Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Ringu: The Origin, The Adaptation, the Screw-up

This is my first post for Hello Japan Mini Challenge, for August and September Challenge. This time, Tanabata asked us to write comparison of many things, she gave us 2 months to complete the challenge. To know more about the challenge, please click on the picture.

There are so many things to compare and the first thing that comes into my mind is Ringu, my all time favorite horror movie. There will be 3 things to compare. The book by Suzuki Koji as the origin, the movie by Hideo Nakata as the adaptation and Hollywood remake on Ringu called The Ring as the screw up.

The Origin

I’ve written about the book review few years ago in here (alert: it is full of spoilers). In my opinion, the book is more like psychological thriller rather than horror. I’m not going to talk much about the book because it can be read in my earlier post.

The Adaptation

To write a complete review for this challenge, I re-watched Ringu few days ago…although I practically remember all scenes without having watching it again because I’ve watched this movie more than 5 times. I love this movie very much. Ringu is my number 1 horror movie. Read more about Ringu in here, I wrote my complete review in different post because I haven’t written my review on this great movie in English.

Comparison of Book and Movie

There are so many differences between book and movie. Fortunately I watched the movie first before reading the book…I didn’t even know that Ringu is an adaptation from a famous novel when I first watched it. Why did I say ‘fortunately’? Because usually, when I like a book and then saw the movie and they changed it a lot…I tend to dislike the movie. My recent example is The Shining by Stephen King. However, there are some movies that I like as much as I like the book, like The Lord of the Ring, The Mist, etc. So, it might also possible that I’ll still like the movie even if I watched it after reading the book.

The basic story is the same, but the whole detail is so different. Let’s take a look at the difference!

1. The characters: Asakawa in the book is a man while in the movie is a woman. Ryuji is Asakawa’s eccentric friend in the book version but in the movie, Ryuji is Asakawa ex husband who has supernatural ability.

2. The video: The description of the video is different. In the book, it does not end with a telephone ring, it ends with sentences on how to be freed of the curses.

3. The way Sadako appears and kills people is also different.

In the book, there’s an interesting fact about Sadako, something that the movie didn’t mention. If you read my book review, you’ll know what that is.

Reading the book and watching the movie is like enjoying 2 different stories with the same outline. I love reading the book because it’s more entertaining, but I also love watching the movie because it is as scary as hell. The first time I watched it, I had goosebumps and I literally jumped out of my chair when my telephone rang right after the movie ended.

Then the screw up came!!

Hollywood decided to remake Ringu and called it The Ring. The story is basically the same, they only changed the details like names and places. The video’s content is also different. I called this remake as a screw up because it literally screws up a very good horror movie!! They turned Ringu into a cheesy, cliché and too many effect kind of horror movie. Ringu has depth and not a cliché horror movie.

What is the worst part of The Ring? The most cliché part of all is when they decided to make the house where they keep Samara’s body as shabby and as inhabitable as possible…What can be more cliché than that? Hello Hollywood!!! Knock knock, what else is new there…an inhabitable house equals haunted house *rolling eyes*

And then they seemed to say “hey, we’re Hollywood man, we are good in special effect…so, lets make a ghost looks not as real as possible…you know, like a computer game.” *another rolling eyes*

There are still so many things I hate about the remake…I couldn’t remember it anymore and I don’t watch it again to write this because honestly I rather close my eyes or walk away than watching this screw up movie all over again.

The Ring has successfully made me, a movie buff, hates Hollywood remake movies. I tried watching their remake on The Eye once…you know, to prove myself that I might be wrong for hating Hollywood remake on Asian horror flicks…and voila, The Eye’s remake is as hideous as The Ring. So, after two horrible experiences, I stopped watching any Hollywood remake on my favorite non-Hollywood movies. I still enjoy Hollywood’s other movies.

Well…there you have it 🙂 the phenomenal Ringu seen from 3 different points of view. You might have different opinion, share it here if you like to 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

8 comments on “Ringu: The Origin, The Adaptation, the Screw-up

  1. binny922
    September 15, 2010

    I’m going to have to agree with you about hollywood ruining really good Japanese horror films. I personally haven’t seen the ring (and definitely not Ringu…since I am a pansy when it comes to horror films,) but hollywood completely destroyed The Grudge.

    It went from 10+ scary to -yawn- “Oh look….something odd.” When I’m not scared of a horror film, you know it’s not scary at all.

    • Novroz
      September 15, 2010

      I haven’t seen The grudge because I love Ju-on, especially Ju-on 1 and 3, but I’ve heard many bad reviews about it. If I’m not mistaken, they still use Japanese director, right? I wonder why is it not as good as Ju-On :/

      The way I see it, Hollywood better stay in their original ideas rather than remaking movies.

  2. tanabata
    October 5, 2010

    I haven’t read or seen any of the Ring books or films since I’m not really into scary/horror, but you’ve convinced me to try the book since you say it’s more psychological thriller than horror.
    I don’t know why Hollywood feels compelled to remake everything. Actually I do, it’s because they assume Americans are too stupid to watch subtitled movies. So sad. 😦

    • Novroz
      October 5, 2010

      Yes!! do read the book. My friend who had read all 3 of them (The book is actually a trilogy) said that they are very intriguing. I want to read the other 2 books too but haven’t found it yet. My friend read it from computer.

      Hahaha too bad, Americans will never know how good the original movies are 😉

  3. Archiel
    April 4, 2011

    my personal favorite is ringu 0. two L’Arc songs in 1 movie equals wet dream.

    and yes I agree with the hollywood version of ringu. if anybody paid to watch that then its money down the drain for ya’.

    • Novroz
      April 4, 2011

      Huahahaha you never change!! 🙂 But I agree on the fact that Finale is the song that made me crazily falling in love with Larc en Ciel.

      My favorite are Ringu, then Ring 0 and then Ring 3. I don’t like Ring 2, they totally overdid it.

      *High five* on the Holywood adaptation…unfortunately I had thrown my money down the drain for it 😦 I thought it would at least equally good, but It was terrible.

  4. Pingback: Indonesia Banget 14 – Similar Food in 2 Countries « Polychrome Interest

  5. Pingback: Ring by Suzuki Koji | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2010 by in Excessive Reader, Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads