Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday – Cujo

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I was reading a short story collection by Shusaku Endo when I found this interesting challenge called R.I.P Challenge V, because of that, I put down my Shusaku Endo’s book and pick up a book with lots of peril in it. Now I’ve just started Cujo by Stephen King.

My teaser is from page 21

He was a saint benard in his prime, five years old, nearly two hundreds pound in weight, and now, on the morning of June 16, 1980, he was pre-rabid.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

26 comments on “Teaser Tuesday – Cujo

  1. thebookishsnob
    September 7, 2010

    Oh I’ve heard so much about this book. IF I saw a dog of this decription and it was rabid, I would run so fast and so far away that I’d be nothing but dust. Scared of big dogs. Great teaser!!

    Here’s my Tuesday Teaser

    Happy Reading

    • Novroz
      September 7, 2010

      I am scared of all dogs. When I was a kid, a dog chased me 😦

      I like seeing cute puppy from a picture…and that’s all I can take.

  2. CaroleHolland
    September 7, 2010

    Not sure you’d be able to tell if a St Bernard was rabid…they drool and froth excessively anyway!! Great teaser though.

    My teaser is here http://wp.me/pXuHW-5i

    • Novroz
      September 7, 2010

      That’s the idea of this book, no one knows that Cujo has rabies till he starts attacking people

  3. Róisín
    September 7, 2010

    I really love this teaser! 🙂
    I used to have a giant Bernese Mountain Dog, which is similar to the St Bernard – When we used to walk her, passersby would say that she looked more like a bear than a dog!
    I’d love to have an Irish Wolfhound, a St Bernard or a Great Dane by my side – They’re enormous – At the moment, I have a lovely labrador retriever!

    Would I like to have a rabid St Bernard? Not so much 😉

    • Novroz
      September 7, 2010

      Labrodor is also big right? hehehe you have a thing with big dogs.

      I didn’t know that you are a dog person. I guess you know that I’m a turtle person.

      Well, from the story I’ve heard (I’m still far from finishing the book)…you don’t want to have a rabid St.Benard named Cujo because he will attack you like maniac.

      • Róisín
        September 8, 2010

        Yep, a labrador retriever is pretty big…although nowhere near as giant as the Bernese!

        I’m an animal person in general – Dogs/Cats/Horses. I only own two cats and a dog though. And some goldfish on and off! The goldfish are quite intelligent 😀 And the cats love the dog, which is handy…!

        I love the photos of your turtles! It sounds like they are great companions 🙂 Have you other pets?

        A zombie-like St Bernard? Sounds like a terrifying creation.

        • Novroz
          September 8, 2010

          How do you know goldfish in intelegent?

          Turtles are depend on how the owners treat them, if they treat them nice, turtles will be a good companion. Some people I know treat their turtle like nothing but animal to feed.

          No I don’t have other animals, I used to have a cat, but my ashma couldn’t take it.

          Cujo has been made into movie, have you seen it?

          • Róisín
            September 9, 2010

            Because the fish smile at me when I walk past.

            Just joking!

            People underestimate the cognitive ability of goldfish – If you observe them for long enough, they actually are quite productive in their little tanks!

            What you said about turtles, I read an article recently which said that pigs are the same – If they are treated well, they are more “optimistic”. Did you know that you can teach pig to sit when you ask it to? 🙂

            That’s a shame that you can’t have a cat – Can you have dogs?

            I haven’t seen Cujo, but I’d love to!!

          • Novroz
            September 9, 2010

            I see what you mean, My dad used to have a Louhan fish and she would follow his hand’s movement everywhere.

            Yeah, I saw TV show once, it showed a trained pig. Quite impressive.

            I can’t have dog either, I’m afraid of dogs and also because of my religious belief.

            I plan to search for the movie after I finished the book

          • Róisín
            September 9, 2010

            That’s exactly it. And they forage for food 🙂 I just googled the Louhan fish – Very impressive!

  4. Shelley Munro
    September 7, 2010

    This is a great teaser, although horror isn’t my thing.

    Here’s My Teaser

  5. Marg
    September 7, 2010

    I got bitten by a small dog when I was little, so as a consequence have always had a bit of a fear of big dogs. I would have run a mile!

    My teaser is from The Various Flavors of Coffee by Anthony Capella

  6. gautami tripathy
    September 7, 2010

    I too will read a Stephen King book for the RIP V challenge. The first novel by him. I have two novellas by him.

    Here is my Teaser Tuesday post!

  7. E.J. Stevens
    September 7, 2010

    I may be strange, but my first thought was how sad. 😦 Great teaser! My teaser is here.

    xx,
    E.J
    From the Shadows

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2010

      For dog lover, it does sound sad.

  8. Alice Audrey
    September 7, 2010

    Sounds like my next door neighbor’s dog – one of a long string they were forced to give up.

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2010

      How sad. The book also implied that we must give our dogs rabies shot before they turn rabid. Cujo never got the shot.

  9. Julie
    September 7, 2010

    There’s a lot to fear with this teaser! I’m also nervous around dogs or when I see a strange one around. Great choice for a teaser!

  10. Lisa (Book Blab)
    September 8, 2010

    I can’t believe I have never read this book!!!! Seriously! Thanks for bringing it in the forefront of my brain.

    Great teaser!

    HEre’s mine:http://bookblabbing.blogspot.com/2010/09/teaser-tuesdays.html

  11. Dee - Reads Everything
    September 8, 2010

    I read this a while ago, pretty damn scary!
    My teaser is at e-Volving Books

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2010

      ‘Damn Scary’ << it makes more eager to read the book. I love being scared.

  12. Lori
    September 8, 2010

    I find Stephen King hard to read. Love his movies though. I hope that you enjoy your book. Here’s my Teaser for Tuesday.

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2010

      I always enjoy Stephen King…it feels like coming home.

  13. mywordlyobsessions
    September 8, 2010

    Hmm, a pre-rabid St. Bernard… That would be scary! Those dogs are so powerful. Excellent post Novroz, here’s my teaser tuesday: http://mywordlyobsessions.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/teaser-tuesday-in-which-le-guin-assumes-the-mantle-of-sybil-of-cumae/

    Sorry for the long link!

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2010

      I can imagine tho I never had a St.Benard. 200pounds dog!!

      Yeah the link is very long…but it’s okay 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2010 by in Bookish Memes and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads