Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday – Heart Shaped Box

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I’m currently reading a book byJoe Hill, the son of my number one author, Stephen King. Like father like son, Joe also writes horror book. But don’t think that he only rides his father’s name, he had already won 2 Bram Stroker Awards.

The book I’m reading right now is called Heart-Shaped Box. This is his second book..

My teaser comes from page 93

He considered this, forming his reply slowly, and only with effort. At last he said, “I don’t think it would do any good, just to up and run. He isn’t haunting the house. He’s haunting me.”

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

37 comments on “Teaser Tuesday – Heart Shaped Box

  1. Kah Woei
    July 6, 2010

    What did this person do that he got haunted ?

    Mine’s here.

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2010

      He made someone committed suicide

  2. Marce
    July 6, 2010

    Oh I meant to come tell you actually because I know your a fan of SKIng. I just finished Joe Hills Horns, I want to read this one now. I will leave link to my review and my TT.

    My TT

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/07/teaser-tuesday-note-from-old.html

    Horns

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/07/review-horns-by-joe-hill.html

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2010

      So far, I’m enjoying his book a lot. He has different style compare to his father.

  3. Jennifer
    July 6, 2010

    WOnderful teaser choice. I had no idea Stephen King had a son who also was a writer. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/07/teaser-tuesdays-31-bond-street.html

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2010

      He has 2 son as writer, Joe and Owen. But I haven’t read Owen’s book yet.

  4. Cassandra
    July 6, 2010

    Wow cool. King’s son is a writer, also. That’s pretty cool, I didn’t know that.

    I think I have this book in my TBR. Thanks for the teaser. Who’s haunting who?!?!?!

    Mine: http://wordsonpaperya.blogspot.com/2010/07/teaser-tuesday-2.html

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2010

      A ghost haunting a rocker. It’s quite interesting

  5. pussreboots
    July 6, 2010

    I read that book. I think Hill has potential as an author but he’s not there yet. Mine is from Golden Conspiracy.

    • Novroz
      July 6, 2010

      I haven’t finished it yet, so I can’t tell yet. But so far, I think he has different style compare to his father

  6. Dee
    July 6, 2010

    Oh, I had no idea the son was a writer, let alone so good! Thanks for the info.

    Here is my review – George R R Martin A Game of Thrones

  7. laurelrainsnow
    July 6, 2010

    I’ve been really curious about this author…this sounds very intriguing.

    Here’s mine:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2010/07/06/teaser-tuesdays-5/

  8. kaye
    July 6, 2010

    OOoh, good one! Glad to hear you are enjoying the book.
    Here’s my Teaser
    Have a great week and happy reading!

  9. Kathy Martin
    July 6, 2010

    Great teaser! It sent a chill up my spine. My teaser is from Blood Song by Cat Adams.

  10. Lady Q
    July 6, 2010

    Great teaser!! Did you read Horns? Here’s mine from Lover Eternal.

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2010

      Not yet. His book is a little bit too difficult to find. I have to order this one.

  11. Alayne
    July 6, 2010

    Oooh fabulous! Love this one. My teaser is at The Crowded Leaf.

  12. Aimee
    July 6, 2010

    Great teaser! I haven’t read anything by King’s son, but it looks like I need to start!

    My TT is here

  13. Ex Lit Prof
    July 7, 2010

    It will be interesting to read what Stephen King’s son writes. I’d love for him to write a memoir about growing up as the son of King. Great teaser! Here’s mine at: http://www.the-reading-list.com

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2010

      If he ever wrote such memoir…I’d love to read it too.

      The most interesting part is, Stephen King wrote ‘for my son, Joe Hill King, that always shine’ in his book (the Shining) and Joe wrote ‘for my dad, one of the good ones’ in this book

  14. Sheri
    July 7, 2010

    I remember that book; he’s almost as a good a writer as his dad once was.

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2010

      That’s why I bought the book, I want to know how good he is

  15. JLS Hall (Joy's Blog)
    July 7, 2010

    Terrific teaser! I’ve had this one on my TBR stack for a while now – I need to move it to the top of the pile. Sounds like a really fun book.

    TT: Noah’s Compass

  16. lexiepiper
    July 7, 2010

    Excellent teaser, I’ve been wanting to read this for ages, must get around to it soon!

    My teaser is here.

  17. Róisín
    July 7, 2010

    This one is a lot darker than some of your previous teasers. I like it though 🙂 I hadn’t heard much about King’s son. I must check him out.

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2010

      eh? really? hehe I used to write lots of dark teaser. I love horror and thriller. This is my 1st book from him, I hope he will be able to continue the legacy

  18. Róisín
    July 7, 2010

    @Novroz Do you know already which Teaser you will choose next? I hope I don’t forget to post one next week!

    • Novroz
      July 7, 2010

      I think it’ll still be from this book, I hope I can finish it before Tuesday, but small chance because I have mountain of works.

  19. Róisín
    July 7, 2010

    @Novroz It’ll be interesting to another teaser from this book anyway 🙂

  20. Dennis the Vizsla
    July 8, 2010

    I thought this book started well but went off the rails as it went along. (After I found out Joe Hill is Stephen King’s son that made sense to me as I’ve thought much of King’s later stuff has done the same thing.) But the beginning was creepy enough to carry me through to the end.

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2010

      I’ve reached the middle of the story, I still can not judge the book yet.

  21. Ronan
    July 8, 2010

    That is really cool that King’s son is a writer too, and a horror writer at that. It’s interesting how often the apple falls close to the tree. Enjoy the book Novia. I have another Ghibli review coming your way very soon 🙂 Getting there.

    • Novroz
      July 8, 2010

      I hope joe can continue his father’s works 🙂

      I’ll be sure to check on your review 😉

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2010 by in Bookish Memes and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads