Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Padang Bulan (The Field of Moon)

Review saya dalam bahasa Indonesia bisa dibaca di HAL 2

I will write my review in 2 languages because I think Andrea Hirata deserves world wide recognition.

This is Andrea Hirata’s 5th book. He had written the tetralogy of Rainbow Troops before this book. Rainbow Troops, the 1st book of his tetralogy, has been translated into English and I’m planning to give the book away on my 1000th post (this review is my 779th post), it’ll be my 1st book giveaway, so if you read this review and curious about his book, wait for my giveaway post 🙂

Here’s an article about Rainbow Troops.

The Field of Moon is the first book of his The Field of Moon Series. There are 2 books in this series, The Field of Moon and Love Inside a Glass. One thing you need to know about Andrea Hirata’s series is that, there are not a series you need to follow all the time like Harry Potter, all his books can be read separately.

The Field of Moon tells the journey of life of 2 people, a woman named Maryamah who used to be called as Enong and Ikal (a nickname that represent Andrea himself). Enong had to face a tragic life since childhood. Her dream was to be able to speak English fluently, but the faith brought her into different path. She came from a poor family, her father saved up some money to buy her an English dictionary. She was thrilled when she received it and treasured it more than people treasured their gold. Not long after that day, her father passed away, leaving her with her mother and her 3 sisters. She quited from her school but still holding strong to her dream, she worked as hard as she could so that none of her sisters have to leave school like her. She became the first woman who sought for tin in traditional way. This traditional way is called mendulang, I don’t know how to translate it into English.


The story of Ikal was not as tragic as Enong. He was trying to get the woman he loved so much, A Ling from a very handsome man named Zinar. He asked for a help from his best friend, a detective wannabe named M. Nur. His struggles to get his girlfriend back in his arm were full of funny actions. I don’t usually read books about struggle for woman/man’s love but his struggle here is very funny and it made me enjoy reading it. It could make me laugh so hard even though I was reading in the bus full of people. M. Nur was really crazy in his own ways.

Somewhere in between, Ikal and Enong met and their faith crossed each other.

This book is not as deep as Rainbow Troops but still as enjoyable as all his books. What I like the most about him is the way he plays with words. He tries to write all the sentences in a very beautiful sentence. He has unusual personification or comparison between human’s behavior, animal and things. He can exaggerate things without making us feel like it is exaggerate. He spotlights the life of ordinary people in Melayu…and it’s so interesting to read about those ordinary people with their extraordinary life.

To sum it all, after reading The Field of Moon, he still secures his place as my favorite Indonesian Author.

The way this book is published is also interesting. Both The Field of Moon and Love Inside a Glass are printed in one book but they are treated as 2 books. Love Inside a Glass is printed after The Field of Moon but in opposite direction, so that you have to turn the book upside down to read it. It is a bit difficult to explain, just look at the picture below.

You can read my teaser on this book here.

My rating is .

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

7 comments on “Padang Bulan (The Field of Moon)

  1. Elgart
    November 20, 2010

    Quite sounds interesting! The book title is certainly fascinating. Here in the Philippines ‘Bulan’ means moon. Is it the same there in in Indonesia? I hope there will be an English version of this book.

    • Novroz
      November 20, 2010

      I hope so too, at least his 1st book has already been translated into English.

      Bulan means moon too in Indonesia. I heard an interview of Christian Bautista once, and it seems that we have some common words, maybe because our countries are close to each other

  2. deady
    November 21, 2010

    menarik. Sungguh menarik. Ah Andrea emang sudah terkenal mengaduk-aduk emosi pembacanya,
    satu hal yang pasti, tinggal nunggu pinjeman aja nih. Hehehe. Males beli

    • Novroz
      November 21, 2010

      Hahaha…ga modal nih ;p
      Makasih dah berkunjung Deady

  3. Tari-ssi
    November 21, 2010

    novel ini memang bagus. salut!

  4. Caroline
    November 21, 2010

    I will have to wait patiently until I can read it. I am afraid though that a translation will not get the nuances in the language and the symbolism.

    • Novroz
      November 22, 2010

      I will read the book 1st, at least 1 paragraph and tell everyone does the translation represent the nuance in the original book or not.
      But I heard that, Andrea himself feels satisfy with the translation. If he is satisfy, we can assume it was good.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads