Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Intermission

Intermission is an Irish movie that I looked for simply because Cillian Murphy is in it 🙂 , I’ll try to watch every single movie that he plays…but my judgment over the movie is  not clouded by the fact that Cillian is in it.

Intermission is directed by John Crowley and written by Mark O Rowe (Cillian’s newest movie, Perrier’s Bounty is also written by this man). There are so many casts for this movie but I’m just going to mention some of them while telling the story of this movie.

This movie reminds me so much of Rock n Rolla, there are so many stories but all of them relate to one another. It’s interesting and sometimes it’s funny tho I wouldn’t called it as one of my favorite Cillian Movies

The story: Story like Intermission is a bit difficult to write because it’ll give some spoilers, but I’ll try. Lehiff (Collin Farrel) is a local bad boy, all he can think about is to do something illegal. A notorious detective, Jerry Lynch (Colm Meaney) has his eyes on him. Meanwhile, in another part of the town, a middle aged bank manager named Sam is leaving his wife, Noeleen, for a younger woman named Deirdre. Deirdre used to go out with John (Cillian Murphy). John and Oscar work in a supermarket with a very annoying manager. Oscar desperately wants a girlfriend and he asks John to accompany him to a bar to find a woman. He meets Noeleen and they start sleeping together.

John had enough of his manager and it causes his job. Meanwhile, Mick, a bus driver, also loss his job because a small boy throws a rock into the front window and causes an accident. Lehiff asks Mick and John to find easy money by blackmailing Sam. John agrees because he wants to hurt Sam and tries to get Deirdre back.

Ow…I almost forgot about Sally, Deirdre’s sister. She has big grudge over men and refuses to dress up…she soon realizes how terrible she is when she sees herself in television. She was being interviewed for saving the life of people on Mick’s bus. After interviewing Sally, Ben the reporter, makes a documentary film by following Jerry.

So…will Lehiff, Mick and John get the money? Will john get Deirdre back? Will Oscar live happily with an older woman? And what will happen in these series of people’s life? Well, you have to watch it for yourself, I’m not going to spoil it here.

It’s a really nice black comedy, not much of a laugh there but I admit that it is quite fun. I learn to like this kinda movie, where everyone has their own story and somehow related, lately.

So…just like Rock n Rolla, I’m giving this movie 3 stars, which mean I like it. I wanna see Perrie’s Bounty…it seems more fun than this one.

Cillian’s Special

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

8 comments on “Intermission

  1. rtm
    April 1, 2010

    I haven’t heard of this movie before so thanks for the tip. It’s got Cillian and Colin AND it’s like Rocknrolla?? I’m there! I quite enjoyed that Guy Ritchie flick, of course having Gerry Butler there is a huge plus 🙂 British black comedies are usually pretty intriguing, so I’ll definitely add this to my Netflix!

    • Novroz
      April 1, 2010

      Intermission’s plot is like Rock n Rolla but with less violent and it doesn’t involve mobster.

      Rock n Rolla makes me want to see more Ritchie’s movies.

      If you like Collin n Cillian in one movie…then join me in waiting for their new movies under Brendan Gleeson’s direction (I always forget the title coz it’s so hard to remember)

  2. rtm
    April 5, 2010

    Hi Novroz, the movie is called ‘At Swim-Two-Birds’, I included that under Jonathan Rhys-Meyers’ text:

    His next project At Swim-Two-Birds is definitely an Irish production. It’s fellow Irishman Brendan Gleeson’s writing/directing debut about a playwright who begins to mingle with the fictional characters he has created. His co-stars all appear on this list: Cillian Murphy, Colin Farrell and Gabriel Byrne!

    WOW that’s like the best Irish actors all working in the same movie, can’t wait for that!

    • Novroz
      April 5, 2010

      ah yes! that’s the title!

      WOW that’s like the best Irish actors all working in the same movie, can’t wait for that!

      Same here 🙂

  3. movienewsfirst
    April 7, 2010

    Love this film. I’ve seen it a few times and I think it’s one of the best independent films to come out of Ireland in recent times. I also must give a shout out to Cillian Murphy. He was in the same class as me at university for a year. It feels weird that he’s a successful actor now! So happy for him.

    • Novroz
      April 7, 2010

      As for me, I think The Wind That Shakes Barley is the best independent Irish Movie.

      I envy you…I wish I can see that blue eyes in person. Is he as nice as he seems to be?

  4. writeolive
    April 7, 2010

    The Wind that Shakes the Barley is an amazing film too:)
    Cillian is a good guy and the blue eyes are even better in person!

    • Novroz
      April 7, 2010

      Watching his movies makes me love Cillian even more, ALMOST all his movies are great movies.

      Ow that’s so good to hear, I wish he’ll keep it that way forever, stay as a good guy no matter how famous he’ll become.

      He has the most beautiful blue eyes I’ve ever seen :love: , I usually like actors with black/brown eyes till I saw Cillian’s

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2010 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,527 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads