Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Best B-Side Track

Lately, I have been engulfed by my tribute to my number one band, L’Arc~en~Ciel and have abandoned my other number 1 band, Muse. It’s true that my love toward L’Arc~en~Ciel is a step higher than toward Muse…but a total abandonment is totally unacceptable…therefore, I NEED to write this post 🙂

I’m going to share my favorite B-Side Track from Muse. B-Side Track Songs are songs that didn’t make it into their album…They release the songs as a B-Side on their single. The way I hear it, some of these B-Side Songs are much better than some of their songs that made it into their album (Showbiz, Origin of Symmetry, Absolution, Black Holes and Revelation, and The Resistance).

It’s so hard to choose because all the songs have their own interesting part. I finally able to squeeze them into 20 songs, they are (in alphabetical order) : Can’t Take My Eyes of Off You, Coma, Con-Science, Dead Star, Easily, Eternally Missed, Fury, Glorious, Hypochondriac Music, In Your World, Instant Messenger, Map of your Head, Nature_1, Please Please Let Me Get What I Want, Recess, Shrinking Universe, Shine, Soaked, The Groove and Yes Please.

Out of those 20 songs, here are my Top 5:

#5: Can’t Take My Eyes of Off You

Yes, this is not their song!! I don’t even remember who sing it for the 1st time because there are so many version of this old song. But Muse’s version of this song is the best!! It started very slow with some oldies percussion and then it evolves into something more like Muse. We can jump up and down to this song…it’s cheerful and still rocked. Youtube link

#4 : Soaked

This song was said to be made for Adam Lambert, however, Muse also sings this song (I haven’t heard Adam Lambert’s version and too eager too). I don’t know what it is about this song that I like so much. Somehow, I think this song is beautiful and sad. It reminds me of old songs. The string also make this song feels so deep, it truly touches my heart. Youtube link

#3 : Fury

This isn’t B-side, it’s a bonus song for Japanese CD version, but let’s just assume this is a B-side song. At first, I didn’t like this song (I didn’t hate it either), but the more I listen to it the more I like it, especially after I saw its live version. What makes this song interesting is how it flows, the music just flows like water. The music and the vocal are in one unity that feels so peaceful and like I said before, it flows gracefully. Youtube link

#2 : Eternally Missed

Well…actually, Eternally Missed can also be my number 1 song, the comparison to my number 1 song is so thin. I love everything about this song, the screechy sound at the beginning, Matt sings without music and them the sound of drum and bass that followed after that is just perfect for the song. The way Dom beats his drum strengthen the song, Matt solo guitar sounds so sad, even the creepy ending of this song brings the best out of this song. EM radiates the feeling of sadness and loneliness. Youtube link

Chase your dreams away
Glass needle in the hay
The sun forgives the cloud
You are my holy shroud

And number 1 is …. *drum*

#1 : Shrinking Universe

I fell in love with this song the moment I heard it. The music is so rich although for the 1st 1 minute 30 seconds it sounds monotonous but after that it grows into a rich sound of drum, guitar and bass. The way Matt sings the song is perfect, I especially like the way he screams in minute 2.03 – 2.37…the scream sounds so painful but captivating. I can listen to this song over and over again for an hour and never get bored. Youtube link

Shrinking Universe and Eternally Missed are so easy to choose because I love those songs so damn much!! The other 3 are a bit difficult because they share the same feeling I have toward the rest of the songs on my Top 20.

If you happened to be as addicted to Muse as I am, you’d know all these songs, which one is your favorite B-Side track?

This poll below only shows 20 songs, add your own favorite songs in your comment 🙂




About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

2 comments on “Best B-Side Track

  1. Ronan
    May 24, 2010

    My wife loves Muse. She can listen to it non stop.
    Quite like Can’t take my eyes off you.
    My personal favourite would be Unintended (not b-side track, but it is gorgeuos).

    • Novroz
      May 24, 2010

      Yeaaa…say hi to your wife from me 🙂 , if I live in your country, I will watch Muse concert as much as I can…unfortunately I live in Indonesia…I’m still waiting for them to come back again.

      Unintended is the one that makes me fall in love with muse….as you’ve said it’s gorgeous.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2010 by in L'ArcHolic and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads