Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday – On Writing (2)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I’m still reading this book because I’ve been so busy lately…and also because I’m a slow reader. There are so many good quotes and I don’t mind sharing another teaser from this book

On Writing, a memoir by Stephen King.

My teaser comes from page 167


Can I be blunt on this subject? If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or tools) to write. Simple as that

And another lines from page 222


Talk, whether ugly or beautiful, is an index of character; it can also be a breath of cool, refreshing air in a room some people would prefer to keep shut up.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

33 comments on “Teaser Tuesday – On Writing (2)

  1. Laya
    June 8, 2010

    How true. Now that’s a book I want for my collection. Great teasers!

    Mine’s at http://simplengkaligayahan.blogspot.com/2010/06/teaser-tuesdays-june-8.html

  2. Bina
    June 8, 2010

    You know, keep posting this as a teaser and you really will get me to read my first Stephen King book 🙂
    Here´s mine:
    http://ifyoucanreadthis.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/teaser-tuesday-25/

  3. I’ve only read Misery by Steven King. I’m sure this one is interesting. Great teaser.

    • Novroz
      June 8, 2010

      @ Laya There are so many ‘how true’ quotes in this book.

      @ Bina hehe it won’t be such a bad thing to start your 1st SK from this book 😉

      @ Jennifer On Contrary, I haven’t read Misery yet 😦 Yup, this book is really interesting…now I know what goes in his head when he was writing his books

  4. jacintah
    June 8, 2010

    This looks very different – sounds like you are enjoying it. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Staci
    June 8, 2010

    Very true King…very true!! Awesome teaser!

  6. Jan@eatingyabooks
    June 8, 2010

    I always enjoyed reading Kings essays in Time or Newsweek (or some magazine, I cannot remember which) so I think I would enjoy this book.

  7. justbookreading
    June 8, 2010

    Great teasers and very true.

  8. Marg
    June 8, 2010

    I love that first teaser!

    My teaser is here this week.

    • Novroz
      June 8, 2010

      @ Jacintah Yes I’m enjoying it a lot…and I’ll read this again one day.

      @ Staci Thank you.

      @ Jan I wish I can read his journal too.

      @ Just Book Reading Thanks and I was saying the same thing when I 1st read these lines

      @ Marg me too 🙂

  9. Ronan
    June 8, 2010

    I want to read this book now. He’s given some very practical advice there.

  10. Kathy Martin
    June 8, 2010

    This sounds interesting. I’m adding it to my TBR stack. King’s fiction scares the tar out of me but his nonfiction sounds intriguing. My TT is Embers by Laura Bickle.

  11. E.J. Stevens
    June 8, 2010

    Great Teasers! So right about the need to make time for reading.

    My Teaser for Captivate is here.

    Happy reading. 🙂

    xx,
    E.J.
    From the Shadows

    • Novroz
      June 8, 2010

      @ Ronan Correction! He’s giving a lot of practical advices 😉

      @ Kathy Martin I’m going to ask my students to read this too, she hates horror but she loves to write and this book is perfect for her.

      @ EJ Yeah it is kinda weird if you don’t like to read but wanted to be a writer

  12. Aimee
    June 8, 2010

    I kinda want to read this, mainly because I have liked so much from King in his novels, but I’m not a writer.

    My teaser is here.

  13. laurelrainsnow
    June 8, 2010

    Wow! Such “meaty” thoughts from the King.

    Here’s mine:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/teaser-tuesdays/

    • Novroz
      June 8, 2010

      @ Aimee Neither do I…but it’s a good read for both writer or just a reader

      @ Laurel Hehe this book is full of ‘meaty’ thought

      @ Gautami Yes! Do read it 🙂

  14. Debbie's Book Bag
    June 8, 2010

    Steven King is definitely a master when it comes writing. Both quotes are awesome! I might have to try this one…

    Check out my teaser at Debbie’s Book Bag!

    http://debsbookbag.blogspot.com/2010/06/teaser-tuesday-24.html

  15. Barbara
    June 8, 2010

    I’ve read some much about this book, from authors and readers, alike. have it on my shelf — must get it down.

    Here’s mine!

  16. Michelle
    June 8, 2010

    I haven’t read any of Stephen King’s works.
    However this does sound interesting.

    My `teaser` is up

  17. RJ
    June 9, 2010

    I had to read this book for a creative writing class in high school. I absolutely loved the tools part (the bio part… meh) of the book.

    Here’s my tt: http://www.readheadreviews.com/2010/06/08/teaser-tuesdays-6810/

    • Novroz
      June 9, 2010

      @ Debbie For me, he really is the master of writing. Love all his work.

      @ Barbara Do read it Barbara, you won’t regret it

      @ Michelle Yeah I’ve met people who never read SK books but they read this one

      @ RJ Since I am abig fan of his, I like the bio part as well.

  18. Tiina
    June 9, 2010

    Great teasers! I cannot agree more with the first one!

    Here is my teaser, if you want to take a look: http://abookblogofonesown.blogspot.com/2010/06/teaser-tuesday-train-to-trieste.html

    Greetings,
    Tiina

  19. pussreboots
    June 9, 2010

    I love the book that you’re reading. Pussreboots.

  20. Beverly
    June 9, 2010

    Great teaser! Stop by and check out my teaser at The Wormhole.

  21. Kah Woei
    June 9, 2010

    All authors must definitely read. 🙂

    Mine’s here.

  22. JHS
    June 12, 2010

    I have wanted to read that book for some time. I really need to order it and put it on the pile.

    BTW, stop by and sign up to win a copy of “This One is Mine” by Maria Semple. Entries close midnight (Pacific time), June 15!

    JHS
    Colloquium

  23. yana
    June 21, 2010

    If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or tools) to write. Simple as that –> totally agree 😉

    • Novroz
      June 22, 2010

      Baca deh yan!! Nih buku bgs bgt deh

      • yana
        June 25, 2010

        oke. nanti gw pinjem ya 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2010 by in Bookish Memes and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads