Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Mountain of Books

It seems that my TBR-list keeps increasing rather than decreasing. I should have decreased it little by little but my reading speed is not as fast as most people I know and my buying/borrowing books speed is faster than my reading speed.

In the beginning of this year, I have less than 10 books to be read, but now, on August, 8 months later it becomes 22 books and 13 mangas ( One Piece is not included in here). Some are books from last year, somehow they always got pushed by other new books.

Since august 1, I had been re-reading One Piece from volume 1 to volume 55, it’ll take time to finish it. I postpone reading other books or mangas before I finished reading all One Piece’s volumes. I don’t want my journey with Mugiwara Kaizokudan (Strawhat’s Pirate Crew) disturb by other story. I might finish this annual event before the end of august.

I currently have 5 Stephen King’s books. Insomnia is a book from last year, the story lingers too long so I haven’t finished it yet but I will. Cujo is a book I borrowed from my friend. Night Shift is a collection of short stories. Blaze is King’s book under the name of Richard Bachman and last but not least is Different Seasons, a book that I’ve been searching for a long time. If you think there’s so many Stephen King here…well, what can I say? I am one of his biggest fan 🙂

2 books written in Bahasa, 1 from my favorite Indonesian author, Andrea Hirata. This book is a 2 in 1 book, 2 stories in one book, Padang Bulan (The field of moon) and Cinta di Dalam Gelas (love inside a glass). And the other one is a translated boo, Chicken Soup for Cat’s and Dog Lover’s Soul, I never read Chicken Soup before because that’s not my kind of read, however I’ll make an exception for this one because it is about human and pet relationship and everyone who knows me knows how much I love my pets.

I have 4 books from Turtle Publishing, those are books that relate to Japan. The Decay of Angel by Yukio Mishima, unfortunately this book is the 4th book of a tetralogy…so I have to find the previous three before reading this one. Stained Glass Elegies is a collection of short stories by Shusaku Endo. The Little Yokozuna by Wayne Shorey and White Serpent by Lensey Namioka.

2 dystopia books; 1984 by George Orwell and The Road by Cathy McCormac. 3 classic books, Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo, The Two Towers by J.R.R Tolkien (it’ll be my re-read book…I need to reread it because even though I had read it 3 times I haven’t write about it yet) and To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee. 2 books I bought simply because they were cheap and I know nothing about the author; The Reapers by John Connolly and Deeper by Jeff Long.

The rest are The Manhattan Hunt Club by John Saul, Dragon Tears by Dean Koontz, The Constant Gardener by John Le Carré, and Antibodies, book from The X Files.

On the manga department, 10 mangas are from Chie Watari which I will review 1-2 title per month. The other 3 is Doubt by yoshiki Tonogai. I am not going to read Doubt before I find its volume 1, the ones that I have now are volume 2, 3, and 4.

This list is still minus books I might be borrowing from JF Library.

Plus, I will definitely buy Under The Dome by Stephen King next month.

So…how am I going to read them all?

So far, I have made this scenario for Different Seasons:

After I finished One Piece, the 1st book I’m going to read is Different Seasons. I will only read Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption. Then I’ll read The Road. I will continue Different Seasons, reading only Apt Pupil and then find something from the library for my Japanese Literature Challenge. And then back to Different Seasons, I’ll read The Body. John Saul will come next and it will be closed with The Breathing Method.

Manga will be read somewhere in between.

The other books will be read depends on my mood but one thing for sure is that I will not buy any book before finishing all these books…yosh gambarre!!

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

6 comments on “Mountain of Books

  1. wulaaaaaaaan....
    August 15, 2010

    nggggg….the last sentence, the one that’s red and underlined…

    Hmmmm….

    Yeah, sure.

    Buying, maybe. Borrowing?

    Mmmph! Good luck! 😀

    • Novroz
      August 15, 2010

      Huahaha…don’t remind me that ‘borrowing’ word!! ^_^”

  2. mywordlyobsessions
    August 16, 2010

    You have a great list there! I’m surprised my all the Stephen King. Do you like horror? I’m not too keen on King, but I have made a promise to read the Dark Tower series.

    • Novroz
      August 16, 2010

      Yup!! I love thriller and Horror…but mostly I love Stephen King, I’m addicted to him. I have to read him after 3 or 4 books by other authors, that’s why there’s so many SK there.

      I’ve read the Dark Tower – the gunsliger (1st book) but I don’t really like it.

  3. Healy
    August 20, 2010

    WOW. I envy you. You have tons of books! Keep it up 😀

    • Novroz
      August 21, 2010

      Thank you Healy…I don’t know when I am going to finish reading them all

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads