metro? hehe smp ga tau saking ga minatnya.

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me « Kame & Kroten Blog

  4. Pingback: My 4th Gotcha Day Anniversary to Me « Kame & Kroten Blog

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 25, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads