Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Disco Pigs

Disco Pigs is a movie based on a play written by Enda Walsh. In 1996, Cillian Murphy played as Daren or ‘Pig’ and Eileen Walsh played as Sinead or ‘Runt’. The play was going to be played for 2 weeks but ended up touring around Ireland and Britain. The play was only played by Murphy and Walsh.

In 2001, Kirsten Sheridan, adapted the play into movie with the same title and the same actor, Cillian Murphy but changed Walsh into Elaine Cassidy as Runt.

The Story

Daren and Sinead were born almost at the same time and they also lived next door. Being born at the same time made them closer than anyone else. They had strong relationship and completely ignoring other people. Sinead called Daren as PIG and Daren called Sinead as RUNT.

Pig is an emotional person and he often did bad things just for the fun of it. Runt was always their as his sidekick. Days before their 17th birthday, Pig realized that he had feeling for Runt, a feeling that was more than just friendship.

The school thought that their relationship is not healthy and therefore they must be separated. Runt was transferred to another school far from their town. Pig can not even imagine living in the world without Runt. He went searching for her…but their reunion brought so much tragedy between them.

It is a very unusual love story. In a certain way, it was so sweet, especially when they held their hand together through their room and when they ran away together. But on the other hand, it was quite creepy to see Pig who’s claiming that she is his as he is her and he can’t live (literally) without her.

Disco Pigs

Sweet Pig and Runt

What amazed me in this movie is Cillian’s accent. It was amazingly difficult to comprehend and yet he speaks it so naturally. He is very convincing as a cocky and annoying young boy. But in spite of that I can’t say that I like the movie, I can only rate this movie as a 2 stars movie, which means it was okay.

I’m so curious about the play tho…Can you imagine a play with only 2 people on it.

Court

Courtesy of Gappon.com

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

7 comments on “Disco Pigs

  1. Corry
    March 22, 2010

    I love Cillian Murphy. Disco Pigs is one of my favorites, we can see his theaterical tallent there. And yeah, his accent is hard to understand even to Native English.

    Love your post even though you only give it 2 stars

    • Novroz
      March 22, 2010

      It because I am not really into love story, it’s good but not great.

      The only reason I’m going to watch it again is just to see Cillian Murphy.

  2. Caroline
    January 23, 2011

    I agree, the realtionship sounds very similar to Heavenly Creatures only Heavenly Creatures is worse beacuse they did commit a crime and it is a true story. To kill your own mother… And the way they did… Incredibly cold and brutal. I can tell you I am not easily shocked but it shocked me. I’d say it deserves at least 4 stars. Disco Pigs doesn’t seem that good. (I didn’t think your review was bad?)

    • Novroz
      January 24, 2011

      This one also ends up with a crime…but they didn’t kill their mother (Thank God), Pig killed a man and Runt help Pig to suicide.

      Actually, a lot of people love this movie…it just wasn’t my kind of movie. You might like it too as you give Heavenly Creatures 4stars. Plus it shows amazing act by Cillian.
      I think the review is bad because it didn’t deliver what I’m trying to say.

  3. Pingback: Cillian Murphy’s Filmography « Polychrome Interest

  4. sunshinedany
    February 21, 2012

    this movie is the reason i started searching & watching Mr.Cillian movies. never been disappointed cause he”s acting is great.

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2012

      I agree that Cillian’s performance is amazing in Disco Pigs, but the movie itself is not my cup of tea, unfortunately.

      The movie that makes me start searching all his movies was Breakfast on Pluto…love everything about that movie.

      Thank you for stopping by Dany

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2010 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads