Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Stephen King and Mystery & Suspense Challenge 2011

Stephen King Challenge 2011

Click this icon to go to the challenge

 

This challenge is what I consider as a NON-challenge Challenge 🙂

Why did I think like that?

Because Stephen King is my number one author, with or without this challenge I will read as many Stephen King as I can. I have written somewhere in my blog that since I can afford buying imported book, my addiction toward SK has worsen than before. I have to read one SK’s book in between 3 to 4 books by other authors.

This great challenge is hosted by Book Chic City. As I already said in my wrap-up post for Suspense and Thriller Challenge 2010, I like her way in organizing challenges, she is a very well organize host. Therefore, without much thinking I am gladly joining in this challenge. Thank you BCC for hosting this challenge 🙂

There are 6 details for this challenge, but I only put 2 Basic details here (you can read the rest of the details in BCC’s 2011 Stephen King Challenge!)

  • Timeline: 01 Jan 2011 – 31 Dec 2011
  • Rules – There are two levels: Read either SIX (6) or TWELVE (12) Stephen King novels in 2011 (6 is the minimum but you can read more than 12 if you wish!)
  • You don’t have to select your books ahead of time, you can just add them as you go. Also if you do list them upfront you can change them, nothing is set in stone! The books you choose can crossover into other challenges you have on the go.

Because I am a slow reader…well, a ‘snail reader’ compare to Mr.King – in his book, On Writing, he said that he is a slow reader because he only reads 70-80 books a year while I can only read 31 books in 2010…I will probably read 6 books or 7 books by SK (just like in 2010). I’d love to read 12 books but time is against me.

I have already had 4 SK’s books on my shelf that I know for sure I will read for this challenge. I will find another 2 or 3, but I can’t say what those books will be because it will depend on my mood and on what books I can find in bookstores. My intention is to read ALL SK’s books without paying attention to what critics or other people say, I’ll judge all his books by my self.

Here are the books I have on my shelf:

Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption

Different Seasons, Night Shift, Insomnia, and Blaze. For Different Seasons, I will read each Novella in between other books by other authors.

Here are SK’s Books that I have read last year:

The Gunslinger Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption

Mystery & Suspense Challenge 2011

Click this icon to go to the challenge

This wonderful challenge is once again hosted by Book Chic City. I have followed this challenge last year and I had great time doing this challenge. I had already said in my wrap-up post that I will join again next year…and this is my sign-up post for 2011 challenge 🙂

I put 2 sign-up posts in one post because both Stephen King Challenge 2011 and Suspense & Mystery Challenge 2011 are related to one another. Both are hosted by the same wonderful person, Carolyn and both challenges will inter-cross each other. My Stephen King’s books will also be my Suspense & Thriller books.

There are 6 details for this challenge, but I only put 2 Basic details here (you can read the rest of the details in BCC’s 2011 Suspense &Thriller Challenge!)

  • Timeline: 01 Jan 2011 – 31 Dec 2011
  • Rules: To read TWELVE (12) mystery & suspense novels in 2011 (12 is the minimum but you can read more if you wish!)
  • You don’t have to select your books ahead of time, you can just add them as you go. Also if you do list them upfront you can change them, nothing is set in stone! The books you choose can crossover into other challenges you have on the go.

I will not note down which books I am going to read for this challenge because last year’s list had proven to be useless 😉 I will just read whatever comes in front of me. I think, just like 2010, I will manage to read more than 12 books since my favorite genre is Suspense/ Thriller/ Horror.

You can also read my last year’s sign-up post here and my wrap-up post here.

Looking forward to start 2011 with these two great challenges 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

4 comments on “Stephen King and Mystery & Suspense Challenge 2011

  1. Dan
    December 12, 2010

    My favourite King book is It even though it is very long. I love the balance of childhood with adulthood and Pennywise is one of the most terrifying creatures. The TV movie adaptation is great too.

    • Novroz
      December 12, 2010

      I love IT too, the cross between childhood and adulthood was the best part of the book. But there is a part that made me like the book less than it supposed to be.
      I haven’t watched me movie or the mini series yet. It’s not easy to find his movies here.

  2. *lynne*
    December 25, 2010

    Hi! I just signed up for the 2011 Stephen King Challenge too (I’m #68!), and am dropping by to visit other participants. My focus will be rereading the Dark Tower series, primarily. Happy reading & reviewing!
    *lynne*

    • Novroz
      December 25, 2010

      Hi Lynne 🙂
      #68 already? I’m glad many people are still interested with Stephen King. I wanted to do a reread too on some SK’s books but I also wanted to read all his books…I’m torn in between

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads