Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

R.I.P. Challenge V

I found a new interesting challenge from Judith’s blog. Why interesting? Because it is so my kind of read. The Challenge is held by Carl V of Stainless Steel Droopings. It is called R.I.P. Challenge V. which means R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge. The challenge has been held 4 times, this is the 5th time. I never heard of the challenge before, therefore this is my first time.

The challenge is very simple, all we have to do is read books in these genre:

  • Mystery
  • Suspense
  • Thriller
  • Dark Fantasy
  • Gothic
  • Horror
  • Supernatural

It runs from September 1st through October 31st. a very short 2 months. Most challenge I join in last for 1 year. The short time gives extra excitement for me.

This challenge is so much alike with Suspense and Thriller Reading Challenge 2010 that I have joined since January. I almost finish the challenge 🙂 . Because of the similarity, books I’m going to read for this challenge will be used for SaTC as well.

As I already written in my Mountain of Books post, I have lots of books in this genre. I will not only include novels for this challenge because there’s no rule saying ‘Novel only’. I will also read and review some Manga (Japanese Comic) and watch some movie, because watching movies in this genre can also be included.

Here are the categories for the challenge:

  • Peril the first

Read 4 books, any length that you feel fits my very broad definition of scary. It could be Stephen King or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ian Fleming of Edgar Allan Poe … or anyone in between

  • Peril the second

Read two books of any length that you believe fit within the challenge

  • Peril the third

We all want you to participate. This peril involves reading one book that fits within the R.I.P. definition

My selection of books will be:

  1. The Road by Cormac McCarthy. Just finished the book a day before finding this challenge
  2. Cujo by Stephen King. Although I was planning to continue reading Different Seasons after reading The Road, but Different Seasons is not about horror, therefore I will continue it after finishing this challenge.
  3. Tears of Dragon by Dean Koontz
  4. The Manhattan Hunt Club by John Saul
  5. Antibodies from The X Files novel
  6. White Serpent by Lensey Namioka
  7. The Shadow Family by Miyabe Miyuki
  8. Onryo no Densetsu; Halloween Densetsu; Jinro no Densetsu;  Manga by Watari Chie
  9. Blaze by Richard Bachman (a.k.a Stephen King)
  10. Night Shift by Stephen King

I’m not a fast reader, even though I write that book list…I will not be able to read them all. I write that many books because I’m not sure which one to read first and what followed next, I’ll just let it flow. For 2 months, I think I can join Peril the First, 4 books in 2 months doesn’t seem that much, right?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “R.I.P. Challenge V

  1. leeswammes
    September 7, 2010

    Good luck with the challenge, it’s nice to see you’ve also joined in. From your list, I only know The Road (I will check your review) but I know Stephen King is pretty scary (that’s why I’m never sure whether I dare to read his books).

    happy reading, Novroz!

    • Novroz
      September 7, 2010

      Thanks Judith 🙂

      Well, Stephen King is my favorite because of his scaryness 🙂 I especially love how detail he is in his gory scenes.

  2. gautami tripathy
    September 7, 2010

    Wonderful choices. I too have a Stephen King and also The Manhattan Club in my tentative list.

    Do check out the books I already read for RIP V. Also you will find my tentative read list.

    • Novroz
      September 7, 2010

      Thx Gautamy, I’ll go straight to your blog now, I really want to know which SK do you choose.

  3. Kailana
    September 8, 2010

    The Road was really good! I read it a couple years ago. The others look interesting, though!

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2010

      The Road is either really good or really bad, I have 2 people commenting in my review saying she loves it and he hates it.

      I’m in the middle.

  4. reviewsbylola
    September 8, 2010

    Glad you decided to join the challenge! It’s always good to have a lot of books to choose from.

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2010

      Thx Lola, Yeah I have difficulty in choosing which to read 1st…so I ended up writing all my TBR that has the sense of peril.

  5. Melanie
    September 8, 2010

    I would say that Different Seasons would be a good RIP book. “Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption” and “the Body” both cover the things we do to other people, while “Apt Pupil” is scary and “The Breathing Method” is creepy/supernatural. I’d count it!

    • Novroz
      September 8, 2010

      I don’t think RH and Shawshank is ‘scary’ enough, it’s more about hope. It’s a great story, I’ve finished reading it and loved it.

      The plan is to read Apt Pupil after The Road and Japanese Literature, because you said that apt pupil is quite scary…I will read it as my 3 book 🙂 … thanks for sharing your thought.

  6. Carl V.
    September 9, 2010

    Great to have you in on the challenge this year. I hope you have a wonderful time. I haven’t read King for years, which is a shame as I do like his stories. I was thrilled to see that he has a short story collaboration with his son, Joe Hill, in the He is Legend anthology that I just got in the mail the other day. I plan on trying to get to it this week as part of the short story peril.

    • Novroz
      September 9, 2010

      Thank you Carl 🙂
      Eh? really? I want to read it too!! I’ll be waiting for your review. I love those father and son. I wonder if I can find the book here, finding Joe Hill’s heart-shaped box was quite difficult…so, I’m a bit unsure I can find that anthalogy 😦

  7. Carl V.
    September 9, 2010

    I’m sorry it is so difficult to find certain books there. I often forget about how simple and easy it is to generally find whatever I want to fit my reading whims.

    • Novroz
      September 9, 2010

      It’s okay, I’ll get it someday…its just a matter of waiting for what I want.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads