Teaser Tuesday – Deep River

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

It’s my new author’s book 🙂 Recently, I’ve been trying to read as many new authors as possible…mostly Japanese because only Japanese author is available in JF-Library.

The book I’m reading right now is Deep River by Shusaku Endo. I’ve reached page 136 and so far I really enjoy his style of writing, the story is also interesting.

My teaser comes from page 74

Blackie was the first dog to teach him that animals can converse with humans. Not just conversing – he had also learned they can be companions who understand your sorrows

I choose these sentences because it relates to me the most. I feel the same way toward my pets, although they are turtles (a cold blooded animal) but they really do understand me.

22 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday – Deep River

  1. Ooo I like this meme!

    I really like that quote – I feel the same about my dog. Horses are quite intuitive too. I can’t imagine not having an animal as a companion. I love the way their attachment is largely unconditional 🙂 Are turtles good companions?

  2. @Marg Indeed!!

    @Audrey Hahaha yeah my turtles don’t converse back BUT they really do listen 🙂

    @Roisin Yeah Come and Join us Roisin 🙂 I’d love to know the kind of book you like to read.

    Yup, unlike what people think about cold-blooded animal…Turtle can show unconditional love, and for this reason I made my turtles’ blog (just started and only has 1 post). They are attach to their owner, Kroten is with me right now, she doesn’t wanna be in another room when I’m not in that room.

  3. @Novroz I’ll definitely join ye in the meme – When I get home for work, I’ll get my book 😀

    That is so adorable about your turtle – Tell Kroten I said hello from Ireland!

  4. @Lisa I should warn you that this isn’t a book about animal.

    @Alayne That’s a good way to describe all pets 🙂

    @Roisin I’m looking foward for your teaser 🙂
    Both Kroten and Kame say Hi 😉

  5. And this is the reason that humans have animal pets – for understanding and companionship. Great teaser!

    If you’d like, you can check out mine here.

  6. @Novroz I’ll write it on my sundryandco blog 🙂 I’ll be writing a new post on Róisín Recommends tonight too – I’ll be putting up guest posts on the R.R. blog in the near future, so if you’d like to write a post for it, you’re more than welcome! Maybe you could write it on music! 🙂

    1. I’ll be waiting for both of your posts 🙂

      Hey that’s a good idea. I’m waiting for my Larc en Ciel’s newest DVD (L’7-across asia through Paris) from Hongkong…and I always review all Live/Concert by Larc en Ciel. I can share a short review of it on your blog 🙂 .

  7. Very true teaser, sometime a pet owner can feel like their dog knows their moods even better than they do. I read the most amazing book this week. I had used it for my Teaser Tuesday and loved it so much I decided to post my review today. Feel free to head over to my blog and check it out at http://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com and post your teaser in my comments!

    Sincerely,
    Emma Michaels

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)