Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Turtle Puzzle

I’ve already written about my Kame’s shedding before (in Indonesian, in English). I collected all her scutes because I want to put them all together again. This might be a silly action but, it’s fun, it’s like a puzzle.

There are 2 kinds of shedding, thin layer and thick layer. It’s hard to collect the thin layer, fortunately, Kame sheds thick layer scute. I’ve spent few hours of my weekend to reunite Kame’s scutes. I took a picture before and after I put them all together again.

The picture below is her top Carapace. There are 14 scutes. I glued them all with pieces of fabric to hold them together because the areas to glue them are too narrow. The fabrics are glued inside the carapace. See the picture below! On the left is the scattered scutes and on the right is the glued scutes.

In this picture below, I put Kame next to her old scutes and took her picture, just to compare it.  I also put her old scutes on top of her new ones. Fortunately, Kame is a good model…she stayed still until I finished taking her pictures.

This next picture shows her Plastron. There are 12 scutes. The left one is the scattered scutes, the right one is the glued scutes and Kame to compare it. I couldn’t put it on top of her new scutes because Kame couldn’t stay long enough when she was upside-down. Some of her plastron’s scutes are broken, I cover it with another black fabric.

This last picture is her side carapace. There are 27 scutes. This one is a bit difficult because of its shape.

Here is the final stage of the puzzle 🙂

You might think that gluing these scutes is a waste of time 😉 but for me, due to my love for Kame, this is NOT a waste of time at all.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

11 comments on “Turtle Puzzle

  1. Scala
    November 4, 2010

    That’s so cool! We used to have a turtle too until he was stolen by some neighborhood kids. Unfortunately I hadn’t paid attention to him while he was still with us.

    • Novroz
      November 4, 2010

      How could he be stole? did you put him outside the house?

      Both mine are inside the house and I have moved them to my room because my room is big enough.

      • Scala
        November 5, 2010

        He lived at an open area behind our house. Now some kids used to climb the over the wall there.

        • Novroz
          November 5, 2010

          Those are bad kids…let’s just hope he is still living properly till this day:)

          • Scala
            November 5, 2010

            You’re right.

  2. Caroline
    November 6, 2010

    Amazing. Really amazing. It also makes me think how some things in nature have their similarities. I have pine cones here, with the little pine nuts inside. The little bits (don’t know the technical name) look like the scutes. You went to a lot of effort to reconstruct it. I totally understand. If it was my turtle I would do the same. (The blog looks really great now. It is more personalized.)

    • Novroz
      November 6, 2010

      I never thought about it before but after you’ve mentioned it…you’re right, they do look similar.
      Fellow petlovers will understand my effort 🙂 -thanks- people who don’t own/love their pet always look at me as if I am from another planet whenever I told them of what I have done with my pet’s leftover (scutes can be considered as leftover, right?)

      Thank you, I need to make the font a bit bigger tho…I wish it can be done without doing it through html page. The background I have made doesn’t fit well, will have to remake it soon.

  3. Asop
    November 10, 2010

    Waaaaah hobi sekali ya ama kura-kura… 😳 Takjub…

    Itu kulitnya bisa tahan ampe berapa lama? Diawetin! 😀

    • Novroz
      November 10, 2010

      Hehe bukan hobi…tapi suaaayyyyaaaanggg… sangat sayang sama 2 mahluk imut2 itu.

      Itu bukan Kulit Sop tapi scute, sy ga tau bahasa Indonesianya scute apa…’kurang lebih bagian2 penyusun cangkangnya’ kali ya. Karena sifatnya seperti kuku manusia jd kayaknya bisa tahan lama walaupun tanpa bahan pengawet

      • Asop
        November 11, 2010

        Ah iya, itulah pokoknya, entah apa aja namanya. :mrgreen:

        Seperti yang saya bilang dulu, kura2 kalo dirawat dengan baik dan penuh kasih sayang, bisa tampak anggun juga… 😳 (bahkan scute-nya pun anggun :mrgreen:)

  4. Pingback: They Are on the Wall Now :) « Kame & Kroten Blog

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2010 by in Kame&Kroten and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads