Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Doubt by Yoshiki Tonogai

I bought this manga 4 or 5 months ago, I was checking the manga shelf to find One Piece (as always) but there wasn’t any new volume for One Piece yet. I decided to buy something anyway, I didn’t bother to look in the same area as they put One Piece because ONLY One Piece is worth buying. The other mangas are not into my liking, I headed straight to Level Comic area. Level Comic is a branch of Elex Media Computindo (the publisher that publishes most manga in Indonesia) that specialized in adult manga. Adult here doesn’t mean that it contains ‘adult scene’, they labeled it adult because of its complicated story.

I saw Doubt volume 4, the cover was very intriguing. I bought it right away without ever reading any review on it before. This volume is the last volume in the series, I needed to find the previous 3 volumes. I found the 2nd Manga in the same place. I had to go to another mall, which is quite far from my house, to find the 3rd one. I searched the 1st volume EVERYWHERE but couldn’t find it. This manga is a mystery manga, it won’t be fun to read it straight to 2nd volume…I needed the 1st volume badly. Because I couldn’t find it, I had to use the illegal way to read it, I downloaded the 1st volume from internet.

I have written my reason to buy this book and how hard it is to find it, now let me share the story to you. I’ll give my comment after this.

Doubt 1

Doubt 1 consist of 4 chapters; Player, Game Start, Key Item and Go On. In this volume, we are introduced to 6 characters that will be the center of the story. Yu Aikawa was waiting for his online friends when out of nowhere Mitsuki Hoyama came and surprised him. Yu and Mitsuki were really close, they’ve been friends since childhood. Not long after that, Haruka Akechi, Eiji Hoshi, and Rei Hazama showed up. Yu, Haruka, Eiji and Rei met in an online game named Rabbit Doubt. (Click the words to see what is Rabbit Doubt)


The six of them went to a Karaoke Club. Rei told them that she used to be Saimin Shoujo (the hypnosis Girl – a famous TV show) but she had been hiding since people accused her of lying. They were having fun in the karaoke club.  But the fun didn’t last long, all of them were drugged and brought into an abandon building.

When Yu woke up, he met the last person in their online friend, Hajime Kobama. They found out that Rei Hazama had died, she was hung on the wall with 2 spikes through her hand and heart. They were now inside the real-life game of Rabbit Doubt. They needed to find the wolf among them.

Doubt 2

Doubt 2 consists of 5 chapters; File, Restraint, Traitor, Disappear, and Incoming. In this 2nd book, the tension between players had risen to its peak. No one believed anyone anymore. They even tied one of the players because they were so sure he was the wolf. Their first plan was to stick together so the wolf couldn’t kill anymore, but in this book they walked their own path. Trust was no longer exist among them.

I’m not going to write much about the next two books because it will give too many spoilers. To make it simple, in the last two books, Tonogai makes us keep on guessing and try to find the wolf. I really love the thrill that keep on rising on the last two books and the reason why the game exist is being told little by little.

There are 5 chapters in Doubt 3; they are Compulsion, Parting, Solution, An end, and Reason.

There are 6 chapters in Doubt 4; they are Last Chance, Avenger, Photo, Lost, Truth, and Ending.

Yoshiki Tonogai can make me glued and thrilled to read what’ll happen next to this group. He can also force my brain to try finding out who is the wolf. It was an engaging story. I am glad that my guess on the wolf was half right half wrong, Tonogai made a good twist at the end…a very good twist if I may add.

However, there are some parts that don’t fit together. I keep trying to find if I have misread it somehow. But I couldn’t find any missing information no matter how many times I read it. I’m going to write my thought in the second page because it contains spoiler. If you want to read this manga one day, you don’t have to click the second page of this post

As for the art work, I really like it. I enjoy every panel in this Manga. Each panel is drawn with all the necessary details to fill the story. This is one of the reasons why I like Shounen Manga (Manga for boys) or mystery manga more than Shoujo Manga (manga for girls), the panels are always detail, not just a blank panel which fills only with the chara without taking care of the details in the surrounding background. And a big thank you to Level Comic for keeping the colored pages, I love those colored pages.

These little rabbits are so cute, they appeared in the empty paper (last page of each chapter). I recommend everyone to read this Manga, of course, if they like mystery.

Rating:

====================================================

There are 5 challenges involve in reading this Manga, as my 2nd post for Hello Japan! Mini challenge for October, my 6th book for R.I.P. Challenge V, my 12th book for New Author Challenge 2010, my 8th manga for Manga Challenge, and my first manga review for Japanese Literature Challenge 4.

Click the second page if you don’t mind reading spoiler 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

19 comments on “Doubt by Yoshiki Tonogai

  1. Asop
    October 8, 2010

    Huahahaha, gila ini manga lumayan keren, ending-nya gak terduga. 😀
    Saya ama adik saya sepakat ini anime mirip kayak “SAW”, tapi dengan ending yang bener2 mengejutkan. Sangat mengejutkan. 🙂

    • Novroz
      October 8, 2010

      Yup…manga yg keren, akan jauh lebih bagus jika tanpa kekurangan2 yg sy tulis di halaman 2. Bagian2 tersebut terkesan maksa bgt. Tp overall baguslah.

  2. Carin B.
    October 9, 2010

    I think next year I’m going to try some manga since you are such a big reader for it. I will keep these in mind. They sound pretty good. I have Cowboy Bebop and also Akira and Ghost in the Shell so I’ll read those first, but after that I’ll raid your blog for suggestions!

    • Novroz
      October 9, 2010

      Unfortunately, I don’t read manga as much as I used to. Nowadays mangas are so childish. But I always keep my eyes open for more complicated manga.
      I’m now trying to re-read old manga that I have read before I made my blog so that I can review them better. The old mangas are better than nowadays mangas, in my opinion.

      I have watched anime of Akira and Ghost In the Shell years ago, but I haven’t read the manga yet.

  3. Kailana
    October 9, 2010

    Oh, yes, One Piece! I really must get back to that series!

  4. Caroline
    October 9, 2010

    This sounds good as well but as I wrote before I never read a Manga and still think I will try One Piece first. I can get it easily here so that’s good too.

    • Novroz
      October 9, 2010

      I should warn you that One Piece is VERY long!!! For me, it is the best Manga ever written so I don’t mind if it Reached 100 volumes. For a new Manga reader, you should try shorter ones like this, it only consists of 4 volumes

  5. Parrish
    October 10, 2010

    not really got into Manga, keep meaning to give it a go.
    ps. just checked out Hello Japan & at the moment it’s just us 2

    • Novroz
      October 10, 2010

      I can understand, it is a bit difficult to start something new, I have been reading manga since I was still in junior high.

      Hahaha don’t worry…sometimes there was only me for a couple of week. Most of the participants will show up at the last days

  6. dhilaaz
    October 10, 2010

    waaaaaa ini bagus ya miss? udah lama tertarik pengen beli tiap ke toko buku tapi ga jadi mulu.. kalo emang bagus jadi beli deh ntar klo ke toko buku lagi, moga2 masih ada >_<

    • Novroz
      October 10, 2010

      Kemungkinan besar UDAH GA ADA, hehe sy nyari yg ketiga aja smp keliling kesana kemari. Yg kesatu harus DL.

      Level comic terbatas bgt sih kalo nyetak komiknya.

      • dhilaaz
        January 29, 2011

        eke nemu vol 2, 3, dan 4 di tempat yang sama.. hahaha. vol 1 bener2 dah ga ada ya? hmm

  7. tanabata
    November 2, 2010

    This does sound like an interesting short manga series, even with the plot holes you mentioned. One of the main reasons I haven’t read more manga (other than never having enough time to do everything I want to) is because it’s hard to know which ones have complicated, interesting stories for adults. Like you said, there are so many childish ones. Thanks as always for joining in Hello Japan! and for your enthusiasm! 🙂

    • Novroz
      November 2, 2010

      You can do the same thing as I always do…go with your hunch 😉 There are a lot of great manga out there.

      No thanks needed 🙂 I enjoy your challenge and one of my favorite challenges. It has turned into a monthly post for me.

  8. Redian Rudofl
    March 30, 2012

    nie mangaaaaaaaaa is the beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeest@!!!!!!!!!!! aku dah baca all of them dan sempat keliru nebak pelakunyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, aku gak nyangka *** pelaku nyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa……….. tapi ni manga patut dibaca

    • Novroz
      March 30, 2012

      Hi Redian
      Wah senangnya ada juga yang suka sama manga ini. Sayangnya manga ini susah bgt dicarinya. Gw dah dapat semua volumenya, yang pertama gw dapat di toko buku bekas.

      Maaf ya, komennya sy edit karena aga spoiler ntar jadi ngebocorin cerita 😉

  9. tiya novlita
    February 11, 2013

    In fact, there are many flaws on this manga, aside from that you’ve been mentioned. Some things just doesn’t follow the logic. The artwork is what keep me entertaining though. Judge, as a sequel to Doubt, has a similar premise. Let’s see what will happen next…

    • Novroz
      February 12, 2013

      I agree…but the one I mentioned is the one that annoyed me the most…it’s like a fatal mistake.

      I have judge but not complete…so I haven’t read it yet.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,555 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads