Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Taiko and The amazing Honoo Daiko

I will go traditional for my second post for Hello Japan’s January Challenge.

My most favorite Japanese traditional music, or should I say percussion, is Taiko. I’ll be in the front line of every Taiko Performance in every Japanese Matsuri held in Jakarta. There will be some videos in this post.

My main focus is the amazing Honoo Daiko, a trio of amazing woman who play powerful and yet beautiful Taiko. I’ve been a fan since I saw them in JI-Expo 2009.

What is Taiko?

Taiko is percussions made by animal skin, there are so many kind of Taiko. In Japan, from south to North, you can find all type of Taiko…some are small some are big, they even have Taiko as big as a house and as thin as uchiwa (a fan). There are also so many way in playing Taiko, some are put on the floor, some are held by hand, and some are carried on their shoulder.

This picture below shows the best Taiko group in Indonesia, unfortunately I don’t have a video of their performance because I have no real camera at that time. There are many Taiko Groups in Indonesia and most of them play in a group of 8 to 12.

Look at the video below! This is another kind of Taiko, this one is called Okinawa Taiko.

Now let’s talk about Honoo Daiko!!!

Honoo Daiko is a group 3 women: Jige Akemi, Kinoshita Chieko, and Yamada Mizue. The group was formed in 1986 in Ishikawa Prefecture. They are consistently performing powerful, high spirit and solemn performance without losing its rhythm and harmony. Hono means Fiery, it reflects their fiery performance. Their name is well-known throughout the world.

In November 9, 2008, Jakarta held Indonesia-Japan Expo as a way to celebrate 50 years of friendship between Indonesia and Japan. And that was the moment I knew about Honoo Daiko and I fell in love at first sight. Their performance was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!! Those 3 women play Taiko as if there are 10 people on the stage instead of just 3.

And I was so fortunate to see them again in November 11, 2009 in an event called Jak-Japan Matsuri…and to complete my happiness, I’ve already bought a camera to record all their performance.

This video is my personal favorite…look at how solid, beautiful and powerful their performance was. If you don’t think this is amazing, I don’t know what else can amaze you😉

At Jak-Japan Matsuri 2009, they have an additional Player, she appeared twice…in the middle of the show and the closing. Below is the closing performance. (you can see the beautiful Monas behind them🙂 it is Jakarta’s Landmark)

To see their full performance>> here

This is an extra info that I got from goggling

Their works are influence by the beautiful nature around Hakusan City in Ishikawa Prefecture. They have played in many places around the world. In 1993, they performed in ‘Hello Russia’ in Moscow. In 1994, they performed in Mongolia and Senegal. In 1995, they participated in Anglem Music Festival, France. In 1996, they performed with members of KODO in Cuba and Dominica. In 1999, they held their world concert to US, UK and France. They represent Japan in the opening ceremony of The World Championship of Athletic in Helsinki. In 2006, they performed in Monaco.

So…if you see a poster of their upcoming performance in your town…my advice is “DO WATCH THEM and be blown away

I am waiting for their next visit to Indonesia🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

11 comments on “Taiko and The amazing Honoo Daiko

  1. gnoegnoe
    January 15, 2010

    They’re cool! I’ll keep my eye open for a concert in Holland. Here are some Dutch Taiko drummers I saw in May 2009😉 They may not look as exciting but they were quite good.

    • Novroz
      January 15, 2010

      If they come to Holland, cancel all your appointment and see them🙂

      Taiko has spread around the world, hasn’t it! I wish there’s a video…I kinda looking forward to see taiko being played by non-asian people

      • Regine Kleinke
        July 24, 2011

        If you know how to use the internet, you must have found many clips on you-tube, but I am writing to you, because I have some American groups on an e-mail from a Taiko conference 2 years ago. If you want that, I forward it to you.

        • Novroz
          July 24, 2011

          I would love to see that.
          I don’t have much time to do internet search because I have 3 blogs to run and many blogs to visit, so I ended up too busy to find it. It’ll be easy if someone give me a link. thanks🙂

  2. Mey
    January 16, 2010

    Thank you for sharing this. Those women are great…I’ll do exactly what you’ve adviced😉

  3. Velvet
    January 31, 2010

    uhhh-MAZING! such power in the drumming! love it! thanks for sharing this. i have a new favorite taiko band now ;-D

    • Novroz
      January 31, 2010

      then…my mission of finding more fans for Hono O Doiko is complete😉

  4. tanabata
    February 2, 2010

    I love taiko! It’s so fun to watch, isn’t it? I hadn’t heard of Hono o Daiko but they’re very cool. Thanks for sharing the video.

    • Novroz
      February 2, 2010

      yeaaah \(^_^)/ it is so fun and it never bored me…I wish I can play it, I’m planning to join the Okinawa Taiko this year (If I don’t forget the enroll month).

      Don’t forget to watch them is they come near you🙂

  5. Caroline
    August 31, 2011

    I still don’t get handsome/good-looking but this is a great post. Amazing how good they are. I would love to do that, not only see it.

    • Novroz
      August 31, 2011

      I send you a pic to have a clearer idea…I hope.
      Yup they are really AMAZING, I would love to see them again.
      Here in my city, there are several clubs to do taiko but lack of free time made me unable to join.I wanted to join the Okinawa Taiko but time is really against me.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2010 by in Excessive Listener and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,511 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads