Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Lord of The Rings – The Two Towers

Three rings for the Elven-kings under the sky
Seven for the Dwarf-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for mortal men doomed to die,
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows Lie
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie

Such a powerful opening, don’t you think so?

For me, The Lord of the Rings is the greatest fantasy epic of our time. I love this series so much. I haven’t read a lot of series in my life, but as far as all the series I have read, none  can  overthrown The lord of The Rings from my heart. TLoTR has EVERYTHING!! Great story written in beautiful language and it ends gracefully.

I have read TLoTR 3 times but all those 3 were read before I have a blog. I feel that something is missing in my blog, I have reviewed a lot of books and yet the one I like the most was not here among the other books I have recently read…this can’t be tolerate! Therefore, I reread TLoTR once again and I can assure you that it won’t be the last. I don’t want to write a review of one of the greatest books ever made simply based on what I remember…I want to relive it again before sharing it.

I have read The Fellowship of The Ring last year, and had been planning to reread the rest of the series the following years, which means this year I reread The Two Towers and next year I’ll read The Return of The King. However, I think I will change that plan. After rereading The Two Towers I can’t stop without going straight to The Return of the King. The Two Towers has a very powerful ending, the kind of ending that makes you eager to know what will happen next. As I have already said before, I have read this series 3 times and yet The Middle Earth hasn’t stopped making me amaze all over again.

Just like The Fellowships of the Ring, The Two Towers was written in a beautiful way. When it comes to language, the best part of the book is during Faramir and Frodo’s conversation. I devour every words, every sentences, every emotion that involve in their conversation. For me, their conversation sounds so beautiful and elegant. It awed me the first time I read it and it’s still awed me the fourth time I read it. it makes mewant to speak in the same manner as those two great characters I am not a native English speaker, I have never studied in a proper English Course or College, my opinion in entirely subjective…other people might have seen a better conversation than Faramir and Frodo’s conversation, but I haven’t…their conversation is still the most beautiful conversation I have ever read. Too bad the movie didn’t show this part properly (I will soon write my comparison between book and movie, probably 2 days from now)

Ups…I’m writing this review not in its proper order…let’s get back to where it starts. The Two Towers is divided into two books. The first one is about the journey taken by Pippin (my favorite character in TLoTR), Merry, Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli. The second book is about the journey, not less perilous compare to the other journey, taken by Frodo and his faithful servant, Sam.

Book III starts with Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli trying to decide whether to go after Frodo and Sam or to save Merry and Pippin. They decided to let the ring bearer find his own path and went after the two hobbits who had been kidnapped by the orcs and the fighting Uruk Hai from Isengard. They were fighting against time, the Orcs ran as if the hand of Saruman was pushing them from the back. The three companion had to stop their chase when the day was getting dark, they were afraid they might lost their way. Things became easier when their path cross with the riders of Rohan. Eomer, The Third Marshal of the Riddermark, gave them2 horses. Eomer bored bad news for them, they had slain the orcs and left none living creatures alive. Aragorn with his great skill in reading tracks found out that the Hobbits are still alive. Instead of finding the hobbits, they found Gandalf. Gandalf had returned as Gandalf the white, he was no longer the grey wizard. Together with Gandalf, they headed to the house of Théoden, the king of Rohan.

Meanwhile, the two hobbits had their own tale to tell. It focused more on Pippin. He tried to leave a message to whoever tried to save them. What happened between the orcs was also told through Pippin’s eyes. During the battle between orcs and the riders of Rohan, Pippin and Merry managed to save themselves. I really like how these hobbits chose to eat before running away…very hobbit-like. In Fangorn, a forest, they met an unusual creature forgotten by time, they met an Ent named Treebread. Ents were not hasty creatures, but Pippin and Merry had roused their hastiness and turned it into anger. Pippin and Merry, along with Ents and Huorns (Ents that had turned treeish), went to Isengard to break the stone around Isengard. I really love this part, I can clearly imagine how great their attack was…how amazing the sounds of anger released by those Ents. I have a vision of thousands of people shouting at the same time.

At the same time, another battle took place not far from Isengard. Gandalf had freed Théoden from Saruman’s trap. He asked the king of Rohan to come with him to Isengard. The news of thousands of orcs heading to Helm’s Deep changed their course of journey. Gandalf left to find more help; Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli and Théoden headed to Helm’s Deep. The fierce battle of Helm’s Deep was written brilliantly, I can see the battle clearly in my mind. They were almost defeated when suddenly Gandal came with more people to defeat the orcs of Isengard. The dangerous Huorns also came to help them.

After the battle was over, the King with the rest of the remaining fellowship went to Isengard. In the ruin gate of Isengard, the pursuers finally found the ones they pursued. The fellowship was once again united, except for Frodo and Sam. Book III ends with the leaving of Gandalf and Pippin to Minas Tirith.

Book IV focuses more into the journey of the ring bearer. After leaving the rest of the fellowship, Frodo and Sam found them selves lost without anyone to guide them. In their confusion, they has another matter to think about, Gollum was following their every moves. Frodo decided to capture Gollum and made him as their guide. With Gollum’s help, they managed to arrive to the gate of Mordor. However, the gate was impossible to penetrate, they needed another way to get inside Mordor. Gollum then led them to the Cirith Ungol. On their way, these three travelers met the captain of Gondor, the charismatic Faramir, Boromir’s brother. Unlike his brother, Faramir had no desire to take the rings, he won’t turn Minas Tirith into the twin sister of Mordor. He let Frodo and sam continued their journey safely.

Once they arrived at Cirith Ungol, more peril had awaited them. Gollum had led them the lair of Shelob. Frodo was stung by Shelob and Sam was left alone in confusion. I love this sentence spoken by Sam: ‘Don’t leave me here alone! It’s your Sam calling! Don’t go where I can’t follow!’ This part really shows how big Sam’s devotion for his master was. Sam decided to continue their task, he took the ring. But continuing the journey was not as easy as it seemed, Sam’s heart was torn between staying with Frodo’s dead body and going to Mount Doom. In the end, Sam learnt that his master was still alive, he knew straight away what he had to do. He had to save his master. And it ends Book IV.

Book III is merrier and has more action compare to book IV, but book IV has more emotion than book III. We can read fierce battles in book III and emotional battle in book IV.  These different kinds of battles truly enrich the book more than Fellowship of the Rings. We got to see how wise Frodo was, how devoted Sam was, how pitiful Gollum was, how tricky Pippin was, how powerful Gandalf was and how King-like Aragorn was. We can also see the growth of interesting friendship between Legolas and Gimli. There is so much love I can give for this book.

I couldn’t rate any books from The Lord of The Rings less than .

The Two Towers: Book and Movie – a comparison

=================================================

I’m sharing this book for my What’s In The Name Challenge for Title, as it has the word ‘Lord’ in its title.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

2 comments on “The Lord of The Rings – The Two Towers

  1. Caroline
    December 6, 2010

    Very nice review. I hear of native English speakers that the language is very beautiful. I read this a long time ago and in German. I always thought I should read it again but in English this time. I am really in the mood now. There are such a lot of wonderful moments in this book. I think everybody has probably his/her favourite parts and his and her favourite part in the movie as well. My favourite ones always include the elves.

    • Novroz
      December 6, 2010

      Thank you Caroline. I have’t read the Indonesian translation yet because I couldn’t imagine how that can translate those beautiful sentences into Indonesian, I’m afraid the translator might make it worse.
      I think you really should read this in English. My favorite parts always involve the hobbits, I really like that carefree race.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads