Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Girl With a Pearl Earring

Girl with a pearl earring is a movie based on a novel by Tracy Chevalier. The title of the movie is named after a painting by a Dutch Painter Johannes Vermeer. The story is about the girl in that picture.

This movie is directed by Peter Webber. The stars are Scarlet Johansson, Colin Firth, Tom Wilkinson, Essie Davis and Cillian Murphy. If you know me, you know why I downloaded this movie…it’s because of CILIAN MURPHY. And I should say that lucky I didn’t buy this movie.

The Story: The setting was Netherlands in 1660s. Griet had to help her family by being a maid in the house of a famous painter named Johannes Vermeer. Griet became closer to Vermeer. He taught her the basic in painting. It made Catharina, Vermeer’s wife, very jealous at Griet.

Meanwhile, Griet had stolen the heart of a butcher’s son named Pieter. Pieter always tried to get close with Griet but she was a bit slow in returning his feeling. In the end, she did return his feeling.

Chatarina’s jealousy increased when she saw Vermeer’s painting of Griet and he banished her from the house. In the book, the epilogue talked about Griet and Pieter’s married and they had 2 sons.

Snapshots

Here’s what I think about the movie, IT’S SO BORING!!! There are only 3 things that keep me awake, if not for these 3 things I would have fallen asleep or turned off the movie. Those things are:

  • Cillian Murphy. Well, he is the reason I downloaded this movie. Too bad he only appears for about 7 minutes. I have edited the movie by keeping the scenes where Cillian shows up and deleting the rest of the movie.
  • Colin Firth. He looks really cool in this movie…he is more handsome here than in Bridget Jones Diary
  • Cinematography. The movie’s cinematography is so beautiful, it’s like looking at a moving painting.

After watching the movie, I searched a bit about the movie…and I was right, the movie won several awards for best cinematography…honestly speaking, its Cinematography is the only thing worth watching (if you are not a fan of one of the actors/actress). The story is so terribly boring. There were no ups and downs and it didn’t give any emotional mix. I fast-forwarded the movie in several scenes because I couldn’t take the boredom anymore.

I believe there are people who love this movie, but I am not the kind of person who enjoy romantic-drama kind of movie – but I do enjoy romantic comedy. So, here comes my rating over this movie…I can only give this movie

Cillian Murphy’s Special

Cillian Murphy in Girl With a Pearl Earring

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

8 comments on “Girl With a Pearl Earring

  1. Olive
    April 12, 2010

    I agree, the film was a bit slow, but visually it was stunning:)

    • Novroz
      April 12, 2010

      Maybe the director was really aiming at visual rather than story

      • rtm
        April 13, 2010

        Thanks, I’m gonna skip this one and just find clips of Cillian on Youtube instead 🙂 I’m no ScarJo fan, either, even having Firth in this might not be enough to entice me.

        Btw, did I ever tell you one of my co-workers actually resembles Cillian? He’s got a very similar facial structure and skin tone, but of course, can’t beat Cillian’s gorgeous eyes!!

        • Novroz
          April 13, 2010

          Good decision!! Finding him in youtube will save you from boredom 😉

          Eh? really? I will never meet anyone resemble to him here in Indonesia 😦

          • rtm
            April 13, 2010

            Hey you never know, maybe you’ll run into him near Kem Chick or Sabang, he..he.. Yeah, I just ran into that Cillian-lookalike in the hallway, he’s even a similar height as him. Now, don’t be jealous 🙂

          • Novroz
            April 14, 2010

            I try not to be jelous…afterall it’s not the real Cillian Murphy…I’ll be full of envy if it is him hehe.

            Yeah you’re right, maybe I’ll run into a bule that look like him somewhere in the mall 😉

  2. scarletsp1der
    January 17, 2011

    haha, what a fun review. I like your 3 C’s that you enjoyed in the film! I will agree that what I saw of the film dragged. I will watch it completely one of these days/months/years! 🙂

    • Novroz
      January 17, 2011

      Just think of Scarlett!! I bet you can finish it 😉
      I was doing the same thing when I watched it.
      I am also going to focus my attention solely on Cillian when watching NOW, his future movie with the annoying Justin Timberlake

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2010 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads