Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Top 5 TV Characters

This is my 1st guest post in this lovely blog of mine 🙂

I ask a student of mine (well, actually she is no longer my student since she had graduated 2 years ago.) to write something for my blog. This is an attempts to make her start taking interest in making her own blog.  She is good in writing, tho sometimes a bit exaggerate 😉

She will be the one who write my monthly top 5 post 🙂

Click the picture to see my other top-5 list

She Doesn’t specified this top 5, I will do it for her. I want you to choose ONLY human characters 🙂

==============================================

First of all, I’d like to thank MiNo for allowing me to post my own top 5 in her blog. This is a really great opportunity for me to–Oh,

who are we kidding here, MiNo?? You practically BEGGED me to post one, didn’t you?? I pitied you, so I agreed. LOL!

Jokes aside, now i’d like to present my own top 5. Your top 5’s have been movie/novel related, right? Mine is going to be just a teenie-meenie different, which is:

TOP 5 TV CHARACTERS!!!!

So, here we go, from #5 – #1!



5. Sebastian Stark >> Shark

I think Shark is one of the most underrated shows in the history of US TV! I mean, Shark is definitely better than some of those unecessary CSI series! This show has great castings, brilliant plot and story line, and it makes you understand the world of American court better! A little secret, watching this series kinda made me want to be a district attorney! 😛

Anyway, Sebastian Stark (played by the genius James Wood) is a cutthroat L.A. hot-shot lawyer who leaves his lucrative career as defender of rich criminals to join the public prosecution under the District Attorney (D.A.). He’s divorced but still maintains a mutual relationship with his ex. He has a smart-yet-sometimes-rebelious teenage daughter whom he cares most in the world, and she’s the only other person who lives in his house. What I like the most about this character is that he is vicious and relentless when he faces a case, but he cares for his assistants and fellow investigators. Stark is sharp and filled with quick smart comebacks (like every lawyer, I guess), but it’s his epic sarcasm that I like the most. You should really watch this season. It’s James Wood at his best! Unfortunatelly this series only lasted for 3 seasons (one of the world mystery I may never understand).

His quotes:

“I am great, and yet… I am humble.”

“Hey, your job is to win. Justice is God’s problem.”

“An eye for an eye? I guess that’s why they say justice is blind.”

4. Barney >> How I met Your Mother



I’ve just become a fan of this TV series this year so I have to say i’ve missed some great seasons. I’m still trying to catch up, by the way.

What got my attention to this series is none other than Barney, played perfectly by Neil Patrick Harris. No wonder he won an Emmy for this! He’s like playboy Joey from Friends, but with more swagger and no remorse. If Joey has that famous “How ya doin’” remark, Barnie has one too, which is: “Suit up!”. He has this ‘thing’ with suits and whenever he brings his buddies to have fun, he always tell them to change into a suit because it resembles happiness and joy. Go figure.

Some of his ‘inspiring’ quotes are:

“Ted! Look: our forefathers died for the pursuit of happiness! Not the “sit-around-and-wait” of happiness! Now if you want, you can go to the same bar, drink the same beer, talk to the same people every day, *or*, you can *lick* the Liberty Bell! You can grab life by the crack and lick the crap out of it!”

“The killer in a horror movie does not stand in front of the camp cabins with a bullhorn and shout, “Attention, unguarded teens! At 3:00 I will jump out of that closet and hack you to death with a machete.””

3. Joey Tribbiani >> Friends

How could you NOT fall in love with this playboy-yet-gulibble struggling actor?! He and Phoebe are, without a doubt, one of the most memorable characters in TV history! I mean, everytime I hear, “How you doin’?”, I imidiately remember that smug yet hilarious expression and that over-confident grin of his! Genius! I also love the fact that it’s not always about stupid expressions and silly comments with Joey. His feelings for Rachel is probably one of the sweetest I’ve ever seen, and his loyalty for Chandler is something that I think a lot of guys can relate to.

Some of my fav.scenes of Joey:

“Netherlands is this make believe place where Peter Pan and Tinkerbell come from.”

“This sucks. When I had health insurance I could… catch on fire, you know, or get hit by a bus. Now I gotta be careful?”

2. Kurt Hummel >> Glee

Chris Colfer actually auditioned for a different character in Glee. He was, according to the casting director, the least experienced of all the main stars who auditioned, because he just graduated from high school (read: fresh from the oven. LOL!) But the casting directors couldn’t get Chris’s great first impression out of his mind, so he ended up writing an entirely new character just so Chris could get a part! How amazing is that?! And I can honestly say that THAT is probably the best decision Glee’s casting director has ever made, because I personally think that without Kurt Hummel and all his…flamboyant fashion, Glee wouldn’t be forever the same.

Character background: After his mother died, Kurt was raised by his father, a manly mechanic who loves football. He bravely tells his father he’s gay and all his friends in glee club accept him for who he is. In the club, he’s one of the 3 ‘divas’ (alongside Rachel and Mercedes) who always compete for a solo in every song routine, but he’s difinitely in the top spot when it comes to fashion!

My favorite lines from Kurt?

“You’re extremely talented, Rachel — watching you perform is amazing — but sometimes it’s hard to appreciate what a good singer you are, because all I’m thinking about is shoving a sock into your mouth.”

“They’re gonna throw fruit at us. And I just had a facial!”

(before getting thrown into the dumpster by the bullies) “One day, you will all work for me.”

xD

Aaaaaand….. My number one favorite TV character iiiis:

1. Sue Silvester >> Glee

Jane Lynch should have won an Emmy for playing this…this…I can’t even put into words to describe this character!

Little background for this character: She is an over-the-top ambitious cheerleader coach of McKinley High who will stop at nothing do destroy the school’s glee club. Why? Because school’s budget has been tight according to the principal, so some of the money that used to be for the cheerleaders club are transferred to relive the glee club. And for someone who’s been named cheerleading coach of the decade by Splits magazine for her outrageous cheers routine and has her own spot on the local news like Sue, this is just unacceptable! Hahahahaha!

Sue Silvester is..menacingly lovable (is that even possible? Hahahaha!), horrificly brilliant, and all-time hilarious! I love the fact that she is as evil as the devil itself, yet somehow still posesses a soft side when it comes to her sister. Almost ALL her lines in Glee are worth quoting since they are so freakin’ outrageous! I mean, see for yourself:

“I’m going to ask you to smell your armpits. That’s the smell of failure , and it’s stinking up my office.”

“I am going to create an environment that it so toxic, no one will want to be a part of that club. Like the time I sold my house to a nice young couple, and I salted the earth in the backyard so that nothing living could grow there for a hundred years. You know why I did that? Because they tried to get me to pay their closing costs.”

“I’m off to notify the Ohio secretary of state that I will no longer be carrying photo ID… because people should know who I am.”

“Glee club. Every time I try to destroy that clutch of scab-eating mouth-breathers, it only comes back stronger, like some sexually-ambiguous horror movie villain.”

“I don’t trust a man with curly hair. I can’t help, but picturing birds laying sulfurous eggs in there and I find it disgusting.”

“I am reasonably confident you will be adding revenge to the long list of things you’re no good at, right next to being married, running a high school glee club, and finding a hairstyle that doesn’t make you look like a lesbian.”

Brilliant! Whoever write her lines should get a lifetime achievement award!

By the way, here are some characters that didn’t make it to my list but still worth mentioning:

Rachel Berry (Glee)

“I’m like Tinkerbell, Finn, I need applause to live!”

Chandler Bing (Friends)

“You know what’s weird? Donald Duck never wore pants. But whenever he’s getting out of the shower, he always puts a towel around his waist. I mean, what is that about?”

Marc St. James (Ugly Betty)

“I swear on the abs of Mark Wahlberg.”

Peter Petrelli (Heroes)

“Our powers are weapons of choice.”

Bill Compton (True Blood)

“Vampires are always in some kind of trouble. I prefer to be in it with you”

PS: I don’t follow the movie anymore because it’s so…’adult’, but damn, this guy is hot! xD

So…….

care to give me your version? 🙂

=========================================

Check Wulan’s facebook account and twitter account.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

16 comments on “Top 5 TV Characters

  1. Novroz
    September 10, 2010

    Thank you for doing this Lan 🙂

    Now I will share my Top 5, I have already limit it only for Human characters. My version of Top 5 TV Characters will have no quotes because I’m too lazy to search them using my mobilephone.

    Here you go:

    5. Simon Cowell (American Idol)
    A straightforward man. He was the most honest judge in AI. His words were the one I waited in every AI. Paula was too honest, Randy was too plain…Simon was the one that keep it interesting. There was a rumour saying that Simon will leave AI, tho I haven’t watched AI since 2 years ago (blame it on my local TV Station) but AI without Simon will be a salad without vegetables.

    4. Dwight Schultz (Murdoc from The A Team)

    I pretty sure I didn’t write his name correctly. He was my favorite member of The A team. Crazy Murdoc was the one that make The A Team became so lively.

    3. David Duchovny (Fox Mulder from The X Files)

    A brilliant profiler, a smart man that thinks outside the box, a FBI agent that doesn’t give a shit of what people think. Fox Mulder is the one that keeps me watching The X Files for years. When they decided to kill Mulder and changed him with another character…that was the day I stopped watching The X Files.

    2. Nakama Yukie (Yankumi from Gakusen)
    A yakuza girl who wanted to be a teacher more than continuing her family business. She is a different kind of teacher compare to my number one character, both of them have different style of teaching…but the basic is the same…Theya are students oriented kind of teacher.

    1. Takeshi Sorimachi (Great Teacher Onizuka)

    A bad boy turned into a great teacher…what else can I say? I love his character a lot. He made me become the kind of teacher I am now. A teacher who believes in his students and no students should be consider as trash.

    There you have it!! my top 5 TV Characters 🙂 it’s fun to be the one who write this top 5 in the comment form 😉

  2. wulaaan....
    September 10, 2010

    Hahahahaha! Nice one!!!

    Btw,yes,simon is leaving. There will be no simon next season. In fact,the only remaining original judge in the latest season is randy! Too bad,eh?

    • Novroz
      September 10, 2010

      Fortunately Local TVstation don’t show it anymore 😉

  3. Olive
    September 10, 2010

    Great list, I would probably say that Kurt from Glee was my fave, but Sue is also another worthy winner as you say. I think Chandler Bing is probably my fave over Joey from friends and Phoebe is my favourite female character.

  4. noitakarai
    September 11, 2010

    here’s mine

    1. Gregory House, House MD
    i had a lot of reason to make him number one on my fave character list.

    2. Det. Mac Taylor, CSI NY
    mac Taylor with his blue eyes always be the walking library to all his team on NYPD, if they got stuck on their investigation they always have Mac to ask ….

    3. Det. Horatio Cain, CSI Miami
    he is a very wise man, and he always say something good on every beginning of the serial ….

    4. All the gay character on tv serial (Marc st. James on Ugly Betty and Kurt on Glee) …
    the gay character always lovely, they funny, fashionable and they also always a very good best friend. Look at Kurt with Marcedes, and marc with Amanda ….

    5. Prof. Charles Epps, NUMB3RS
    Charlie is a very complicated character. Because of him fron now on i always looking for pattern on everything is happen …. he is very smart and also weird person…
    he always had a great conversation, a science also funny talks with Larry, his friend. Larry is also a professor on Cal sci university and just like charlie he is complicated and weird.

  5. wulaaan....
    September 11, 2010

    @olive yes,sue is clearly on her own league! Hahahaha..

    @noitakarai wow! A CSI fan! I think two actresses from Shark moved to CSI after the show got cancelled.
    I love your pick for no.4,by the way! Way to sum up! Lol!

    • noitakarai
      September 12, 2010

      haha … thanks anyway,
      i am a CSI fan, but i never watch SHARK, …. right now while waiting for the next episode of them i am watching NUMB3RS.
      and another serial called QUIRE FOOLKS …. it is about gay anyway ….. i am waiting until this ramadhan over to watch this …..

      • wulaaaaan.....
        September 12, 2010

        I’m right now interested in Bones instead of CSI or NUMB3RS. The chemistry between the two main characters are great to watch, hahahaha…

  6. Róisín
    September 13, 2010

    Love your inclusion of the character “Sue” – Her cruelty is so hilarious!
    Also nice to see some recoginition for Milo Ventimiglia!

  7. Novroz
    September 13, 2010

    Haha… I’m the only one here that haven’t watched Glee. Still waiting for my country’s local TVstation to air it.

  8. wulaaan....
    September 14, 2010

    @roisin yes, there is no character like Sue,is there? 🙂 and yes,Milo should be recognized! He has the coolest power ever!

    @mino for God’s sake,borrow the dvd already!! You r missing something great!! :p

    • Novroz
      September 14, 2010

      There’s no one to borrow 😦 and buying is not an option.

      Ah Milo…I miss him, I stopped watching Heroes after 2nd season. It turned from great series to awfully cliche series.

  9. bananamolly
    October 7, 2010

    My top five TV characters might be from just one TV series; which is How I Met Your Mother. LOL! I love this show a lot! I’ve been watching it since Season 1, and Season 6 has just started and it’s awesome! 😉

    First of all, you have the legen-wait for it-dary Barney (NPH) who’s so funny and charming, funny I’d say. Then my next favorite from the show is Cobie Smulders who plays Robin Scherbatsky. She’s so gorgeous, she’s cool and fun and awesome, almost as awesome as Barney! She’s almost like Barney, with boobs. HEHEHE!

    Besides, I also like Marshall Erickson played by Jason Segel. Sometimes he cracks me up. Then there’s his wifey, Lily played by that girl from American Pie. She’s adorable, but sometimes she’s the little devil.

    And lastly that sweet and romantic I-think-I’m-in-love-with-you Ted Mosby. My least favorite of all though.

    Actually I do watch other TV series but they are among the top TV characters that I like! 😉

    • wulaaaaaaaan....
      October 7, 2010

      greetings, bananamolly! its nice to see a fellow HIMYM fan! but how come Ted is your least fav?? I love him! well, not as much as I love Barney anyway! 🙂
      I think he and Robin would’ve been THE coolest couple on earth!

      • bananamolly
        October 7, 2010

        Greetings! Nice to meet you, too! I used to like Ted in the first season, think he’s such a romantic but then he got too romantic! LOL. Then I grew to like Marshall and Lily as a couple; then ultimately I’m in love with Barney and Robin. Yeah, they are great together but I like them apart, they are both awesome people individually. 😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2010 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads