Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Indonesia Banget #0

What is Indonesia Banget?

Indonesia Banget can be translated as So Indonesia which means that I’ll be writing about things that define Indonesia…and hopefully it is something that can only be found in Indonesia. I’m not going to write only on the good sides of Indonesia but also on the not so good side of Indonesia…basically literally all things related to Indonesia.

This is number 0 because I’m not going to start writing about Indonesia yet, I want to start the 1st post on August 17.

Why August 17?

Because it is our Independence Day. We gained our Independent from Dutch and Japan on August 17, 1945. And for that reason, every single post of Indonesia Banget will be posted on 17, every month.

Why is it written in English?

Because if I wrote this Indonesian Language (Bahasa), it will be useless, the main idea is to share a bit about Indonesia to the whole wide world and hoping that people will be eager to visit this beautiful archipelago country. Although I’m writing it in English, that doesn’t mean you can not leave a comment in Bahasa, feel free to drop your comment in Bahasa, English or even Japanese (^_^)v

I hope I can use pictures that I shoot by my self, however some things are just too difficult to find, so I will rely on google😉

I will be using the image above in every Indonesia Banget post.

Here are the things I have written:

  1. 17 Agustusan (Independence Day’s Celebration )
  2. Mudik (Going back to the Village)
  3. Bedong (The art of wrapping the infant)
  4. Malam Bainai (a Minang tradition on the  night before the wedding)
  5. Kerokan (One of many Indonesian traditional folk-cures)
  6. Topeng Monyet (Traditional Monkey Circus)
  7. Death Ceremonies
  8. Traditional Houses
  9. Sangkuriang, a Folklore From Indonesia
  10. The act of kissing someone’s hand
  11. You May Litter Wherever You Like
  12. Fasting and  Kolak
  13. The Day we Proclaimed Our Independence
  14. Similar food in 2 countries
  15. Kuntilanak,Indonesia’s most famous ghost
  16. No Rice Not Complete
  17. Graveyards in West Sumatra
  18. Floor Sitter
  19. Malin Kundang
  20. The Raid: Redemption
  21. National Education Day
  22. Country With 4 Religions
  23. Indonesian Educational System
  24. The Flag of Our Country
  25. Eating With Hand
  26. Supernatural Beings To Make You Rich
  27. Ranting on Rich Children’s Inability To Speak National Language
  28. Some Public Transportation in Indonesia
  29. The Toilets and The Water
  30. Year Book
  31. Dangdut – a Music Genre Heard by Many
  32. Balado Eggplants (Recipe)
  33. Garuda Pancasila
  34. Kerupuk
  35. Volcanoes Country
  36. Religious Holidays

Special Event:

  1. Read Indonesian Short Story Month
  2. Thank you for joining Indonesian Short Story Month
  3. Celebrating Indonesian Independence Day at my School

The Beauty of Indonesia:

  1. Green Canyon (Cukang Taneuh)
  2. Mount Bromo
  3. Ijen Crater
  4. Baluran National Park
  5. Papandayan> Heading to, Day 1, Day2, Edelweiss
  6. Mount Cikurai> Day 1, Sunrise, Day 2

Comments are closed because this post has turned into a page> Things Indonesian. You can leave your comments there🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “Indonesia Banget #0

  1. Mel u
    July 18, 2010

    This is a great project-in support of your project and in honor of Indonesia Independence Day I will post on two contemporary Indonesian writers of short stories Muhary Wahyu Nurba and Etik Juwita and perhaps one or two others also-all stories than can be read online so others can share in the experience if they like-I will do my post on or just before Aug 17-there is quite a bit on my blog on colonialism in S E Asia so it fits the themes of my blog and I am into new writers and short stories-congratulations on your idea-

    Mel u

    • Novroz
      July 18, 2010

      Whoaa Terima kasih banyak Mel U (thanks a lot Mel U)
      I really appreciate your support *hug* that’s very kind of you.
      I love to know what’d you think about those writers, I will definetly link it in my next Indonesia Banget post🙂

  2. Gnoe (@ Graasland)
    July 20, 2010

    Great project! I’ll be looking forward to your first post :)) And thanks for doing it in English! LOL

    • Novroz
      July 20, 2010

      Your welcome🙂 I’m currently struggling between 2 ideas for the 1st post.

  3. SD Negeri 16
    July 23, 2010

    nice blog, I like it…

  4. mee
    July 28, 2010

    Lovely project. I look forward to what you will say about Indonesia🙂

    • Novroz
      July 28, 2010

      Thank Mee, I hope you can also confirm some things that I’ll write later🙂

  5. Mel u
    August 24, 2010

    I just posted on a very moving short story by Abidah El Khaligy, “On The Road to Heaven”. This is my second in what I intend to be a series of five posts on Indonesian Writers.

    http://rereadinglives.blogspot.com/2010/08/road-to-heaven-by-abidah-el-khaliegy.html

  6. Carin B.
    September 7, 2010

    Oh, I can’t wait to read these! Like I told you on Twitter, I just read a travel book where the writer visited Indonesia and the people were my favorite in the entire book. I’ve also had a few friends visit Indonesia and they all liked it. So glad you are doing this!

    • Novroz
      September 7, 2010

      You really make me want to read that book too. I’ll try searching for it here.

      I wonder what did he wrote that makes you like our people🙂

      I hope you can enjoy Indonesia banget, this month will be my second post for Indonesia banget.

      • Carin B.
        September 7, 2010

        I am giving away a copy of the book, The Lunatic Express by Carl Hoffman. The giveaway is international too so all can enter! Here’s the link: The Lunatic Express Giveaway.

        The giveaway is open until October 1.

        I just like how he talked about the Indonesian people. The section was about how dangerous the ferries are there, but he spent some time off the ferry with some really wonderful people. He made Indonesians sound like very warm and welcoming people.🙂

        • Novroz
          September 7, 2010

          I’ve signed in🙂

          He is right, Most Indonesian are warm and welcoming…but then again, I have never been to another country, therefore I can’t compare it.

          The warmest is usually the people in the village. People in big cities aren’t as nice as the villagers. I live in the capital city.

  7. Trip Negriku
    August 31, 2011

    Nice one. I can surely hope that you wouldn’t mind me commenting on your blog. Have a look and contribute to my blog too, it’s thickly Indonesian. I want to educate our people that sharing about Indonesia is a click away, using their very own handphones or blackberry, and other smart phones.

    Good luck anyway.

    Salam,
    Angke

    • Novroz
      August 31, 2011

      Hi Angke.
      I wouldn’t mind anyone commenting in my blog, I love comments🙂
      Through this monthly post,I am trying to let the world know that Indonesia is fascinating in both the good way and bad way. Glad to know someone else is also highlighting Indonesia.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2010 by in Indonesia Banget and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads