Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Birthday Stories

Birthday Stories is an anthology selected and introduced by Haruki Murakami. The only reason I borrowed the book is of course because Murakami’s name is printed on that book. I’m trying to read all his works because he is my number one Japanese author. Beside his name on the book, I was also curious of what kind of story would Murakami like.

There are 13 short stories related to birthday in this book, 12 of them are written by western writers and only 1 story is written by Japanese writer, which is Murakami himself. Murakami also writes a brief introduction for each writer in this book.

Here are the summary of every short stories in this book: The Moor by Russel Banks; it tells the story of a man who encountered an older woman who once had an affair with him. Dundun by Dennis Johnson; it’s a story of a man named Dundun who killed someone on his birthday. Timothy’s Birthday by William Trevor; it’s about a birthday party prepared by Timothy’s parents, but Timothy sent his friend to come instead of himself (I make a teaser out of this story> here). The Birthday Cake by Daniel Lyons; it’s a sad story of an old woman, alone and forgotten by her children. Turning by Linda Sexson; it’s about 3 old ladies who came to a boy’s birthday party and told him a story of The Emperor Who Had no Skin. Forever Overhead by David Foster Wallace; I don’t know what it is about because I stopped reading it after 2 pages.

Angel of Mercy, Angel of Wrath by Ethan Canin; a story of an old woman whose birthday was forgotten by her own son, but someone else come and gave her what she wanted. The Birthday Present by Andrea Lee; it tells the story of a wife who gave her husband a couple of whore for his birthday present. The Bath by Raymond Carver; it’s a sad story about a boy who laid in the hospital bed on his 9th birthday. A Game of Dice by Paul Theroux; another sad story of a man who has an unusual wife. Close to The Water’s Edge by Claire Keegan; it’s a story of a man who lived in lies. Ride by Lewis Robinson; a story of a boy who took a ride with his father on his 16th birthday. Birthday Girl by Haruki Murakami; A girl who had to work on her 20th birthday was suddenly given one wish…a wish that will come true.

I have read Haruki Murakami’s birthday Girl in his collection of short stories, Blind Willow Sleeping Woman. And it was one of my favorite stories in that book.

Overall, I find Birthday Stories as a bit unusual. I like the fact that he didn’t just choose the happiest story because most people think that birthday is one of the happiest days of one’s life…but some of the stories are to boring to read. Forever Overhead is one of the most boring short story I have ever read…I couldn’t even finished reading it. Although some are very interesting.

Somewhere in the middle, I wanted to stop reading and picked up another book…but I managed to finish it after all. Maybe I’m not the kind of person who enjoy reading a collection of short stories written by many authors (take example of The Dark House…I’m not sure when I’ll be able to finish it). It was fun to read many authors in one book but it’s also a risky act because somewhere between all those stories, we might stumble upon an extremely boring or annoying stories. And the variety of writing style also gives a sense of lost.

My rate for this book is , which means it was okay.

==================================================

I’m sharing this post in Hello Japan! and Support Your Library Reading Challenge 2010

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

7 comments on “Birthday Stories

  1. mee
    March 25, 2010

    I found that the best way to read short stories is to dip in and out, rather than reading everything in the collection continuously. I used to force myself to read continuously just because I want to finish the book. But I didn’t enjoy the experience. Now I pick a few that interest me (maybe the title or the author) and I don’t worry anymore about not finishing every damn short story in the collection 🙂

    • Novroz
      March 25, 2010

      Yeah, I think that’s the best way to read short stories by so many authors

      The boredom never happen when I read a collection of short stories by the same author, I have no trouble finishing Blind Willow Sleeping Woman and After The Quake (both by Murakami) or Skeleton Crew by Stephen King…the problem only happen when it is a book of many authors.

  2. tanabata
    April 3, 2010

    Thanks for taking part in Hello Japan! in March. Reading an anthology of stories by different authors is usually hit or miss with me. I agree with Mee, I prefer dipping in but even then I rarely like all of the stories equally. With so many different writing styles, it’s hardly surprising. I’ve been curious about this book too though, and what kind of stories Murakami might like, so I may still give it a try someday.

    • Novroz
      April 3, 2010

      If this book is mine, meaning I do not borrow it from library, I might do what I did to Dark House, read 1 or 2 stories and then I read another books and then get back to dark house again (as Mee said, dip in and out)

  3. Antonia
    April 10, 2010

    I love short stories.
    It shows the true capabilities of the authors when having such a shorter space to give out all the information and creating a wonderful universe.
    I will check this out!

    • Novroz
      April 10, 2010

      I like short stories too but it’s a mistake to read them all in one time…short stories are better to read in separate time.

      If you finally find this book, I hope you’ll enjoy it and thank you for stopping by 🙂

  4. Pingback: Birthday Stories (selected and introduced by Haruki Murakami) « Bibliojunkie

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,553 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads