Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Cujo

After sitting nicely on my bookshelf for almost a year, I finally picked it up. It took this long for me to start reading it NOT because I don’t like Stephen King but simply because there were always better books from Stephen King that made this book got pushed to the last queuing line.

I’ve heard good thing about Cujo, even Hollywood had made movie out of it. I honestly thought it was about demon dog that likes to rip people off…but I was wrong. It was about a rabid St. Bernard, a 200 pounds St. Bernard to be exact.

Before writing the summary of the book, I want to share my opinion first. In the beginning of the book, I didn’t have the excitement I usually got from Mr. King’s book…but I kept on reading it. Somewhere in the middle, it bored me to death. I even skimmed some part, reading only the first few lines in each paragraph and then move to the next paragraph. It felt like it’ll never end. But, when it finally reached the end, the tension was rising quite high and finally found the joy of reading Stephen King‘s book. I was going to give Cujo 2 stars (it was okay) but because of the ending it got an extra star and become a 3 stars book (I like it).

The story is basically about 2 families, the Trenton and the Cambers. The Trenton consists of Vic, Donna and little Tad. The Cambers are Joe, Charity, little Brett and Cujo the St. Bernard. Both of the family had their own family’s problem. These two families were not alike to each other.

Vic Trenton and Roger’s company was on the brink of loosing their major income. They decided to go to New York to save their contract. A couple of days before he left his family to go to New York, he received an anonymous letter saying that Donna was having an affair. He had to leave his family despite of the problem in his married.

Charity Cambers just won a lottery and tried to make a deal with his husband to let her see her little sister, she wanted to take Brett along. Joe was not a nice man, he was a hard headed drunk. After much negotiation, Joe let Charity and Brett went to her sister’s house. A couple of days before their leaving, Cujo – a very kind 200 pound St. Bernard – was bitten by a rabid bat. No one knew about Cujo’s condition.

After both Vic and Charity left Castle Rock, things started to look ugly. Cujo couldn’t hold the virus in his brain anymore. His mind was full of hatred toward people around him. He killed 2 people in the same day. On the next day, Donna and Tad took her car to Cambers’s garage to be fixed…but what she found was a big rabid dog ready to launch his attack on both Donna and Tad.

That’s all I can write about the story…what happened next is something you have to read for your self.

What I don’t like about this book is mostly because of the series of bad lucks or bad coincidences that kept happening along the story. One bad coincident after another is really making me bored. There was a point where I wanted to put down the book and just forget about it…but I held back because I love Mr. King’s works, fortunately it got better at the end. I could say that the boredom was paid off.

My next Stephen King is Under The Dome 🙂 I’m looking forward to read this, but I have to put a gap of 4 books before reading another one by the great Mr. king.

=============================================================
This review is shared as my 3rd book for R.I.P Challenge V and my 13th book for Suspense and Thriller Challenge 2010.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

11 comments on “Cujo

  1. Kailana
    September 20, 2010

    I own this book, I think, but I have never been a huge King fan. I should read some of his books at some point, though.

    • Novroz
      September 21, 2010

      Don’t expect too much from this book…and this is coming from a HUGE Stephen King’s fan 😉

      You should read his other works first, such as Green Mile, The Stand, The Shining, etc.

  2. Kate
    September 21, 2010

    I haven’t read this book in years, and all I can remember about it was a killer dog! That has to say something about how much I enjoyed it! Thanks for the trip down book-memory lane.

    • Novroz
      September 21, 2010

      I’m glad you enjoyed it Kate, tho I am somewhere in the middle

  3. Alice Audrey
    September 22, 2010

    My son just read this. He wasn’t real articulate about it, but I think he had the same reaction.

  4. Caroline
    September 22, 2010

    I think the only book by Stephen King I have read, apart from On Writing which I enjoyed a lot, is Carrie. Not bad. I saw quite a few movies based on his books though. I am not really tempted by Cujo, I guess it would rather read another one first.

    • Novroz
      September 22, 2010

      I haven’t read Carrie yet, but I will one day 🙂

      I love Stephen King and I want to read all his works. As a King’s Fan, I also advice you to try something else before this book

  5. Kay
    September 22, 2010

    This is the first King’s book that I read, I think the story would be much more exciting if those parts about the cereal commercial was erased,haha

    • Novroz
      September 22, 2010

      You read the wrong book to be your 1st Stephen King Kay 😉

  6. movieandmusic101
    September 23, 2010

    I actually loath this book with a burning passion! I read it 3 years ago and liked no minute of it, just a horrible book. I love Stephen King, his best imo are The Gunslinger and Cell. This is just week, but goo review!

    • Novroz
      September 23, 2010

      Honestly…if this is not by Stephen King, I have put the book down and read another book…but because I love the man, I try to finish it. At least I enjoy the last 50 pages of it…when things started to be more suspenful.

      I second you on Cell 🙂 I want to read Cell again. I love it. But I don’t really like The Gunslinger, the writing style is a bit off for me

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads