Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Japanese Death Poems

July’s Challenge from Hello Japan is about Haiku. We can either write our own haiku or write about books of haiku, or everything related to haiku. When I heard about this challenge, I instantly remember about a book that I’ve read somewhere in 2004, a book titled Japanese Death Poems. It was a compilation of Haiku written by Zen Monk and Haiku Poets on the verge of death. The poems were compiled by Yoel Hoffman.

It’s a long tradition in Japan to write a poem which will be put on their death stone. Here, I chose 4 poems that I like. Why 4? Because 4 is a number that related to death or bad luck.

And to make it more meaningful, I try to write it in Japanese characters (I might make mistakes in some of the kanji because the book only writes the poems in Romaji and the translation, I have to guess which kanji is used for it)

By Atsujin ( 日人) who died on April 30, 1836 in the age of 78.

土 金 や (Tsuchi kane ya)
いき は 耐えても (Iki wa taete mo)
月日 あり (Tsukihi ari)

In English:
Earth and metal …
Although my breathing ceases
Time and tide go on

By Basho (芭蕉 ) who died on October 12, 1694 in the age of 51.

旅 に 病んで (Tabi ni Yande)
夢 は 枯れ野 を(Yume wa kareno o)
駆け巡る (Kakemeguru)

In English:
On a journey, ill:
My dream goes wondering
Over withered fields

By Ensei (延清 ) who died May 16, 1725 in the age of 69

いつ とても (Itsu totemo)
いき 引き取る が (Iki hikitoru ga)
身 の 歳暮 (Mi no seibo)

In English:
A parting gift to my body
Just when it wishes
I’ll breathe my last

By Kin’ei (金英 ) who died on July 16, 1778

極楽 の (Gokuraku no)
種 ぞ 草花 (Tane zo kusabana)
なむ あみだ (Namu amida)

In English:
The autumn flowers
Of my prayer bear
Seeds of paradise

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

4 comments on “Japanese Death Poems

  1. tanabata
    August 2, 2010

    How fitting that you chose to share 4 of them. I really like the Basho one, though they’re all lovely and melancholy.

    • Novroz
      August 2, 2010

      There are so many lovely poems…I was having a hard time in picking these 4…but Basho’s poem was chosen right away

  2. AleksaV
    December 5, 2012

    Do you maybe have the Japanese original of this poem:
    “In blossom today, then scattered;
    Life is so like a delicate flower.
    How can one expect the fragrance
    to last forever?”

    • Novroz
      December 5, 2012

      Sorry AleksaV I don’t have it.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads