Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The 210th Day

The 210th Day ( 二百十日 ) is my second Natsume Souseki’s novella. I was planning to read this book for my Japanese Literature Challenge 3, but somehow it always got push by other books. In the end, I read this for my Japanese Literature Challenge 4 (my second book for the challenge)

The book is very thin, only 100 pages including introduction by Marvin Marcus. There is not much to tell about this book because most of the story consists of long dialogue by the two main characters. This is my first time reading a book that emphasizes more on the dialogue rather than the explanation of the surrounding or the thought of the main characters. Most dialogues are written one after another without explaining who is the one speaking at the moment, so if I lost track of the dialogue I need to go back a little to see who made the conversation first. However, the more I read it the more I understand who is speaking at the moment.

Through dialogue, Natsume Souseki managed to create the personality of each character. I thought that is an impressive writing. Their dialogues are simple, the kind of dialogue we often encounter in our life…two best friends talking about many kind of things, including some of the most unimportant things.

The main characters were Roku and Kei. They were trying to reach the peak of Mount Aso. The story was based on Natsume’s real experience when he was climbing Mount Aso with his friend. At that time, Mount Aso was actively releasing smoke and dust. Roku was an easy going person, and Kei was a man who holds a grudge against rich people. Kei was a son of a tofu seller. Kei was determined to reach the peak of Mount Aso but Roku felt satisfied even if they couldn’t reach the peak. They faced hard times on the 210th day, the mountain was getting angrier than before, spitting more dust than ever.

At first, I found the book a bit boring, their dialogue seems so unimportant, but I kept on reading and it changed my perspective on the book. Their dialogue is quite funny, especially when they met a rather unusual waitress. I also enjoy reading about how long can a man pull out his hair.

In the end, my verdict for this book is, I kinda like it and therefore I rate it as a 3 stars book.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

2 comments on “The 210th Day

  1. leeswammes
    July 24, 2010

    A strange book! I like dialogues better than long descriptions but it can be confusing if there is too much dialogue, when you lose track of who is talking.

    It’s fun to try something different sometimes, isn’t it?

    • Novroz
      July 24, 2010

      Indeed!! I was a bit confused, but finally I can tell who’s talking because Natsume can really show their personality just through dialogue.

      Yeah, it’s fun and sort of gambling 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads