Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Teaser Tuesday – On Writing

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Finally…as usual, after reading 3 books by different authors, it’s now time to read something from my number 1 author, Mr. Stephen King

Right now I’m reading On Writing, a memoir by Stephen King. I’ve reached page 80, it is such an inspirational book.

My teaser comes from page 54

(I took time to choose today’s teaser because there are so many good lines in this book)


I took my fair share of English Lit classes in my two remaining years at Lisbon, and my fair share of composition, fiction and poetry classes in college, but John Gould taught me more than any of them, and in no more than ten minutes.

And another lines from page 56


Once you know what the story is and get it right – as right as you can, anyway – it belongs to anyone who wants to read it. Or criticize it.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

41 comments on “Teaser Tuesday – On Writing

  1. gautami tripathy
    June 1, 2010

    Good ones! I will check it out.

    Teaser Tuesdays: Snowbound by Blake Crouch

  2. Kendall
    June 1, 2010

    Good quotes. I love Stephen King, one of my favorites. I like this Teaser Tuesday and will have to try it. (I am just learning this blogging stuff) But, it’s not Tuesday here yet! LOL

    • Novroz
      June 1, 2010

      Hehe we Asians experience Tuesday earlier 😉

      If love books, you’ll definitely love teaser Tuesday, it’s a good reference for searching books.

      Good luck with your blog…blogging is addictive 🙂

  3. Jennifer
    June 1, 2010

    Wonderful teasers. I am a huge fan of memoirs and have not read this one, yet. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/06/teaser-tuesdays-making-of-duchess.html

    • Novroz
      June 1, 2010

      This is my 1st Memoir, and so far I’m enjoying it

  4. Aleksandra
    June 1, 2010

    Great teasers! I’m not really into memoirs, but I liked these, so I might read it! 😉 Happy reading! 🙂

    • Novroz
      June 1, 2010

      Neither do I…but this is by Stephen King, so… I make an exception 😉

  5. Olive
    June 1, 2010

    Haven’t read this Stephen King book yet, but definitely will. It seems to be in a lot of people’s Top 5 books on writing to read and judging from the quotes you pulled from the book, it looks good. Have you read Bird by Bird by Anne Lammott, if not, you should check it out, it’s very funny and I’m sure anyone who writes can identify with it.

    • Novroz
      June 1, 2010

      No I haven’t, I’ll be sure to search for it…but it is really difficult to find books that haven’t been translated yet. I have to ask my friend is Australia to buy me this book.

  6. Sassy Brit
    June 1, 2010

    Hi there again!

    I’ve got this and it’s great! Glad you are enjoying it.

    Here is MINE if you fancy dropping by.

    Thank you!

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Sassy
    🙂

  7. Interesting Teaser. I’m not a Steven King fan. It’s true one person can put many things into perspective for you.

    Happy Reading!

  8. Kah Woei
    June 1, 2010

    Hi again. I’m back.

    A memoir huh. Hmm.. I’m not very into non-fiction books.

    My teaser is here if you’re interested: http://thebooksofmylife.blogspot.com/2010/05/teaser-tuesdays-jun-1.html

    • Novroz
      June 1, 2010

      @Sassy Yup I’m enjoying every words of it. I’ll be at your blog as soon as I use a PC 🙂

      @Jennifer I’ve met a lot of reader who enjoy this book even though they don’t follow Stephen King’s book

      Kah Woei Same here 🙂 But since it is written by Mr. King, I’m eager to read it. It doesn’t feel like a memoir at all

  9. Mrs.B.
    June 1, 2010

    Interesting! Always good to know how the experts learned to write.
    Here’s my teaser:
    here.

  10. Bina
    June 1, 2010

    That´s a great teaser! I haven´t really read any of his works, but this memoir sounds intriguing. Here´s my teaser:
    http://ifyoucanreadthis.wordpress.com/2010/06/01/teaser-tuesday-24/

  11. Jan@eatingyabooks
    June 1, 2010

    Now this is a memoir I think I would enjoy. I was a huge fan in his early career. Great teaser!

    • Novroz
      June 2, 2010

      @ Mrs.B What I do learn, so far, is that He loves Horror since he was a teenager

      @ Bina I’ve heard many who don’t read His books but they read his memoir

      @ Jan Yeah, I think you’ll like this book 🙂

  12. laurelrainsnow
    June 1, 2010

    Those are “pearls of wisdom.”

    Here’s mine:

    http://rainysnowday.wordpress.com/2010/06/01/teaser-tuesdays-14/

    • Novroz
      June 2, 2010

      Yup, they are indeed 🙂 … there are so many good “Pearl of Wisdom” in this book

  13. justbookreading
    June 1, 2010

    Good teasers. I’ve been meaning to read this one.

  14. Kaye
    June 1, 2010

    I’ve never read Stephen King – always thought he was too creepy for me but a memoir, now that’s different. Great teasers!
    My TT is here Have a great week and happy reading!

    • Novroz
      June 1, 2010

      You should re-consider that notion 😉 there are some books by King that is so beautiful and Not creepy at all.

      This memoir is -as Mr. King said- is trying not to say all the Bullshit as most memoirs do.

  15. Audrey
    June 1, 2010

    Good Teasers! The author is new to me – will have to see what the library has.
    HERE is my teaser for the first day of June!

    • Novroz
      June 1, 2010

      eh?? Stephen King is new to you? Wow blog community really is fun, we’ve got to see lots of different perspective.

  16. Marg
    June 1, 2010

    Would be interesting to see what it was that he learned!

    My teaser is here

  17. Lisa
    June 1, 2010
  18. Lady Q
    June 1, 2010

    I LOVED this book. Good teasers! Here’s my teaser for The Smoke Thief.

  19. Alayne
    June 1, 2010

    Great teasers, I bet this is such a good book. My teaser is at The Crowded Leaf.

    • Novroz
      June 1, 2010

      @ Marg Yup it is really interesting! the book feels like Mr. King himself is talking to me.

      @ Ladi Q I think I’m going to love this book too 🙂

      @ Alayne It is a very good book.

  20. elizabeth
    June 1, 2010

    Awesome quotes!

    My teaser is here.

  21. Beth
    June 2, 2010

    Great teasers! Here is my teaser for this week.

  22. Clarissa
    June 2, 2010

    Sounds like a really interesting and helpful book. Here is my teaser
    http://limpetsandpenguins.blogspot.com/2010/06/teaser-tuesday-100601.html

    • Novroz
      June 2, 2010

      @ Elizabeth thx 🙂 I’ve just found more great quotes from this book

      @ Beth thank you

      @ Clarisa it is helpful for those who want to write.

  23. pussreboots
    June 2, 2010

    On Writing is an excellent book. Happy reading!

  24. JHS
    June 2, 2010

    I’ve heard great things about that book & am determined to read it, but right now I’m on “book probation.” NO MORE can come into my house until I read a few more from the stack.

    JHS
    Colloquium

  25. Ronan
    June 3, 2010

    I wonder if there are any of his books that don’t come with the line: ‘The international Bestseller’? My personal favourite has to be His Short story that became The Shawshank Redemption, it fills me with hope every time I see it.

    • Novroz
      June 3, 2010

      @ pussreboots so far, it is excellent.

      @ JHS Huahaha I am in the same position as you…too many books on my shelf and I keep on visiting library at the same time

      @ Ronan lol, I honestly don’t know Ronan…but I don’t mind either because I’m planning to buy all his works. I haven’t read Different Seasons yet (Shawshank is in this book), but I will one day

      • pussreboots
        June 6, 2010

        On Writing is one of those books I’d love to have in my personal collection. The copy I read, I borrowed from a friend.

        • Novroz
          June 6, 2010

          I sometimes have the same feeling at yours…I borrow a book and then it was amazing and I want to own it.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2010 by in Bookish Memes and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads