Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

To Stay or To Move?

I’ve been thinking a lot this past 2 days…it’s a hard thinking, so hard it makes my head hurt.

There’s an uproar on wordpress about the new SILLY features Called Re-Blog. I’m not a big fan of this feature…hell, I hate this feature.

Here is a good article by Timethief> here and what we are talking about in Forum.

Why I hate ReBlog? because it’s a content thief!! and WP is allowing it 😦

It is true that the 1st reblog will include the original link but the generation reblog will only include the link of the one who reblog the post…NOT the original Link.

I think hard every time I write something…I treasure my writing material..and I don’t want it to be used by other people.

Therefore, Right now I’m thinking either to pay CSS that can block this silly feature for $15 a year or to move out.

Gosh…this is really hard, I really like WP, I always tell people I know to use WP…but now just because of this one feature … a fatal mistake…I need to re-consider my love toward WP.

I’m now asking people how to move this blog to another site without losing any content.

Deep down inside … I wish don’t have to move…if WP provide an opt-out, moving out will be something pointless…but if they don’t provide an opt-out…the choice is left to paying or leaving.

This SUCKS!!

===================================================

Update on June 7

I’ve been asking around about moving this blog…but it seems that it’s a pity to move it because I feel comfortable in my blog, some people in WP Forum (who also as disappointed as me) advice me NOT to do it. At least I have to hang on for a while.

Tho the latest reply by WP staff is really annoying (here)…but I decided to stay. Let’s see what will happen in 2 weeks. and praying that my blog post is not interesting enough to be stolen (tho I have seen 3 people copy-paste my content), let’s just think positive for a while.

If things aren’t going well…I’ll choose to upgrade my blog then.

I still think REBLOG SUCKS!!!

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

10 comments on “To Stay or To Move?

  1. dhitzunako
    June 5, 2010

    Well there are WP-based free blog provider such as blogetery.com and blog.com
    As far as I know, both of them don’t feature reblog as their service. So you can export your WP.com blog contents and import them again by using your new account at new WP based blog provider.
    Have you leave your objection at WP’s Reblog article comment thread? I just wonder what will the WP’s admin say, since the article contains this sentence: “We all love reblog…”
    Well, I do, but, I’ll never do such a full co-pas post WITHOUT permission. I prefer just informing my readers that there is an information that will be more interesting for them to check it out at the original site/blog which posted it.

    • Novroz
      June 5, 2010

      Yup I know, some of my friends are using a wordpress based free blog…I’m thinking of moving it there. But I want to keep this blog alive just to give link to the new site….and that will take lots of time to do it, and that’s what makes me keep re-thinking about it.

      I’m one of the opposer in WP forum, the thread called reblogging is full with people who disagree with this feature…and one of the keymaster simply said ‘only a small amount of blogger dislike this feature’….what a silly answer!!!

      All we want is just an opt-out, we don’t ask them to delete the feature…but we want to be given a choice to allow or to NOT allow people to reblog our post…That’s all we are asking for. If WP grants this wish, I will not move my blog, for sure.

  2. Dennis the Vizsla
    June 6, 2010

    What’s that, like retweeting? Sounds like a stupid idea. Blog entries are not tweets.

    • Novroz
      June 6, 2010

      You didn’t know? WP has been giving a re-blog button since June 1.

      People are complaining about it but WP seems to ignore it. There are some great arguments of why we don’t agree with this reblog feature in WP Forum.

      I agree with you, blog is so much different than twitter.

  3. bananamolly
    June 6, 2010

    This is bad. I know how it feels, to have pay so much effort into a blog post that we love so much and then have people simply “re-blog” it. That’s not sharing, man. And that’s not cool.

    I agree with what you said, they should have option to either allow or disallow people to re-blog. 🙂

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2010

      Too bad that the Staff (WP Staff) just locked the thread where poeple are complaining 😦

      WordPress is so easy to use and has so many good feature…but this 1 feature Sucks!

      Yeah all my post are written with my heart content so it is always annoying when people are taking it through copy-paste or reblog…unless they ask first

  4. wulaaaan.....
    June 7, 2010

    It’s kinda hard to imagine your blog without WordPress, especially with all the contents and designs. But if walking out of this is what it takes to save ALL your writings, I’m with you 100 percent.

    • Novroz
      June 7, 2010

      It’s hard for me too 😦

      I decided to stay…but if someone starts reblogging my post…I’ll upgrade my CSS

  5. Ron
    June 8, 2010

    Hi folks,

    I don’t like reblogging either – dumb idea – but it’s worth bearing in mind that only logged-in WP users can reblog WP posts. So, if you have a blog that’s not WP-specific and attracts a wider audience, like this one, and mine, it’s likely to be only a minor problem.

    But it’s still wrong in principle, and we should have an opt-out.

    And for those of you thinking of moving, with a blog that’s been running for a few years, it’ll mean starting from scratch all over again, rebuilding your readership. Personally, that’s more hassle than I actually need.

    With a blog that’s just a few months old, though, it would be much less of a problem.

    Ron.

    • Novroz
      June 9, 2010

      That is exactly what made me confuse Ron!

      I have this blog for so long and some of the post are on top list in google search, I also have lots of Challenge-post…Moving is surely going to very difficult.

      an opt-out is definitly the best solution for this problem…I wish the staff will reconsider our demand.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2010 by in Things I Need to Say and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads