Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

ゲド 戦記 (Tales From The Earthsea)

This is the worst Ghibli’s animation I have ever seen!!

I feel sorry saying that sentence to open my review on my number one animation studio, but that is my honest opinion. I’ve seen lots of animation from Studio Ghibli and I always love their works … I love it more than all those Hollywood animation studio combined into one … but Gedo Senki (ゲド 戦記) or Tales From The Earthsea is clearly the worst animation from Ghibli. I’m not going to say that it is the worst animation ever, because it still has good things about it.

The artwork is still amazing. I love the color, especially on the dragon. Simply said, the artwork is still as great as always.

The flaw comes from the story. It was boring!! I almost turned it off before it was over, but I kept it going out of curiosity. I wanted to know how it ends, maybe the ending will make it up. There are too many holes in the movie, it isn’t engaging enough.

The story is about a prince named Arren (Okada Junichi) who killed his father and took away his sword. He ran away from his kingdom after he killed his father. He met a great wizard named Sparrowhawk or Ged (Bunta Sugawara). Ged took Arren to a city where slavery is still allowed. He saved a girl from being taken as a slave. Ged took Arren to live with his friend, Tenar (Jun Fubuki). Tenar lived with a girl whom Arren saved earlier, her name was Therru (Aoi Teshima).

Somewhere along the story, Lord Cob (Yoko Tanaka) found out that Ged lived in the city. He hated Ged and wanted to take revenge on him.

Those characters have other name which they call as their real name…till the end of the movie, I still didn’t know what’s the use of that real name. And I am still confused why a certain character can turn into a dragon?

The animation is too weak, unlike most Ghibli’s animations which alwas feel so strong and powerful. I can totally understand why Toki o Kakeru Shoujo (The Girl Who Leapt Through Time) able to defeat this animation in Japan Academy Prize for Animation of the Year.

Tales From the Earthsea is directed by Goro Miyazaki, Hayao Miyazaki’s son. I guess the shoe left by Hayao is just too big for Goro to fill. The animation was released in July 29, 2006. From Wikipedia.com, to no surprise, I found out that Gedo Senki won Worst Movie in bunshun’s raspberry awards and Worst Director.

The story it self is based on a combination of Earthsea series (Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, The Farthest Shore, and Tehanu) by Ursula K. Le Guin. I am now curious about the book because the author said the animation is different with what she has written, but I know for sure that it won’t be easy to find. I’ve seen the translated version but I want to read the English version of this book.

Logline from the movie:

かつて 人 と 竜 は 一つ だった
(Katsute hito to tatsu wa hitotsu datta).
(Rough translation: Once human and dragon were one)

My rating for Gedo Senki is .

My other reviews on Studio Ghibli’s amazing animations:

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “ゲド 戦記 (Tales From The Earthsea)

  1. Caroline
    October 27, 2010

    I think you should find Le Guin’s Earthsea books easily. It is one of her most famous. I got it here but haven’t started. I think she is a great writer. They could have done a great animation with it. Too bad.

    • Novroz
      October 27, 2010

      I have seen the book yesterday but it was already translated into Indonesian language, I want to read the English one. Will be looking around in imported bookstore early this year.

      Ghibli usually made great animation, I like their version of Howl’s Moving Castle. This is the new generation of Ghibli, I hope it won’t continue like this.

  2. Caroline
    October 27, 2010

    I think I got Princesse Mononoké, that’s Ghibli, right? And what about Chiriho. I got that too. I saw the end on TV and was so fascinated I had to buy it but never watched it. Got a third one, probably The Moving Castle. I really need to watch them. Which one did you prefer of those? But you are totally right, this is much more beautiful than the Hollywood ones.

    • Novroz
      October 27, 2010

      Yup, Princess Mononoke is from Ghibli…the story is beautiful, it shows the harmony of human, animals and nature.

      Chihiro is on my top list of Ghibli’s animation….the best animation I have ever seen. I have reviewed it here http://t.co/tFokjgg (full of spoiler). Chihiro is my 1st love toward Ghibli.

      Another one I have reviewed is Ponyo http://t.co/kbT9m9T

      For Ponyo and Chihiro, I took extra time to capture and edit the scenes from those movies.

      You might want to search Hotaru no Hoka (The Firefly’s grave) – been meaning to review it but always got delayed – a sad story of 2 children during WWII. I highly recommend it for your allaboutwarmovies.

      I’m glad you agree with me 🙂 I still value the art of drawing animation rather than digital animation. I don’t know the right name for this kind of animation, so I just come out with the name ‘drawing animation’.

  3. Caroline
    October 27, 2010

    That is a good idea (The Firefly’s grave). I think there are a few animated war films.

    • Novroz
      October 28, 2010

      I’ll be waiting for your review 🙂

  4. Asop
    October 28, 2010

    Waduh, padahal studio ghibli ya.. 😦

    • Novroz
      October 28, 2010

      Iya…sayang bgt kan 😦 tapi artworknya masih ttp oke 🙂

  5. Caroline
    December 17, 2010

    I just found this site. It looks interesting what she says about the movie.
    http://www.ursulakleguin.com/GedoSenkiResponse.html

    • Novroz
      December 17, 2010

      Wow…thank you for the link, I enjoy reading it.
      It”snot surprising that even the writer didn’t enjoy this movie. As I said before, too many holes needed to be filled. Poor Ursula,she wanted the father but got the son.

      • Caroline
        December 18, 2010

        I thought you might like it. The site as a whole is interesting. I am in the mood to read one of her books now.

        • Novroz
          December 18, 2010

          Her books are already in my to-search list since I watched this animation. Will try to find it after I reduce my pile of books I currently have on my shelf

  6. Marc
    July 22, 2011

    Have to agree with you completely, Earthsea was just so boring. I had to watch it again thinking I missed something, but no. I was right the first time:(

    Can’t really fault Goro as this looked very nice and he did a decent job when you consider he isn’t really an animator or ever directed anything before (he chose to pursue a career in construction management and now he runs the Ghibli museum). But with the high standards of Ghibli this doesn’t deserve to be called a Ghibli title. So sad:(

    • Novroz
      July 22, 2011

      I didn’t know that (Goro’s past)..no wonder he need extra time to follow his father’s step.
      The art is still interesting to see…it is the story that makes it boring. We have seen how Hayao changed Howl and Ponyo in a way that make them as something fresh…but Goro failed to do such thing with Tales of The Earthsea. But I am not going to avoid him yet, let’s give him time and see his next animation which comes out this month. The story is by Hayao, so it will probably be better.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2010 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads