Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Love Inside Glass

Love Inside Glass is the second book in Field of Moon series. Once again, I’m writing my review of this series in 2 languages, English and Indonesian.

Compare to Field of Moon, I like this one much better. Field of Moon talks more about Ikal’s struggle for love, although I like the language but I am not too keen with love story and its struggle. Love Inside Glass talks more about Maryamah’s struggle to beat his ex-husband in a chess match and how Ikal learned human psychology through glasses of coffee. I enjoy reading every page of this book, the struggle and the humor are mixed in a very good way.

Ikal who had graduated from Sorbonne University decided to work in a coffee shop owned by his uncle. Belitong’s coffee shop is more like traditional café, people came to the shop, drank glasses of coffee, talked with everyone in the shop and when their hearts were content, they went home. Here in Indonesia, most people drink coffee in a glass not a cup. Ikal found love inside those glasses, the kind of love that was not the same as lover’s love, it’s a more general kind of love.

By observing people’s way of drinking coffee, Ikal learned about human behaviour based on their coffee. His description was very funny, I couldn’t stop laughing even though everyone around me started looking at me (as usual, I was reading this book on the bus). Here’s a teaser from his coffee theory:

They who ordered both tea and coffee – had just received their salary
They who ordered coffee but reluctant to touch the glass – only had 1500 Rupiah (Indonesian currency) in their pocket
They who didn’t touch the glass but touch the waitress’ hand – Organ Tunggal Musician (Organ Tunggal is sort of like wedding singer tho they are not only sing on wedding)
….so on.

Apart from observing people, Ikal also helped Maryamah learning to play chess. Maryamah had never touched chess in her whole life. Suddenly, she asked Ikal to teach her because he wanted to defeat the man who had hurt her heart. Ikal asked his friend, a chess grandmaster from Georgia, Ninochka Stronovsky, to help him teach Maryamah. A conspiracy of 4 people began to form in order to make Maryamah able to defeat her ex-husband. Ikal as the teacher (with his friend’s help), a wannabe detective and a thug from the market as the investigator, and an elementary boy as the trainer.

I really like the poem that Hirata wrote to describe Maryamah’s war of dignity

In any time and space
It has been provided to you
A field to fight your war
Are you brave enough to draw your sword?

Andrea writes the best chess match I have ever read. I’m not talking about the techniques, I’m talking about the way he describe the match. He personifies the matches as if they are in real battle.

The life of that rook who was deceived by the tears showed by the knight has become gratis for it has left the queen mechanism.
That knight was like a glass of poison!
The king’s knees were shaking.

As usual, Andrea managed to write a story full of good values delivered in a funny way. We could learn about the power of determination and the strength of friendship with a smile painted on our face.

My rating is

I’m looking forward for his next book. I hope it won’t be too long.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

5 comments on “Love Inside Glass

  1. Caroline
    November 29, 2010

    This sounds so good. Strange that the other one is more about love as this has love in the title. The coffee theory is so original. Ikal has graudated in Paris? I studied at the Sorbonne myself. I love coffee, any book that mentions coffee is going to interest (if it is done well) but I don’t drink out of a glass. So many coffee traditions in the world. Is there a tradition of reading coffee in Indonesia (like an oracle)? What you write about the chess match sounds fascinating too.

    • Novroz
      November 29, 2010

      Ikal is actually Andrea himself. Andrea graduated from Sorbonne, he got a scholarship for his master degree in economy. He mixed this book from his own life and some fantasy he created to make the book interesting. But, he won’t tell us which part was reality and which part was made up.

      His 1st book, the one I’m planning to giveaway somewhere next year, was based on true story. It was about him and his friends who tried their best to study in a very shabby school. His class only consisted of 10 students and 2 teachers. He wrote that book for his teacher. The book really touched my heart as a teacher.

  2. Caroline
    November 29, 2010

    Ha. I am awaiting moderation again as I messed up my e-mail. I am offcially a plonker.

    • Novroz
      November 29, 2010

      Weren’t you commenting while you are sign-in in your wordpress blog?
      I always sign in before commenting because I don’t want to trouble myself with email n blog url.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads