Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Read the Book, See the Movie Challenge

Some people like to read but they don’t like movie, while others tend to like movie but despise books…well I am a person who enjoy both A LOT, I am an excessive reader and movie goer…both movie and book provide me with knowledge and fun.

But…

I’ve learn that, watching the movie before reading the book and the re-watch the movie is much better than reading the book then watch it for the 1st time…why? Because the movie can not surprise me anymore and then I tend to compare it to the book and finding it not as interesting as the book (unless for some movies like The Lord of The Rings who able to capture the best of the book). If I watch it 1st, the book can still surprise me as if I never seen the movie before.

However…

They are some amazing movie that can surpass the book. For example, The Mist by Stephen King…the ending in the book is so boring but the Movie altered the ending and become a much better ending.

Despite of what I’ve just said…I still watch a lot of movies after reading the book…for Stephen King’s books, I choose to read it 1st so that I still have the element of Surprise. And if you look at my list below, 3 out 4 are the books I haven’t watched yet.

I recently found this exciting Challenge through mee’s blog. the challenge is called Read the Book, See the Movie Challenge, I find it perfect for me 🙂

The rules are very simple

Here’s how to join:

1. Select a challenge level:

  • Matinee: one book/movie
  • Double Feature: two books/movies
  • Saturday Movie Marathon: four books/movies
  • Film Festival: eight books/movies
  • Festival Jury Member: ten books/movies

2. Copy and paste the Read the Book, See the Movie Challenge button to your blog. (Optional. If you don’t have a blog, you can still sign-up and play along. You can post reviews here.)

3. Sign up using Mr. Linky below. Please list your challenge level in a comment.

4. Get together a list of books/movies that you plan on reviewing. (Optional. You can just see what comes along during the year if you’d rather.)

I am aiming for the Festival Jury Member 🙂 but for now let’s settle on Movie Marathon, I am sure I will change it along the way.

Here are my list:

  1. Jurassic Park
  2. Hannibal Rising
  3. The X Files – I Want to Believe : Book and Movie
  4. The Shinning: Book and Movie
  5. The Road
  6. Pandemic: Book and Movie
About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

8 comments on “The Read the Book, See the Movie Challenge

  1. mee
    March 29, 2010

    Ooh my preference is to first read the book, then watch the movie. Though there’s not much element of surprise I like to see how they work to adapt a book into a movie. Sometimes I watch the movie without reading the book, but it rarely happens that the movie makes me want to read the book after that.

    • Novroz
      March 29, 2010

      I agree, it’s rarely happened (wanted to read a book after watching the movie), it only happened when the movie is really really good….in my case, they are Breakfast on Pluto and Shutter Island

  2. gnoegnoe
    April 3, 2010

    I’ll wait what comes along since I especiaal plan on seeing movies of which I read the book several years ago (like The Road) — and that doesn’t count; makes it hard to compare too.

    • Novroz
      April 3, 2010

      I also have some books from the past that I want to see…but as you said it wouldn’t work coz we have to read and watch them this year.

      I am lucky because many Stephen King’s books have been made into big screen movie 🙂

  3. wulaaaaan.....
    April 4, 2010

    The Constant Gardener??? =________=’
    (that’s all I have to say)

  4. wulaaaaaaaaaaan....
    April 4, 2010

    havent read the book, but the movie was….plain. Which was so unfortunate, because it starred two actor and actress that I love so much: Ralph Fiennes and Rachel Weisz.

    • Novroz
      April 5, 2010

      aaa I see…but John Le Carre is known as good writer. I don’t know when I’ll be able to read it, so many Stephen King on my shelf really disturb my concentration if reading the others 🙂

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2010 by in Excessive Reader, Excessive Watcher and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads